Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Fear Aura - how does it work?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Ok, so the text for Fear Aura reads:

Fear Aura (Su) The use of this ability is a free action. The aura can freeze an opponent (as in the case of a mummy's despair) or function like the fear spell. Other effects are possible. A fear aura is an area effect. The descriptive text gives the size and kind of the area.

Some fear auras can paralyse, others panic, and so on. That's all fine. My questions are these:

1) The aura functions 'like the fear spell', but how do you determine how long the panic lasts if the opponent fails their save? The spell lasts 1 round/level, but as an (Su) ability, a fear aura has no caster level listed. Are opponents only panicked within the aura's area of effect? Do they snap out of it once they leave? How does this work?

2) Do creatures have to save against a fear aura every round, or does making the save render you immune to the aura thereafter? The first seems quite harsh but by the wording seems to be how it works.


Normally the monster tells you how long it lasts.

example:

Quote:

Bone Devil (Osyluth) CR 9

XP 6,400

LE Large outsider (devil, evil, extraplanar, lawful)

Init +9; Senses darkvision 60 ft., see in darkness; Perception +19

Aura fear aura (5 ft., DC 19, 1d6 rounds)

If the duration is not listed I would use the HD of the monster as the caster level for the purpose of determining how long the affect last. This does need to be FAQ'd so a general answer can be given or so Paizo can edit all of the monsters.

Unless otherwise stated they have to keep saving. Some monsters will tell you that you are immune to a certain monster's ability for 24 hours after saving against it.


Ninjaiguana wrote:

Are opponents only panicked within the aura's area of effect? Do they snap out of it once they leave? How does this work?

Do creatures have to save against a fear aura every round, or does making the save render you immune to the aura thereafter

As stated previously, the monster's information should answer these questions if anything special is at work. Otherwise, you treat is as the fear spell...which usually causes the panicked conditon (drop anything they hold and flee at top speed from the source of the fear, as well as any other dangers they encounter, along a random path, can't take any other actions, etc...)

It lasts until the duration runs out, and should they re-enter the aura, they are susceptible again unless the monster description says they are immune on a successful save (some do, some don't).

Fear can be powerful against an ill-prepared party, but since there are ways to overcome it (fighters get bravery, remove fear is only a 1st level cleric or bard spell, etc.), it isn't too bad. There are far worse things.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Fear Aura - how does it work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.