Mort's Strange Aeons (Inactive)

Game Master Just a Mort

Strange Aeons Map

Dreamlands excursion ritual


2,001 to 2,050 of 2,403 << first < prev | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | next > last >>

Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Inspired familiar

At 4th level, a bonded investigator’s familiar becomes a cunning assistant to the investigator. The familiar can access the investigator’s inspiration pool to augment its own actions; the use of inspiration is deducted from the investigator’s number of daily uses as normal. The familiar can use the inspiration ability (and gains the increased benefits of investigator talents that affect the bonus dice used in this ability) but cannot expend uses of inspiration for other purposes.

This ability replaces the studied strike damage gained at 4th level.

It says the use of inspiration is deducted from your daily uses. And no where does it say that it shares your investigator talents.


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

deducted from the investigator’s number of daily uses as normal

Then the very next sentence mentions talents.

"An investigator can only use inspiration once per check or roll. The investigator can use inspiration on any Knowledge, Linguistics, or Spellcraft skill checks without expending a use of inspiration, provided he’s trained in the skill"

Expanded inspiration alters the inspiration ability. It also specifically says the familiar accesses my inspiration pool and can "use the inspiration ability plus talents".

Since it shares my inspiration class ability and uses my pool and talents it's the same as if I were using it, with the caveat "cannot expend uses of inspiration for other purposes." Meaning talents/abilities that you expend inspiration for as an alternate use.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

As normal means you have to pay inspiration for familiar inspiration use.

" The familiar can use the inspiration ability (and gains the increased benefits of investigator talents that affect the bonus dice used in this ability)"

Increased benefit of talents that affect bonus dice. It did not mention anything about talents reducing inspiration cost.

Sure if your talent says you get 2d8 for inspiration dice, your familiar gets it, but no you don't get those that include non payment of inspiration cost.


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

Why? Free inspiration on certain skills is part of the inspiration ability. Talents that allow you to apply bonus dice for free affect bonus dice (bonus vs no bonus), as well as affect the base inspiration ability.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2uj58?Limits-of-Inspired-Familiar


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

It didn't state in the text and specified only "increased benefits of investigator talents that affect the bonus dice used in this ability)"

Under inspiration ability:

As a free action, he can expend one use of inspiration from his pool to add 1d6 to the result of that check, including any on which he takes 10 or 20. This choice is made after the check is rolled and before the results are revealed. An investigator can only use inspiration once per check or roll. The investigator can use inspiration on any Knowledge, Linguistics, or Spellcraft skill checks without expending a use of inspiration, provided he’s trained in the skill.

So knowledge, linguistics or spellcraft, feel free to burn it since it says your familiar gets to use inspiration ability so it gets the chunk of text there.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

I will say I don't agree with blaphers on his statement, because the text does not say that other investigator talents are included.


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

Of course they aren't. But the investigator ability is. And that talent alters that ability.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Expanded inspiration

An investigator can use his inspiration ability when attempting Diplomacy, Heal, Perception, Profession, and Sense Motive checks without expending uses of inspiration, provided he’s trained in the skill.

Didn't mention his familiar, nor did it say that it altered "Inspiration" ability as per "This alters inspiration ability."


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

The familiar is using my inspiration ability with my inspiration pool. My inspiration ability is free for those skills. I am sure they said talents with an s plural that affect bonus dice to mean the ONE talent that changes it to a d8. But whatever. Don't use it on sense motive, I don't care anymore.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

In fact by specifying "The familiar can use the inspiration ability (and gains the increased benefits of investigator talents that affect the bonus dice used in this ability)".

Instead of putting talents that affect inspiration - indicates that it is specified what they want the familiar to gain out of all this.

Say if the wording went "The familiar can use the inspiration ability (and gains the benefits of investigator talents that affect this ability)"

Then I would gladly give anything in your inspiration talents that have to do with the inspiration ability.

Ok. I will only use the inspiration on familiar when inspiration is free.

Dark Archive

Male Human Conjuror (Spirit Binder) / Summoner (Synthesist) 17 (HP 173+123.5/173+123.5) (AC 52/15/47) (CMD 39) (Fort +22, Ref +23, Will +24 (+32 Vs Enchantment; additional +3 Vs Mind-affecting) (Init +17) (Perception +42)

I have a question for the GM: Can an item that is currently in the process of being 'upgraded' still be used?

For example:

Tom is upgrading his Amulet of Mighty Fists +1, to +2. Can he still use the Amulet as a +1 amulet, whilst it is being upgraded to +2?

Dark Archive

Male Human Conjuror (Spirit Binder) / Summoner (Synthesist) 17 (HP 173+123.5/173+123.5) (AC 52/15/47) (CMD 39) (Fort +22, Ref +23, Will +24 (+32 Vs Enchantment; additional +3 Vs Mind-affecting) (Init +17) (Perception +42)

Also, for our next trip into Dreamworld (TM), I will prepare an Identify, so I can try to work out what that rod we found is (something that I keep forgetting to do...).


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Yes, because in my games, not RAW, to make life easier for all of you with purchase limits, we're running it as upgrade dust. So you purchase/craft the upgrade dust that you're trying to make,which has nothing to do with the base item.

Else with the 2k limit in Thrushmoor you wouldn't be able to buy any magic weapons at all, since it would be 2300 minimum for any magic weapons. (mw+2k enchant cost)


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Also, having a cold at the moment so I may pass out at any time. I decided to conduct Leonard's action first, so that if anything happens at least SOMETHING got done.

Dark Archive

Male Human Conjuror (Spirit Binder) / Summoner (Synthesist) 17 (HP 173+123.5/173+123.5) (AC 52/15/47) (CMD 39) (Fort +22, Ref +23, Will +24 (+32 Vs Enchantment; additional +3 Vs Mind-affecting) (Init +17) (Perception +42)

Re: The item, good to know!


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

What I was using was this...for 5 ft into door:

An incorporeal creature can enter or pass through solid objects, but must remain adjacent to the object’s exterior, and so cannot pass entirely through an object whose space is larger than its own. It can sense the presence of creatures or objects within a square adjacent to its current location, but enemies have total concealment (50% miss chance) from an incorporeal creature that is inside an object. In order to see beyond the object it is in and attack normally, the incorporeal creature must emerge. An incorporeal creature inside an object has total cover, but when it attacks a creature outside the object it only has cover, so a creature outside with a readied action could strike at it as it attacks. An incorporeal creature cannot pass through a force effect.

Dark Archive

Male Human Conjuror (Spirit Binder) / Summoner (Synthesist) 17 (HP 173+123.5/173+123.5) (AC 52/15/47) (CMD 39) (Fort +22, Ref +23, Will +24 (+32 Vs Enchantment; additional +3 Vs Mind-affecting) (Init +17) (Perception +42)

I don't think it could 5' *into* the door, since the door is (presumably) not 5' thick; it could, however, 5' steps *through* the door.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

I get from the reading that:

An incorporeal creature can enter or pass through solid objects, but must remain adjacent to the object’s exterior, and so cannot pass entirely through an object whose space is larger than its own.

Rules are pretty fuzzy on this one...

So anything > 5 ft would prevent its entering/passing through. If 5ft into door doesn't work, then we'll just say 5ft into the deck. Result is the same pretty much.

Dark Archive

Male Human Conjuror (Spirit Binder) / Summoner (Synthesist) 17 (HP 173+123.5/173+123.5) (AC 52/15/47) (CMD 39) (Fort +22, Ref +23, Will +24 (+32 Vs Enchantment; additional +3 Vs Mind-affecting) (Init +17) (Perception +42)

Well, as I said, if it just wants to get away, it can go through the door (since it is, presumably, at best, 6-12 inches thick)...?


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

It probably will, eventually. There's a saying don't hang in a roomful of confused people.

But it doesn't want to hang around where someone opens a door and whacks it.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Under incorporeal:

Corporeal spells and effects that do not cause damage only have a 50% chance of affecting an incorporeal creature. Force spells and effects, such as from a magic missile, affect an incorporeal creature normally.

No where does it say spells and effects from an incorporeal source have a 50% chance of affecting corporeal targets.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Now if it did say, it would look like this:

Shadow form evolution

The eidolon’s body becomes shadowy and more indistinct. This shadow form grants the eidolon constant concealment (20% miss chance), and its melee attacks affect incorporeal creatures as if it had the ghost touch weapon property. The eidolon’s melee attacks deal only half damage to corporeal creatures.

It will be specifically stated.


Retired to Taldor?

Ok going to go roll for confusion, I skimmed the last eight posts here, didn't see anything I needed to know. It reads like were still in the boat, not a dream-world, is that right?


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

I think I may have been thinking of ethereal rather than incorporeal.

Yes we are on the boat killing ourselves. Except me for right now, I am trying to locate the dream.


Retired to Taldor?

In reference to 'Animated Dream':

PFSRD wrote:
Spell-Like Abilities (CL 12th; concentration +17)

I'm assuming the CL is 'castor level' so we have 12 rounds of 'confusion' to deal with, correct?


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

Are you sure it's not castor oil? :)


Retired to Taldor?

dude, I'm not sure of anything...


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

So did we fail ritual because of rolls or because of story? Btw know planes is +17 with heroism, +19 for occult stuff. With guidance at will that'd be +18/+20, not that it probably mattered. If aid another applies +2 more.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Vincent - this is what I copied off your level 7 character sheet:

K: Arcana +12+1d6+1 (5 ranks + 3 class + 4 int + 1d6+1 inspiration) *phrenology

K: Planes +12+1d6+1 (5 ranks + 3 class + 4 int + 1d6+1 inspiration)

I gave you the +1 for increased inspiration bonuses and even added heroism for +16 total, to prevent failures. Whether you put a skill rank or not - you admitted yourself that you took a while to level Vincent until 8. And for the purposes of plot pushing, I've had to work with your level 7 sheet. I certainly cannot assume points that you didn't put in. Furthermore, you said in email you wanted to take of emissary template from Vorq because you were not happy with the restrictions that were imposed with regards to alignment. So I could not add in guidance bonus, since once you've used an ability, you will be stuck with the archetype, since you've already reaped the benefits so to speak.

You could always have corrected me for all the rituals I had performed using wrong information on your stats(being wrong) , but I didnt see that from you right until it went wrong.

Furthermore occult rituals cannot be aided.

GM Mort wrote:

These checks cannot benefit from the aid another action,


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

The failure was due to not meeting the DC 25 check.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Drinking mutagen before performing the ritual in fact would put a - 1 to all those checks due to the str increase and int decrease, as per what you requested on
for barkskin and mutagen to be up.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Seamus, yes, on the confusion for 12 levels. I'll probably need to deal with who Leonard hits.

Dark Archive

Male Human Conjuror (Spirit Binder) / Summoner (Synthesist) 17 (HP 173+123.5/173+123.5) (AC 52/15/47) (CMD 39) (Fort +22, Ref +23, Will +24 (+32 Vs Enchantment; additional +3 Vs Mind-affecting) (Init +17) (Perception +42)

Eh. Basically, it is going to be last (hu)man(oid) standing ;-)


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Also Vincent is still in the room, since the ritual is done with the doors closed, so he needed to move to the door, then spend a move action opening the door. So Leonard's attacks can can go to him. Now I need to deal with my animated dream. Woo. Nice mess to sort out.

Dark Archive

Male Human Conjuror (Spirit Binder) / Summoner (Synthesist) 17 (HP 173+123.5/173+123.5) (AC 52/15/47) (CMD 39) (Fort +22, Ref +23, Will +24 (+32 Vs Enchantment; additional +3 Vs Mind-affecting) (Init +17) (Perception +42)

Eh. Well, given most of us are confused, the logical thing to do is wait for the noise the abate, then see whom is left... If it thinks it can take us at that time, go for it. Otherwise, it would make sense to slope off, and find easier prey.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

I was asleep just now btw. Still snuffly, slight temperature of 37.6. Probably wont be going to work tomorrow.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

OK - it's a fairly confusing mess at this point, pun intended. My calculations put Seamus at - 2, Vincent at 39 points of damage taken, thanks to Leonard.

Due to Claude's AOO on Seamus, Seamus's arrow at Claude missed, so Howard and Claude are just down 11 from the damage from backlash.

Correct me if my Maths is wrong.

Dark Archive

Male Human Conjuror (Spirit Binder) / Summoner (Synthesist) 17 (HP 173+123.5/173+123.5) (AC 52/15/47) (CMD 39) (Fort +22, Ref +23, Will +24 (+32 Vs Enchantment; additional +3 Vs Mind-affecting) (Init +17) (Perception +42)

Correct.

(Leonard is also down 4 points.)


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Maths eats the thoughts out of my head. Especially if it isn't my Maths...


I don't need to move to the door I'm adjacent to it...

And you said ritual is 50minutes long and mutagen not up. So basically I cast my spell, open door, 5ft through it. Otherwise I'd have had the imp open it for me.

The dream isn't the only one smart enough to not stand in a room of confused people.


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

Oh and in regards to know check. That ritual was yesterday. I leveled up before the last dream. If you want to bot don't use level 7 sheet.

I'm not changing anything. Roll would be +20+1d6 vs occult with no aid and heroism and guidance running.

Obviously too late now but for when you do that next time. Or if you don't know, wait and ask instead of botting.

Btw in the future if DC is 25, run heightened awareness at same time. Lasts 80m and +2 to all know skills.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Your original position was one north through the door. So you opened up the north door and stepped through it.

Yet you did not move your mini. So once you stepped through it, you would have been out on the deck and the dream would have gone the opposite direction instead, so no AOOs nor charge lane available in any case.

Matter settled.

Howard - you're 39 hp down instead because Vincent said he moved out of the room.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Monstrous physique:

If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the listed ability: climb 30 feet, fly 30 feet (average maneuverability), swim 30 feet.

You're chasing something with 40 ft movespeed on 30 ft movespeed.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Vincent - also please give the breakdown for where the +2 to if it applies to occult checks comes from, I.e,feat or trait.


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

Occult reference material


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

Does unconsciousness end confusion if healed, or would they still be confused?


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

Furthermore, because of the specific procedures of ritual casting, mundane equipment that grants bonuses on skill checks can’t usually increase the caster’s bonus on the checks required by the ritual, unless the GM allows it.(The GM does not allow it).

That is the reason why I asked. We'll just say you do not have the time to reference your books while you perform the ritual.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

No, unconsciousness does not end confusion. I slapped Luke's character with permanent insanity once in ROW.


Half-Elf Investigator (Bonded) 9 / Magus (VMC); HP 81/81, Init +1, Perception +18+1d8, +4 vs traps; Vorq Perception +15+1d8; AC 18/FF 16/T 12, +3 vs traps; Fort +7, Ref +8, Will +8, +3 vs traps; CMB +11, CMD 22; Inspiration (1d8+2) 8/8; Arcane Pool (+2) 8/8;

Ok. So glad I invested in a tool for occult rituals.


Strange Aeons Grp 2 |

It's 80 gp. Feel free to retcon the purchase if you wish.

1 to 50 of 2,403 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / Mort's Strange Aeons Discussion All Messageboards