Calculating item cost in regards to PA spending limit


Pathfinder Society

Sczarni 2/5

Since there's no PA restriction on mundane special materials (excluding Dragonhide), you can purchase an item made out of, say, Adamantine.

So, for example, I've got an Adamantine Aldori Dueling Sword. 3020 gold cost. Had it for a few levels, and now I want to get it enchanted with a +1. Total cost 5020. That means, I have to wait until I have a spending limit of over 5k, right? Or does that limit only have to do with the magical enhancement cost?

I want to say I think it's the total cost, but I can't remember exactly where I read that...


To get it to +1 requires no PA.

However, to go from +1 to +2 (or equivalent), you need to have the PA for 3000 (Adamantine) + 20 (ADS) + 8000 (+2 Enhancement bonus)

Sczarni 2/5

Right. Dunno why I said +1 other than an example, but it's sorta a poor example seeing as how it's always available. :B

Also, that's going to get vaguely annoying as I try to add enchantments to it, but so be it.

Thanks, mate.


Anytime :)

It's not as bad as you think. Most of the time you have the PA for a weapon enhancement made out of a special material at the same time as you have it for a normal weapon.

Grand Lodge 5/5

Please note:

PA = Prestige Award (as found in the PFS Field Guide)
PP = Prestige Point(s)
Fame = lifetime PP earnings (and the correct term to use above in place of PA)

Sczarni 2/5

My bad. Guess I'd just picked up the terms all the GM's used when I started playing PFSOP and never bothered to correct the mistake. I'll try to keep an eye on my term usage in the future.

1/5

Related: Arcane Bond lets met upgrade my bonded item for its cost value (crafting cost) rather than its market price as normal. Do I need to have enough Fame to allow for the price value (as normally necessary to acquire the item) or just the cost value (which I am actually paying)?

Grand Lodge

Jack-of-Blades wrote:

Since there's no PA restriction on mundane special materials (excluding Dragonhide), you can purchase an item made out of, say, Adamantine.

So, for example, I've got an Adamantine Aldori Dueling Sword. 3020 gold cost. Had it for a few levels, and now I want to get it enchanted with a +1. Total cost 5020. That means, I have to wait until I have a spending limit of over 5k, right? Or does that limit only have to do with the magical enhancement cost?

I want to say I think it's the total cost, but I can't remember exactly where I read that...

You were right the first time. Spending limits are based on the TOTAL cost of the item. So yes you need to have a spending limit over 5k.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

LazarX wrote:
Jack-of-Blades wrote:

Since there's no PA restriction on mundane special materials (excluding Dragonhide), you can purchase an item made out of, say, Adamantine.

So, for example, I've got an Adamantine Aldori Dueling Sword. 3020 gold cost. Had it for a few levels, and now I want to get it enchanted with a +1. Total cost 5020. That means, I have to wait until I have a spending limit of over 5k, right? Or does that limit only have to do with the magical enhancement cost?

I want to say I think it's the total cost, but I can't remember exactly where I read that...

You were right the first time. Spending limits are based on the TOTAL cost of the item. So yes you need to have a spending limit over 5k.

Except that a +1 Adamantine Aldori Dueling Sword is always available, so no Fame requirements.

If you wanted to take that from +1 to +2, however, add 6,000gp to the cost of the +1, for 11,020gp, and you'd need to have enough Fame to cover 11,020gp, then spend the 6,000gp for the upgrade.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Take Boat wrote:
Related: Arcane Bond lets met upgrade my bonded item for its cost value (crafting cost) rather than its market price as normal. Do I need to have enough Fame to allow for the price value (as normally necessary to acquire the item) or just the cost value (which I am actually paying)?

I think the FAQ on bonded items is fairly explicit that you only pay the discounted proce for the first enhancement/enchantment you put on your bonded item, everytyhing else appears to be at normal price.

And, yes, when you put that discounted enhancement/enchantment on your bonded item, you need the Fame for the normal purchase price instead of the discounted cost. Unless it is something on the Always Available list, like making a bonded weapon +1.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Calculating item cost in regards to PA spending limit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.