Attacking a Grappled Opponent


Rules Questions


So if I understand the grapple rules correctly, if a combatant tries to attack another combatant who is currently in the 'grappled' condition they don't get any bonuses to hit? Also, there isn't any chance of them hitting the wrong grappled combatant?

The Exchange

The Grappled condition gives a -4 to Dexterity, so they're at least 2 AC easier to hit...


Also, if you have rope on you, you can grapple in round 1, then maintain grapple in round 2 and pin, then round 3 you can tie them up. Is this correct?

The Exchange

Round one = grapple
Round two = pin
Round three = tie up

(assuming success on all rolls)


Do you have to make another grapple roll to tie up? or to maintain a pin?


Tie Up is one of the options you can do with a successful grapple check, assuming the target is already pinned, unconscious, or otherwise restrained beyond just grappled (hold person). So yes, it takes a check to do.

Hitting the wrong person in a grapple is a holdover rule from 3.0, maybe 3.5, but even then, it only applied to ranged attacks. Now that grapple is more getting ahold of a person's arm and less "ITS TIME TO OIL UP" wrestling, and you no longer are pulled into/enter the other person's square, it makes sense that there is no longer a "Whoops!" mechanic.

Liberty's Edge

DGRM44 wrote:
So if I understand the grapple rules correctly, if a combatant tries to attack another combatant who is currently in the 'grappled' condition they don't get any bonuses to hit? Also, there isn't any chance of them hitting the wrong grappled combatant?

The attacker gets no bonus to attack. The grappled creature has penalties to his defense.

1. Grappled: A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.

2. From the AC modifier table footnote 1: The defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC.

There is no chance to hit the wrong creature in a grapple with a melee attack.


Howie23 wrote:


2. From the AC modifier table footnote 1: The defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC.

I can't find this in the core rulebook. What page?

Edit: Found it pg 195


So for the tie up you still need to make a successful grapple role albeit at +5?


DGRM44 wrote:
Howie23 wrote:


2. From the AC modifier table footnote 1: The defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC.

I can't find this in the core rulebook. What page?

Edit: Found it pg 195

It is left over language that doesn't actually apply any more from what I can tell -- it's an artifact.

Liberty's Edge

Abraham spalding wrote:
DGRM44 wrote:
Howie23 wrote:


2. From the AC modifier table footnote 1: The defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC.

I can't find this in the core rulebook. What page?

Edit: Found it pg 195

It is left over language that doesn't actually apply any more from what I can tell -- it's an artifact.

Very well may be.


Abraham spalding wrote:
DGRM44 wrote:
Howie23 wrote:


2. From the AC modifier table footnote 1: The defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC.

I can't find this in the core rulebook. What page?

Edit: Found it pg 195

It is left over language that doesn't actually apply any more from what I can tell -- it's an artifact.

Huh???

Liberty's Edge

DGRM44 wrote:
Abraham spalding wrote:


It is left over language that doesn't actually apply any more from what I can tell -- it's an artifact.
Huh???

The PF rules are based on the 3.5 SRD. They basically started with the SRD and then edited it to reflect changes. Because rules can have interactions that are scattered through the book, it's possible to change the rule in one place, but not catch all the interactions that have then changed.

In SRD 3.5, grappling was different than it is now. It is possible that the footnote to the table is a left-over interaction (an artifact of the writing process), that wasn't fully addressed in the PF rules writing process.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attacking a Grappled Opponent All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions