Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Wolf

BigNorseWolf's page

RPG Superstar 2014 Dedicated Voter. FullStarFullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 21,731 posts (22,611 including aliases). 14 reviews. 4 lists. No wishlists. 24 Pathfinder Society characters. 3 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 21,731 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:

I've been telling ppl in my Lodge that Investigators could use wands. There was a very well-reasoned post somewhere explaining that nothing in the Investigator writeup prohibits wand use, and the thought that two similarly functioning classes couldn't both use wands never entered our minds.

Quite a few people (myself included) are going to need a refund on the gold and Prestige we spent on wands if this isn't reversed.

They really, really, should not be that sneaky and persnickity about two increibly similar things working very differently. It encourages rampant rules lawyering.

Shadow Lodge

AHH ok. Got it. But it only works until you miss ...

Shadow Lodge ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:

Oh nice...

Since a buckler isn't occupying a hand, dervish dancers can get in on that too.

I believe that dervish dance has specific wording against all shields, which Slashing Grace does not. In any case, this FAQ does not apply to Dervish Dance or any other abilities or alter them in any way from the way they have worked.

Benefit: When wielding a scimitar with one hand, you can use your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier on melee attack and damage rolls. You treat the scimitar as a one-handed piercing weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a duelist’s precise strike ability). The scimitar must be for a creature of your size. You cannot use this feat if you are carrying a weapon or shield in your off hand.

It has wording against shields being in the off hand, which the errata says bucklers are not. The buckler being in the off hand for one feat but not in the off hand for another is headache inducing. I can't decide if I've had too many shots or not nearly enough...

The rules actually working like this sometimes are why people try really weird rules arguments...

Shadow Lodge ***

Oh nice...

Since a buckler isn't occupying a hand, dervish dancers can get in on that too.

Shadow Lodge ***

Not seeing a really big change with how this works this time around...

Shadow Lodge

Scott Wilhelm wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
The idea that raw can also only say one thing is silly.
That might be true. And if it isn't, it's mostly true. In the volumes of Pathfinder rules, there may indeed be some passage of it that indeed only has 1 interpretation.

Every time i think i found one the rules discussion brings it up...

Quote:
For my part, I am not saying that in principle RAW can only ever say one thing or even that it can ever only say one thing. I am saying rather that a certain interpretation of RAW is legal, and therefore, players have the right to build characters based on that, and GMs may, and perhaps even must, enforce the rules that way.

Absolutely not.

Rules adjudication is the DMs job, not the players. DMs have no obligation to accept whatever interpretation a player can come up with Players are infamous for coming up with logic twisting, rules lawyering arguments that "prove" that their overpowered concept works.

Players have an obligation to either ask a DM how these things work, or to avoid these areas all together. If you go for a gray area you should expect no as a default.

Beating the dm over the head with the rules takes a rock solid argument going directly out of the book, and even then is something you hold back for important rules. Its not for an argument like this thats well passed questionable.

Quote:
I hope you have added or will add your voice to ours with a click on the FAQ button.

Much like the jump a pit question i will not. This seems to be leaning pretty heavily towards a consensus.

Shadow Lodge ***

Michael Brock wrote:
Chris Mortika wrote:

Note: page 17:

Changing Your Faction
With the change of most factions from nation-based to ideal-based at the start of Season 6, every character is allowed one free faction change anytime during Season 6.

If a player sits at my table, not having played a particular PC during season 6, I would like to still allow him a free faction change. The rules no longer let me do this.

The factions didn't change, they remained the same. Therefore, there was no reason to offer a free faction change,

*headscratch* They changed from the last time the character was played until now.

Shadow Lodge ***

-Guide references the zip code search to find a game function that is no longer there

Shadow Lodge

You have to use acrobatics to do so. I don't see how this works without arguing a 5 foot acrobatics step.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm not grocking the combo here. You can't use them both in the same turn because one is amove through someones space and the other takes a full round action.

Shadow Lodge ***

I am not tracking your thought process here.

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

"Its complicated, therefore we can't know anything" is the deniers argument. "Its complicated, but here's why we're pretty sure why the planet is going to warm up, on average, even if a few locations are going to get colder" is reality.

Of course, if you predict a colder london, then the skeptics are shouting. "LONDON WILL GET COLDER! GLOBAL WARMING IS A FRAUD"

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The idea that raw can also only say one thing is silly.

Shadow Lodge ***

The writers DID realize that problem... and started having cavalier be pretty sensible a lot of the time.

Shadow Lodge ***

2 people marked this as a favorite.
GM Lamplighter wrote:

New rule: all Pathfinders are cursed so that if they betray the Society or their colleagues for personal gain, they disintigrate.

Team games require team players and team characters. In the OP's case, As Gm I would have stepped in and suggested that going against the group and the specific orders would result in getting booted from the Society, and let them make their choice. Nip it in the bud so the person doesn't get to ruin too many games before he reforms his behaviour.

Necromancer: Hey, Pally, help me shake down that orphan and donate their pocket change to the societies resurrection fund.

Paladin: NO! *disintegrates*

There is no rule to prevent jerkish behavior. More rules give jerks more tools.

Shadow Lodge ***

Did you play with the equipment bought or did you just buy it in between sessions?

Shadow Lodge

In general discussion the answer is often "have your dm not use the changes" or "work out a way to retrain with your DM.

The new guide comes out today, it should give you a better idea of your options.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Crowd source it! The only way to fight human intelligence is with huma...well the forumites are close enough.

Shadow Lodge

LazarX wrote:
thejeff wrote:


One of the drawbacks to running a quasi-historical game, at least using something like the PF system, is that you have to decide what God thinks of such things in your world.
Not really. The gods in Golarion, outside of Razmir, are notorious for NOT making public statements on their positions. There are at least two factions of Sarenrites that are in violent disagreement, yet the goddess continues to supply the priests of both with spells.

Cayden Cailean's "tastes great" " less filling" schism has also spilled much precious liquid into the sands.

Shadow Lodge ***

nosig wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
The idea that killing people for money is automatically evil is kind of silly in an adventuring game.

The lady with the PC with a rank in Profession Assassion is a retired Army officer.

She compared the to a rank in Profession Soldier,with a specialty of Sniper.

Lawful types tend to confuse law with good.

Shadow Lodge ***

The idea that killing people for money is automatically evil is kind of silly in an adventuring game. I would just assume they're killing people that have it coming anyway. Explains the paltry pay...

Shadow Lodge

Orfamay Quest wrote:

I don't interpret "you occupy all the squares that your mount does" as meaning "you are the size of your mount," but instead that you are shifting your position on the mount from second to second. (This is the technical abstraction and also explains, e.g. why you and someone else can occupy the same 5' square. You're not a gelatinous cube.)

Theres a lot of problems with that.

RAW its all the squares, not any one square.

You would also be able to gain a +4 cover bonus simply by saying "i shift a littleback and to the left so he has to attack me through the horse"

You could avoid attacks entirely by hiding on the far side of your horse from someone with a standard melee weapon: since the person can't enter the square with your horse they can't swing at you, at all.

HH
RH Orc

You could do the above by playing "press your luck" no wammies no wammies... by "blinking" to any square as your opponent moved around you... all while firmly seated in your saddle.

Lets you use reach weapons at melee and adjacent, something pathfinder tries to avoid.

Shadow Lodge

Lune wrote:

BNW: Ah. I see. Yeah, I think I agree with you now then on the "adjacent is a property associated with a creature" bit. I can get behind that. Still not certain that answers all of the questions about reach when mounted though. Like the ones I posted above to Gauss.

It answers them.

Yes yes and yes

. Can a Large sized creature attack at the 10' diagonal square?

10-Foot Reach and Diagonals: I’m confused about reach and diagonals. I heard somewhere online that you don’t threaten the second diagonal with a 10-foot reach but that you somehow get an attack of opportunity when opponents move out of that square, but the Rules Reference Cards show that you do threaten the second diagonal. Which one is correct?

The cards are correct. As an exception to the way that diagonals normally work, a creature with 10 feet of reach threatens the second diagonal. These changes will be reflected in the next errata.
____________

That FAQ makes it an exception for all reach, not just medium critter with blade on a stick.

2. Can a Medium creature with a reach weapon attack the 10' diagonal square?

Yes (see faq)

3. If the Medium creature is riding a large creature and wielding a reach weapon can he attack the 10' diagonal square? If so, why?

Eyup. See above.

Shadow Lodge ***

LazarX wrote:


Being an accessory to murder, or any other form of evil, doesn't clear you of the fact that you are essentially an enabler. If you're making it possible for a murder to happen, a murderer to escape, then you're not clear of the moral implications of the act itself.

We're now up to the entire society. Unless you've never healed an andoran?

Shadow Lodge

I would think that Lamashtu would be gay unfriendly because you're not going to make the next generation of monsters that way.

Unless she has a spell to let people have monsters that way. Which .. yeah I'm stopping my brain there.

Shadow Lodge ***

Profession Andoran water proof bag filler?

Shadow Lodge ***

It would require a warning from the DM first. And then wouldn't stop the check.

"Who are you killing?

"Orphan matron?

"Possible evil act. Who are you killing?

"Some random guy?

"Evil act, who are you killing?

"Bonesaw Puppykicker? Apparently its a contract from druids local 704...

"There we go. 10 gold.

Shadow Lodge

Aranna wrote:

The fact that only 32% (the real number) of climate studies claim human cause is the real issue isn't it... far far from the majority the left wants to claim.

32% of climate studies claim a human cause does NOT mean that the other 68% are letting humans off the hook. There are dozens of other things the studies could be about from determining what the change was (from ice cores, tree rings, silt deposits, pollen counts...), to determining the effects of the change (at x degrees we lose New orleans, at Y degrees we lose new york) What you need to find for this argument is what percentage of studies say that humans are NOT responsible for climate change. THAT would make an argument.

Shadow Lodge

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Nope. Any time I say anything about them I'm doing it wrong, so I'm not bringing it up.

Shadow Lodge

Lune wrote:
Ok, I dig that you occupy all of the squares of your mount. That still doesn't answer where your attack originates from.

It does actually. An attacker can chose any corner to originate the attack from so the answer becomes

1) It originates from whatever corner you want BUT...

2) That doesn't matter because what corner the attack originates from is irrelevant to whether or not a creature is adjacent, because adjacent is a property of the creature not the origin of the attack.

Quote:
If you do have to declare what square you are attacking from how do AoOs that you may provoke work?

What corner you're attacking from is irrelevant: if something threatens your horse and you draw the aoo they're threatening you.

Quote:
As for the question about reach with animal companions when they hit large size (I don't think we are talking about just the Axe Beak anymore) has there been on thread on this yet? Any Dev posts I'm not aware of? Should we start a thread on that too and get it FAQ'd?

That might be more FAQable.

Shadow Lodge

Long hair just gets in the way.

Shadow Lodge ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Profession: Free lance expeditious psycopomp ?

Shadow Lodge ***

LazarX wrote:


Read the Campaign Guide... show the section on the prohibition of evil characters. And remind the player that a person who kills for money alone IS considered evil.

That would be about half the society if true...

Shadow Lodge ***

Its once per chronicle sheet.

Check the new guide monday to see if this changed.

Shadow Lodge ***

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Ragoz wrote:
I'm a huge fan of giving the enemies the dead condition. It's probably the strongest debuff.

Charmed, dominated, wild empathied, or properly bribed are even stronger.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Not mine, but it was pretty hard to beat.

It was a dark matter campaign (modern conspiracy). The party was trying to stop some thugs from stealing something from a train. Some aliens were in a cloaked ship right next to it trying to do the same thing.

The party's swashbucklery olympic fencer kinda sorta sees the cloaked ship. He jumps off the moving train, onto.. well, nothing , makes a 30ish acrobatics check to walk along a surface he can't see, and then crits the mook with the sub machine gun.

One of the aliens inside actually popped the window to clap.

Shadow Lodge

If you didn't see, monday the new guide comes out and its going to loosen up the what happens when something messes up your character with a change rule

Shadow Lodge ***

Hitokiriweasel wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:


I've had multiple people tell me i DO look like my profile pic

What about smell like your profile pic?

Depends on what it/I have been rolling around on.

Shadow Lodge

Oops, sorry about the above post. was window hopping and didn't see what topic i was in

Shadow Lodge

I felt that way about the rogue. It was obsolete out of the box and then things got worse. Trying some unchained rogues to see how i feel about them now.

Shadow Lodge

PFS doesn't let you use that rule. The druids clerics and wizards union chained in the basement cranking out items only let you buy paladin spells if they're not on one of those lists.

Shadow Lodge

Its the doughnut shape.

Since you occupy all of the squares, not just one...
*
*
*
1234
5HH6
7HH8
90AC

All of those spaces are adjacent to the horse, So they're all adjacent to you. You can't attack an adjacent space. Adjacent is creature determined, not square determined.

Shadow Lodge ***

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Joe Ducey wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
So...is it me or should we be seeing all of the swashbucklers at service at the temple of saranrae this weekend?
Problem is that you can't use a Buckler with Dervish Dance, either.
Why not? It specifies "carrying a weapon or shield in your off hand" Bucklers are not in a hand they are strapped to a forearm, else you could not wield a bow (at no penalty) or a second weapon (at -1) while using one.

Thats way more loopholey than you want to try to build a PFS character around.

Shadow Lodge

Rynjin wrote:
That IS pretty awesome. So we're relatively close to at least a partial cure for paralysis, AND fully functional prosthetics.

No reason to just work on one solution at a time....

Shadow Lodge ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:
"You SO don't look like your profile pic."

I've had multiple people tell me i DO look like my profile pic

Shadow Lodge ***

So...is it me or should we be seeing all of the swashbucklers at service at the temple of saranrae this weekend? Are we back to the rapier not being a viable swashbuckler weapon?

Shadow Lodge

Parylzed patients stand again

Shadow Lodge ***

Mark Stratton wrote:
You know, if you read these boards long enough, you'll find that many people, now and then, violate the "don't be a jerk" rule. It happens, and I think it's just the nature of being able to post behind the computer screen (instead of confronting someone face to face.) ...

and then you meet them face to face and they're the same....

*ow ow ow ow*

Shadow Lodge ***

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Oh sure, NOW he pleas for mercy...:)

Shadow Lodge

Retrain Slayer to UC rogue?

1 to 50 of 21,731 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.