Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
Recruitment Play-by-Post Play-by-Post Discussion
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

GM Zimmer's Curse of the Crimson Throne (Inactive)

Game Master zimmerwald1915

The king is dead! In the Varisian port city of Korvosa, the death of a monarch leads to chaos. It's up to a band of bold adventurers to stop the spread of tyranny before all of Korvosa is crushed beneath the queen's iron fist.


251 to 300 of 382 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | next > last >>

That's cool. Rage is about to kick in, so if Yargin's smart, he'll beg you for forgiveness and leave the very pissed barbarian alone. Just waiting for Tristain's action.


Chalker 4:
AC 15/FF12/T13;F6/R7/W3;Init+4;Perc+9;Clmb7;DisD14;Intim5;Local6;Sleight9;Stlt h9;Surv9

Thanks for the kind words about my cat.

Let's go rock Lamm.


Additional Rolls:
Lamm's Crit Confirm: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (8) + 6 = 14

Gobblegut's Grab: 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (7) + 10 = 17


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5

Ugh, really good turn for the bad guys. Let's see about turning things around, shall we?


You have just made me a very happy player. Now I don't have to worry about how I'm going to describe Raseri's breakdown.

Now I just have to find out who he sold her too. Hope Lamm can take pain.

Edit: Okay, looks like we need a miracle to get Tristain back without diving in after him. Can Durriken hit the gator from where he's at?


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

Didn't Raseri swing at Lamm, not Yargin?

Edit: nevermind. I didn't look at the map first.


Yeah and I was supposed to be next to Yargin. That would have provoked an AoO from them, but they would have provoked AoO for us as well.

Edit: Never mind, stupid me put myself in front of Yargin instead of beside him and close to Lamm, Oh well, that just means I get to use Yargin as a demonstration of what Ras is going to do Lamm if he doesn't tell her where her other sister is.


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

Should I go get Tristain? That looks like it hurt.


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5

AFAIK, Tristain's on one hit point. As for who can help him, well, Theron's nearest.


Male Human Inquisitor 2 (sin eater)

brb will post in 15


Chalker 4:
AC 15/FF12/T13;F6/R7/W3;Init+4;Perc+9;Clmb7;DisD14;Intim5;Local6;Sleight9;Stlt h9;Surv9
Goffred Giulianoff wrote:
AFAIK, Tristain's on one hit point. As for who can help him, well, Theron's nearest.

No doubt that Tristain is in deep water (pardon the pun), however, Tristain knew the risks going 'in'. I'm hilarious, right?

As a point of order (though I'm fine with continuing as is...I'm not a rules lawyer and happily submit to GM Zimmer's ruling), I would note:

1) That the croc still need to succeed in a grapple check to actually grab Tristain. As the croc's CMB is likely to be big and Tristain's CMD is 12 + 4 (fight defensive) = 16, I don't suspect the croc will fail. But it's possible.

2) Tristain should still be on 'land'. There is no automatic positioning for a grapple attempt. I'm sure that next turn that the croc can easily drag/reposition Tristain into the water wherein he'll be in even deeper doo doo, however, for this turn, he should be fine.

However, these are things for the GM and dice-roller-Gods to decide.


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

Theron, anything you can do to separate Tristain from the Croc. I'm going to see if maybe he holds a grudge and give him something else to snack on.


Male Human Inquisitor 2 (sin eater)

Oops too late.. That's what I was actually thinking at first, but ended up just shooting.


Chalker 4:
AC 15/FF12/T13;F6/R7/W3;Init+4;Perc+9;Clmb7;DisD14;Intim5;Local6;Sleight9;Stlt h9;Surv9

Wow.

Just found me a picture of Tristain. Seems right, right?


I hope not. I rather like Tristain. I think we can pull your bacon out of the fire as long as the wee one doesn't do anything rash.


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

Let's just say that healing him twice may have endebted Durriken to Tristain. I'm a-comin'.


Chalker 4:
AC 15/FF12/T13;F6/R7/W3;Init+4;Perc+9;Clmb7;DisD14;Intim5;Local6;Sleight9;Stlt h9;Surv9

I'm sure I'm fine...I didn't need that leg anyways.

That's why we have two, right?


Hey now you can multi-class into Oracle and have a legit reason to take the lame curse.


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5
Tristain the Chalker wrote:
Goffred Giulianoff wrote:
AFAIK, Tristain's on one hit point. As for who can help him, well, Theron's nearest.

No doubt that Tristain is in deep water (pardon the pun), however, Tristain knew the risks going 'in'. I'm hilarious, right?

As a point of order (though I'm fine with continuing as is...I'm not a rules lawyer and happily submit to GM Zimmer's ruling), I would note:

1) That the croc still need to succeed in a grapple check to actually grab Tristain. As the croc's CMB is likely to be big and Tristain's CMD is 12 + 4 (fight defensive) = 16, I don't suspect the croc will fail. But it's possible.

He made the CMB check. It's in the spoiler above, under "additional rolls".

Quote:

2) Tristain should still be on 'land'. There is no automatic positioning for a grapple attempt. I'm sure that next turn that the croc can easily drag/reposition Tristain into the water wherein he'll be in even deeper doo doo, however, for this turn, he should be fine.

However, these are things for the GM and dice-roller-Gods to decide.

The module says he pulls his victim into the water as he falls back.


Additional Rolls:
Lamm's Crit Confirm: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (15) + 6 = 21
Tristain's CON check to not drown: 1d20 + 1 ⇒ (13) + 1 = 14
Tristain's stabilization check: 1d20 + 1 ⇒ (18) + 1 = 19


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5

Things haven't quite turned around yet, but the turn's just begun.


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

That little jerk. Now I've gone and left Raseri up there with two baddies.


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5
Durriken Garde wrote:
That little jerk. Now I've gone and left Raseri up there with two baddies.

In the interest of you not dying I should warn you that Gobblegut's Frightened, and as such is going to flee to the northwest (bottom left) corner of the room as soon as it's his turn. Be somewhere else.


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

Heh. Glad I read this before I posted my action.


Chalker 4:
AC 15/FF12/T13;F6/R7/W3;Init+4;Perc+9;Clmb7;DisD14;Intim5;Local6;Sleight9;Stlt h9;Surv9
Raseri Whitescale wrote:
No problem. By the way, why do you keep trying to call Raseri a cheese maker?

Wow.

I have no idea how you knew that. I had to use the internet to understand what you meant.

Interesting and now I know more. :)


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5
Durriken Garde wrote:
Heh. Glad I read this before I posted my action.

Well, you managed to poleaxe Yargin, so we're well on our way to living through the night.

Tristain, thanks for the education.


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

That hurt though. Forgot I'd lose my dex bonus when climbing. Ras, you'd better get what you want out of Lamm now, I don't think Durriken's going to let that hit go.


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5

I doubt he'll get the opportunity to sneak attack again, with Yargin dead and Gobblegut frightened for three rounds. Going into this fight, I wasn't sure he'd get to sneak attack at all, and rather regretted it the lost opportunity.


Tristain the Chalker wrote:
Raseri Whitescale wrote:
No problem. By the way, why do you keep trying to call Raseri a cheese maker?

Wow.

I have no idea how you knew that. I had to use the internet to understand what you meant.

Interesting and now I know more. :)

Probably the same way you did, Google ;)


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

Lamm wouldn't get an AOO on you unless he has combat reflexes, since he spent it on me.

Edit: Don't forget your flanking bonus, as well. Not sure it will help, but he's flanked.


Fixed it, still 2 short, but hey, one of us might be able to knock him out.


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5
Raseri Whitescale wrote:
Min damage is 1 non-leathal, it's your call, but Durriken should have only taken 5 hp damage and Ras should have 2 non-leathal on her now. I still subtracted the damage from HP, just in case you rule otherwise.

Hmm, didn't know that rule. Seems legit.


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5

Bleh. Sometimes I wonder why I bothered training Intimidate. And it would have been nice to actually fire off a charge, but moving and picking up the blasted wand took my whole turn.


Raseri Whitescale wrote:
Heh, sorry if I'm stepping on your toes. I just knew how many hit points Lamm had left, so I knew I KO'd him.

Apparently not, since I've got him with four hit points left after your strike. I'm using a PF conversion which gives him more levels and bigger hit dice than the stats he has in the module, as PF conversions are wont to do.

Given the reality of posting on this board, my hopes are not high that you'll read this in time to edit your post. The shot itself was well-described, and came at a time when one PC was down and another was in dire straits. So I'm inclined to let it slide this time.

Let's lighten the tone a little bit though. Everyone should now advance to 835 XP!


Whoops, sorry I can edit that if you want, but I need to know now.


Raseri Whitescale wrote:
Whoops, sorry I can edit that if you want, but I need to know now.

I said I'd let it slide and I like to think I'm a man of my word. Tell you what, though. To make it all nice and rules-compliant I'll ask that you spend one of your Harrow points.


okay, that's good sorry about that I was going off the AP as written.


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

Durriken doesn't know if there are any cure spells left on the scroll. He's just guessing. Tristain will know for sure.


Okay, so what do we do now? We have Lamm tied up, Tristain stable, but still out of commission, and a room we haven't searched yet.


Chalker 4:
AC 15/FF12/T13;F6/R7/W3;Init+4;Perc+9;Clmb7;DisD14;Intim5;Local6;Sleight9;Stlt h9;Surv9

*gurgle*

My immediate thought would be search for healing supplies, but I'm a little incapacitated right now. ;)


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

Sorry, that last statement was meant to be aimed at Fredo


oh, whoops. Still, we really don't know much about each other in game, so...


@ GM Zimmer: Just wondering, who's controlling Alfsigr now? Is it supposed to be me, or you?


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5

You were controlling her in combat to streamline things. She's still an NPC, however, and I'll normally be controlling her.


Ah okay. That works.


RPing it out is fine with me. Not much that Ras can use at the moment.


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5

So...how was the reveal?


M Human (Varisian) M Human Ranger LE L2 | AC17 T13 FF14 | HP 21/21| F +4 R+7 W+2 | Init+3 | Perc+7

Well done. Not sure I'm cool with having been sent here by a disembodied head.


Very nice, hope you liked Raseri's reaction. :)


Male Chelaxian Void Wizard 5

It made me feel I was doing something right. :D

251 to 300 of 382 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / GM Squawk's Curse of the Crimson Throne Discussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.