Want me to say you're right? Fine. You're right--IF a GM plays the tarrasque as anything other than a big dumb lizard.
Seregon was NEVER meant to fight the tarrasque without the ring of freedom of movement anyways. I just neglected to mention that I had changed him for more conventional adventuring at some point (I had simply forgotten that he no longer had the ring).
I originally built Seregon as a mental exercise (I was inspired by the fighter VS balor thread). Then he had a ring of freedom of movement. When the APG came out and human fighters could suddenly add HUGE bonuses to their CMDs against certain maneuvers, I didn't see much need for it anymore. So I instead gave him a ring of regeneration to increase his durability throughout an adventuring workday.
I also wanted to see how big a tank I could make. I found that I could do better than Seregon does, but there was no need to do so since (at the time of his creation) nothing published could hit him on anything but a natural 20.
As written, he has a better than 75% chance of beating Mr. T on the big guy's terms. Switch out the rings as noted above and it just isn't even fair anymore.
Pendin Fust wrote:
4,000 lbs. is the golem's total weight, not all of which is adamantine. It's up to the GM to determine how much (usable adamantine) there actually is in a defeated golem's remains.
A creature's remains is treated as an object. This has been true since early 3.0.
Pendin Fust wrote:
An adamantine golem weighs 4,000 pounds and uses up more adamantine than can be found on most worlds, so you make a perfectly valid point here.
How are the weight/price listings of special materials supposed to be read in Ultimate Equipment?
Take adamantine, for example: It costs 850gp and weighs 55 lbs.
Er...is that 850gp per pound of raw adamantine? 55 lbs. per ingot (or cubic foot or nugget)? 850gp for 55 lbs. of raw adamantine?
How is this supposed to be interpreted?
Angol built himself a sentient stone golem that smashes creatures of much higher CR.
Araonna Chorster controls hundreds of hit dice of powerful undead.
Helegur has an army of simulacrums, which she can make for free.
Nudel can deal 310 damage, in one melee attack, automatically, all the time.
Roshgog is capable of doing hundreds of damage to multiple enemies each round.
Sela Kurn can automatically dispel the spells of equal-leveled spellcasters, while also simultaneously stunning and debuffing them.
Seregon can beat the Tarrasque, in melee.
Shioji has ungodly high saves.
Yiankun can force two saves against DC 34, fail one, and you're petrified.
This is but a fraction of the wonders to be found within RAVINGDORK'S CRAZY CHARACTER EMPORIUM. :D
I disagree with everyone claiming disintegrate isn't a target spell just because it doesn't have a target line. I believe that all ray spells, and indeed any spell that requires an attack roll, is inherently a target spell (since you have to choose a target with which to make an attack against). Remember, this isn't a computer game, and GMs aren't robots. The designers assumed that gaming groups would have some basic critical thinking skills. They likely figured it wasn't necessary to put a target line in spells like disintegrate, because the fact that you need to target someone with it (thus making it a target spell) is pretty freaking obvious.
Sure you can interpret it the other way perfectly fine within the RAW, but it seems like more of a reach to me.
It bothers me that many people here seem to think it is impossible to do something as iconic in Fantasy literature as shooting an arrow at the attended noose around a (falsely accused?) criminal's neck just as he is about to be hanged.
No one will ever convince me this is impossible (which, by the by, is different from convincing me that rules do or do not cover it). It seems clear to me that the intent of the designers is that such things be possible, even if it hasn't been adequately expressed within the rules (yet).
So how does that work with initiative?
Bad guys win initiative: They surround you in flanking positions and each get an attack. PROVIDED you survive, you may use whirlwind attack.
You get initiative: You run into a mob of enemies, possibly provoking, and attack one. Then on your NEXT turn after they have surround you in flanking positions and each gets an attack, you can make a single attack against all those within reach IF you are still alive.
Notes: It's generally better to delay and let multiple enemies come to you and then bop all of them with it. If they don't conveniently get into position for you, you can still take your turn to do something useful later in the initiative round.
I happen to have an amazing trip/reach build that trips everyone within his reach. Tripping his foes also gives him bonus attacks against each one (which I sometimes use to disarm them just for kicks). It's an awesome mass debuff in the right situation.
Darth Grall wrote:
Nobody has provided proof that the object line exclusively refers only to unattended objects. Only conjecture and assumptions have been offered up.
I just don't see any evidence that the two categories are mutually exclusive.
All spells that effect creatures, characters, or objects have targets (using both the standard definition as well as the game's definition). If they didn't, then one could argue that disintegrate automatically finds invisible creatures (since it doesn't target them, it just makes an attack roll).
I remain unconvinced.
I'm not so sure that I agree with you here. Just because the rules aren't clear on how to target attended magical items with spells doesn't mean it can't be done. It just means it is unclear.
Also, why couldn't ray spells fall into the targeting category AND the rays category? You are clearly choosing a target AND using a ray after all.
I don't see why you couldn't use disintegrate on an attended item, provided you had a way to use it in melee (since sundering seems to be exclusively melee, based on archetypes that grant ranged sunder).
I highly recommend a cloak of the hedge wizard and several potions of enlarge person.
The only problems with whirlwind attack is that to get full use out of it, you need to put yourself in harm's way (surrounded by multiple foes), so be sure to have a stellar AC. What's more, it is a full round action, which means said bad guys will usually get to attack you first.
That being said, I really love it and have used it to great success.
It's easy to make multiple items with fabricate. You just separate them into multiples after casting. It positively amazes me how so many supposedly intelligent wizards can't even seem to think outside the box.
It's not permanent. It lasts for 3 minutes at a time. Standard action to activate.
Like the hat of disguise or the ring of invisibility, there is no duration limitation. Only your third sentence is correct.
Ding ding ding! This is exactly the problem.
Driver 325 yards wrote:
Fair enough. Allow me to rephrase: This item is unbalanced.
It is unlikely to break the game, but it will give the character using it an unfair advantage (as shown by Artanthos above). It also makes it so everyone with the slots to spare will want to go with the obviously better hat2 and belt4 over the belt6. That destroys verisimilitude for some as now everyone has magic shapechanging hats when they otherwise wouldn't have.
At best, you could argue "it's balanced because anyone can get one" in which case, it's straight up power creep.
There's a multitude of reasons for not liking its existence.
Seems like a good place for GM arbitration.
The GM could say that simulacra have a magical connection to their creators, and instinctively know who that is (and are thus never fooled).
The GM could say that the simulacra can be fooled by such things and obey the orders of their perceived master. In the event of two apparent masters giving conflicting orders, an opposed Charisma check is made to see which "master" it follows (I'm basing this off of similar instances withing the extant rules).
IN ANY CASE
It's not covered in the rules themselves.
Don't do that to your GM and fellow players.
Applying templates to one PC in the party makes for all kinds of wonky balance issues.
Instead, try something like the Eldritch Heritage line of feats to add draconic aspects to your character. You could still consider yourself a half-dragon, but you would be more balanced.
Again, that's a failing of the monster, not the system. It just needs a lot more hit points (and the ability to fly).
That's hardly the whole system's fault. Just the monster's.
He can't even fly...
Craig Frankum wrote:
1 round casting time =/= 1 full-round action.
The spell goes off just before the start of your NEXT turn, not on the same turn you begin casting.
Magic Chapter excerpts wrote:
What doesn't make sense, is how anyone thought I was implying otherwise. It's obviously understood by all that you can't ingest contact poison sans contact, and shouldn't need to be said at all.
God forbid that, that was necessary. The explanatory rules tomes that we would need for that kind of hilarious clarity would be bigger than houses.
How does it not make sense?
If contact poison doesn't make contact, if inhaled poison isn't absorbed into the lungs, if ingested poison isn't swallowed, if injury poison doesn't get in the blood stream, than it MAKE PERFECT SENSE that whatever effects they have are going to be negligible to the point of not needing to be represented by the rules (otherwise, they would be).
Are there rules for extracting poisons for creatures (such a familiar, pet you bought, or slain foe)?
Not really, no.
How about storing a poison the PC makes such as sleep venom?
Generally, you keep poison on your weapons, or in flasks and vials.
How about a poison that isn't a poison such as nagaji's spit venom?
It's stored in their glands. It likely loses its potency once removed.
Does a poison stay on for an endless duration, and is only removed when you purposefully wipe it off or when you attack?
Unless it says otherwise, their is no duration. Most poisons, as presented in the glossary, are alchemically refined and essentially last forever.
Does a character who sleeps in armor with poisoned armor spikes have the poison removed?
Not unless the GM rules as such.
How does a contact poison react to being ingested? How about an injury poison?
Utilizing a poison the wrong way generally produces no worthwhile results.