| master_marshmallow |
In the description of the Nauseated condition, it states that the only action an enemy can take is a single move action. Does that move action include their 5 foot step action, or rather, would the 5 foot step provoke an attack of opportunity since it must now qualify as a full move action rather than a 5 foot step action?
Weirdo
|
A nauseated creature can only take a single move action. Said creature cannot take free actions.
Wrong. From the combat rules:
In some situations, you may be unable to take a full round's worth of actions. In such cases, you are restricted to taking only a single standard action or a single move action (plus free and swift actions as normal). You can't take a full-round action (though you can start or complete a full-round action by using a standard action; see below).
| Are |
Weirdo: That doesn't apply to the nauseated condition, which says:
Nauseated: Creatures with the nauseated condition experience stomach distress. Nauseated creatures are unable to attack, cast spells, concentrate on spells, or do anything else requiring attention. The only action such a character can take is a single move actions per turn.
It's not simply restricted to a standard or a move; it specifically says the only action a nauseated character can take is a single move action.
Diego Rossi
|
I would disallow swift actions (it would not be possible to cast a quickened spell or activate some ability) but free actions (like dropping a weapon, dropping prone et similia) should still be allowed.
Being nauseated don't lock your hands.
Edit:
apparently you can use immediate actions. So maybe swift actions too?
Nine Lives
...
Despite its name, this powerful ward does not grant the target multiple lives, but rather gives the target the ability to get out of trouble and relieves harmful effects and conditions. For the spell's duration, the target can use any of the following abilities as an immediate action, but only up to a total of nine times, at which point the spell ends.
.....
Shake Off: The target uses this ability when it is under the effects of any of the following conditions: blinded, confused, cowering, dazed, dazzled, entangled, exhausted, fatigued, frightened, nauseated, panicked, shaken, sickened, or staggered. Using this ability ends one of those conditions.
| Are |
I wouldn't take that spell as a rule for how the nauseated condition works. Even just in the same spell, take a look at the cowering condition (which is also supposedly able to be removed):
Cowering: The character is frozen in fear and can take no actions. A cowering character takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class and loses his Dexterity bonus (if any).
If you can't take any actions at all, you shouldn't be able to take an immediate action, either.
In fairness to the spell, it's probably supposed to allow you to take that action despite not normally being able to. But in my opinion, that shouldn't be considered the normal rule.
Diego Rossi
|
That is the reason of the "apparently".
About Cowering, remember that all fear effect have this clause: "Once they are out of sight (or hearing) of any source of danger, they can act as they want."
Cowering don't spell that explicitly only because in the CRB AFAIK there aren't effects that give the Covering status directly, you become cowered only if:
1) you are panicked;
2) you are prevented from fleeing.
Under Fear: "Panicked characters cower if they are prevented from fleeing."
Later books added effects that give directly the Cowering condition, but I think that the cowering character is still capable to act normally once out of sight and hearing of the thing that gave them the cowering condition.
| fretgod99 |
Okay, so I guess I should be asking, can you take a 5 foot step and a move action in the same turn?
If you move no actual distance in a round (commonly because you have swapped your move action for one or more equivalent actions), you can take one 5-foot step either before, during, or after the action.
The simplest move action is moving your speed. If you take this kind of move action during your turn, you can't also take a 5-foot step.
Already ninja'd, but there's the rules language if you wanted it.
Weirdo
|
@Are:
Nauseated: Creatures with the nauseated condition experience stomach distress. Nauseated creatures are unable to attack, cast spells, concentrate on spells, or do anything else requiring attention. The only action such a character can take is a single move actions per turn.
In some situations, you may be unable to take a full round's worth of actions. In such cases, you are restricted to taking only a single standard action or a single move action (plus free and swift actions as normal). You can't take a full-round action (though you can start or complete a full-round action by using a standard action; see below).
Mine does apply to the Nauseated condition - it states that if you are restricted to a only single (standard or move) action, that does not prevent you from taking free and swift actions as normal. Since the wording on nauseated is "only a single move action" my citation kicks in. If it didn't, then a nauseated creature would be unable to speak, drop items, or fall prone, and that's a little silly.
So regardless of whether or not they can actually take this 5 foot step, if I plan accordingly (Step Up) I can always get my extra attack of opportunity for when they take their move action while I threaten them, regardless of what they do with that move action. I love it.
Don't think that works. "Nauseated creatures are unable to attack, cast spells, concentrate on spells, or do anything else requiring attention." So even if you have the actions required to take a 5ft step and an AoO, you cannot take any attacks. You also cannot cast Quickened spells, or use any abilities "requiring attention," which a GM could reasonably rule to include a number of swift or immediate actions (like starting a bardic performance as a swift action).
| master_marshmallow |
Don't think that works. "Nauseated creatures are unable to attack, cast spells, concentrate on spells, or do anything else requiring attention." So even if you have the actions required to take a 5ft step and an AoO, you cannot take any attacks. You also cannot cast Quickened spells, or use any abilities "requiring attention," which a GM could reasonably rule to include a number of swift or immediate actions.
I should elaborate that I am not the nauseated one, my opponent is, by way of Touch of Corruption and Cruelty. My overall goal here is to basically turn the enemy NPC "off" and whenever they try and do anything, they get an attack of Opp, and then I can just do it again in 3 turns or whatever.
kinevon
|
If you are going this way, you probably would want to follow that Step Up chain, and use it to get an attack when you follow the NPC's 5' step. And that would work just as well against that Wizard who is 5' stepping back to not have to cast defensively.
Step Up and Strike, I think it is?
Not to mention Following Step, in case they decide to "run" away, which also works to make the Withdraw action a bit less friendly...