Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Celestial Servant feat in Pathfinder Society and CR of an animal companion


Rules Questions


8 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Is there a PFS ruling on how to calculate your animal companion's CR for the spell resistance gained from the ARG's Celestial Servant feat?

I just assume that the spell resistance never progresses beyond 5, since it's 5+CR and PCs and their pets don't really have CRs.

Grand Lodge

Benn Roe wrote:

Is there a PFS ruling on how to calculate your animal companion's CR for the spell resistance gained from the ARG's Celestial Servant feat?

I just assume that the spell resistance never progresses beyond 5, since it's 5+CR and PCs and their pets don't really have CRs.

You could perhaps treat them as NPC-classed characters (CR = Hit Dice - 2). It would be good to have a rules call though.


Yeah, it's even weirder with it being an animal companion, though, since we're talking about a class-feature-ized version of a creature from the Bestiary that at one point had an official CR anyway.


Any thoughts anyone?

RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

Bump. I'm running into this issue as well.

RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Got this ruling from James Jacobs:

James Jacobs wrote:
Animal companions, mounts, familiars, and the like do not have CR scores. Use your character's CR (this equals your character's total character level minus 1) instead as the SR baseline.

Nice!


Shouldn't your character's CR simply be its level as it has PC wealth?

Quote:
while a classed NPC that instead has gear equivalent to that of a PC (as listed on Table: Character Wealth by Level) has a CR of 1 higher than his actual CR.

Unless of course you have squandered your wealth or have a stingy DM in which case your CR would be Level-1

Quote:
A creature that possesses class levels, but does not have any racial Hit Dice, is factored in as a creature with a CR equal to its class levels –1.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Celestial Servant feat in Pathfinder Society and CR of an animal companion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.