| Theaitetos |
While all elves are immune to the paralyzing touch of ghouls, you can shake off flesh-numbing magic of all kinds. You gain a +1 circumstance bonus to saves against effects that would impose the immobilized, paralyzed, or slowed conditions. When you would be immobilized, paralyzed, or slowed for at least 2 rounds, reduce that duration by 1 round.
Grapple imposes the Grabbed condition or the Restrained condition, both of which incorporate the Immobilized condition, upon a (crit) failed save. Wouldn't then technically Grapple & similar abilities be subject to this effect as well? Thus the DC to grapple an Elf with Elven Verve should be +1 higher than usual, right?
I've checked whether a bonus to a save only applies to you rolling the save, but according to the rules the save DC does include all modifiers from the save.
Am I mistaken or does Elven Verve really work against every effect that imposes the Immobilized condition, even if that condition is just part of another condition? Or would it only work on things like Entangling Flora which directly impose that condition?
| TheFinish |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I'd say Elven Verve would only apply to things that apply the listed condition specifically.
Grapple does not inflice Immobilized, it inflicts either Grabbed or Restrained, so Verve doesn't apply.
That said, your point about Save DC is correct, so if an effect would impose Immobilised, Paralyzed or Slowed on you and it's rolling against one of your DCs, it would apply.
| Theaitetos |
Grapple imposes Grabbed or Restrained. Not Immobilized.
Does not work (both RAW and pretty obvious RAI).
RAW both Grabbed and Restrained impose the Immobilized condition.
And from where do you get that it is "pretty obvious RAI"? Is there a developer quote somewhere you can share with us?
| Finoan |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The Raven Black wrote:RAW both Grabbed and Restrained impose the Immobilized condition.Grapple imposes Grabbed or Restrained. Not Immobilized.
Does not work (both RAW and pretty obvious RAI).
To restate the argument more formally:
Elven Verve gives a bonus to effects that impose the immobilized, paralyzed, and slowed conditions.
The Grapple action or Grab monster ability impose the grabbed or restrained conditions. Elven Verve doesn't apply to grabbed or restrained so therefore doesn't apply to the Grapple action.
The Grabbed and Restrained conditions themselves apply the Immobilized condition, but it does so without allowing a second save or check. So while Elven Verve would apply to immobilized, the effect causing it does not involve any rolls, so the bonus is not usable.
-----
Another way to think of it RAI - it is like the Subordinate Actions rule. If an ability protects against a condition, it is looking for that condition being applied specifically, not as a consequence of a different condition.
Nesting conditions is meant as a space saving measure for printing the rulebooks, not as a type hierarchy.
| Theaitetos |
The Grapple action or Grab monster ability impose the grabbed or restrained conditions. Elven Verve doesn't apply to grabbed or restrained so therefore doesn't apply to the Grapple action.
What would happen if you were to (crit) succeed on the grapple of a creature that is immune to being immobilized?
| Squiggit |
Another way to think of it RAI - it is like the Subordinate Actions rule.
That's kind of a bad example though, because things that modify the base action still work if the action is subordinate. You can't bypass a penalty to Strikes by using Power Attack, nor does it disable Rage's damage bonus.
| Nelzy |
a bonus vs grapple would not apply vs the strikes both post and pre remaster when a monster with the grab ability strikes you.
an Hypothetically if you had an ability to do a feint and on a crit you could make a strike you would not apply your strike bonuses on the feint check.
its a smal destinction but i agree with Thefinish and Finoan
| Baarogue |
Finoan wrote:The Grapple action or Grab monster ability impose the grabbed or restrained conditions. Elven Verve doesn't apply to grabbed or restrained so therefore doesn't apply to the Grapple action.What would happen if you were to (crit) succeed on the grapple of a creature that is immune to being immobilized?
Can you give us an example of such a creature?
| Theaitetos |
Theaitetos wrote:Can you give us an example of such a creature?Finoan wrote:The Grapple action or Grab monster ability impose the grabbed or restrained conditions. Elven Verve doesn't apply to grabbed or restrained so therefore doesn't apply to the Grapple action.What would happen if you were to (crit) succeed on the grapple of a creature that is immune to being immobilized?
Sure: Tolokand
| Baarogue |
Baarogue wrote:Sure: TolokandTheaitetos wrote:Can you give us an example of such a creature?Finoan wrote:The Grapple action or Grab monster ability impose the grabbed or restrained conditions. Elven Verve doesn't apply to grabbed or restrained so therefore doesn't apply to the Grapple action.What would happen if you were to (crit) succeed on the grapple of a creature that is immune to being immobilized?
Unless I'm missing a rule somewhere such a creature would simply be unaffected by the Immobilized condition, meaning it could move unhindered on its turn. If there isn't already guidance on this detail, whether that meant they broke being Grabbed or Restrained via moving out of reach or they dragged the Grappler with them because they technically didn't Escape would be up to the GM. But it would not mean it is immune to Grabbed or Restrained, nor would it have any bonus to its DC vs Grapple unless specifically stated
| shroudb |
To try to simplify the answer a bit:
Imagine someone having "+1 circumstance bonus to the Saves and the AC vs Spells" which is an ability that you can find in some creatures already.
The creature wouldn't get that benefit to its AC vs a magus spellstriking it, "even though the Strike would trigger a Spell". The magus isn's doing a spell attack, he's using his Strike to automatically deliver said spell.
Similarily, if you try to Grapple a Verve Elf, it's "+1 to DC vs Immobilize" doesn't apply to the Grapple check. The grappler isn't trying to immobilize, he's using his Grapple that automatically delivers the immobilized.
BUT
In both cases, defenses vs the "subordinate thing to happen" do apply. If you were Immune to Spells, or Immune to Immobilized, even though the Spell from the Spellstrike and the Immobilized from the Grapple would land, the immune creature would still ignore said effects.
| MagnificentMelkior |
Interesting arguement. The "effect" (grapple) is clearly the thing that imposed the immobilized condition. The grabbed condition itself is not an effect, and so I say this arguement works. Though I do agree its clearly not the way the flavor text was written, but they didn't specify that its only magical effects you are resistant to.
| Squiggit |
Imagine someone having "+1 circumstance bonus to the Saves and the AC vs Spells" which is an ability that you can find in some creatures already.
The creature wouldn't get that benefit to its AC vs a magus spellstriking it, "even though the Strike would trigger a Spell". The magus isn's doing a spell attack, he's using his Strike to automatically deliver said spell.
... Because the spell automatically succeeds. You never gain bonuses to defenses against things that automatically succeed. That's not really relevant here.
| shroudb |
shroudb wrote:... Because the spell automatically succeeds. You never gain bonuses to defenses against things that automatically succeed. That's not really relevant here.Imagine someone having "+1 circumstance bonus to the Saves and the AC vs Spells" which is an ability that you can find in some creatures already.
The creature wouldn't get that benefit to its AC vs a magus spellstriking it, "even though the Strike would trigger a Spell". The magus isn's doing a spell attack, he's using his Strike to automatically deliver said spell.
It's the exact same as the grapple:
"The immobilized automatically applies when you succeed on the Grapple. You never gain bonuses to defences against things that automatically succeed.".
| shroudb |
No it isn't, because Immobilize isn't an action and it's still conditional on a check.
I'm not even saying the final conclusion is necessarily wrong, but these examples are very irrelevant.
Both effects, Spell Attack or Immobilized are applied by a different action automatically.
Immobilized is NOT conditional on a check, Grapple is.
When you get Grappled you automatically get Immobilized, there's no separate check to immobilize you.
The exact same way that the Strike is conditional on a check and ferries the spell attack which is not conditional on a check.
It's the exact same thing.
---
To put it even more simply:
"Do a Check for X, if successful do Y without a check."
The above is a common formula for PF2
X could be a Strike in the case of stuff like improved Spam Down where Y is "get tripped".
X could be a Strike in the case of stuff like Spellstrike where Y is "hit with the spell attack".
And X can be a Grapple where Y is "get Immobilized".
In the above formula, defences vs Y do not matter.
| Theaitetos |
I also don't see how these Strike examples play any role here.
Let me again post the text of Elven Verve:
effects that would impose the immobilized, paralyzed, or slowed conditions
I don't think there's any doubt about the following: After being successfully grappled, the Elf would end up with the immobilized condition, even if just as part of Grabbed/Restrained.
The question seems to be only whether a Grapple would impose the immobilized condition. So does "impose" require something to be direct in name or just in effect?
Now, I also think statements such as these are misleading:
Grapple does not inflice Immobilized, it inflicts either Grabbed or Restrained
It just replaces one word ("impose") with another similar word ("inflict") without addressing the issue itself.
| shroudb |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I also don't see how these Strike examples play any role here.
Let me again post the text of Elven Verve:
Quote:You gain a +1 circumstance bonus to saves against effects that would impose the immobilized, paralyzed, or slowed conditions.I don't think there's any doubt about the following: After being successfully grappled, the Elf would end up with the immobilized condition, even if just as part of Grabbed/Restrained.
The question seems to be only whether a Grapple would impose the immobilized condition. So does "impose" require something to be direct in name or just in effect?
Now, I also think statements such as these are misleading:
Quote:Grapple does not inflice Immobilized, it inflicts either Grabbed or RestrainedIt just replaces one word ("impose") with another similar word ("inflict") without addressing the issue itself.
For the same reason if Verve also had the Prone Condition in it, you wouldn't get a Fort boost vs Harm with Cast Down.
Immobilized is just a rider on the Grapple inflicted automatically when someone manages to hit with the Grapple check.