Threatened areas and AoO


Rules Questions


So a medium creature threatens a 5' ring around it. Got that. AoOs are provoked if you leave that area. Got that too. But do I provoke if I move around the creature within its area, in a manner that never has me leaving the area? You could picture it as circling the creature but always staying within its threatened area.


It's not about leaving the threatened area but leaving a threatened square.

Quote:
Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.

Moving around in the threatened area still involves moving out of a threatened square (into another threatened square) and thus provokes an AoO, unless you five-foot-step.


If you move more than a 5 foot step yes


Joana has it right.

It's not threatened area, but threatened square.

If you don't take a 5ft step, you will provoke when leaving a threatened square.


I agree with Joana and Cavall here. I would like to add.

Generally, you will only provoke 1 attack of opportunity from a single opponnet by leaving a Threatened Square regardless of how many Threatened Squares you leave in a round. In other words, if you are in a Threatened square, and you move 5 spaces--all Threatened Squares--to circle around your opponent to achieve Flanking with your opponent or something, you only provoke 1 AoO, not like 5.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Threatened areas and AoO All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions