Spellheart question


Rules Discussion

Grand Lodge

If you have a Spellheart affixed to a weapon, do you need to be holding or wielding the weapon to activate the cantrip?
For example, if you have the Warding Statuette affixed to your back up weapon, could you use it to cast the Shield cantrip while it's in its scabbard?

Edit: Another question: Can you benefit from a Spellheart affixed to a thrower's Bandolier?

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Secrets of Magic p. 170 wrote:
Spellhearts are permanent items that work similarly to talismans.
GM Core p. 263 wrote:

You must be wielding or wearing an item to activate a

talisman attached to it.

I think the "wearing" is intended to refer to talismans on armor, not to a weapon you're "wearing" in a scabbard. Otherwise you could get a whole lot of lightweight weapons and have as many talismans/spellhearts as you want. The design intent seems to be that you have just a few of them, but could switch them out with 10m of work.

Grand Lodge

Ascalaphus wrote:
Secrets of Magic p. 170 wrote:
Spellhearts are permanent items that work similarly to talismans.
GM Core p. 263 wrote:

You must be wielding or wearing an item to activate a

talisman attached to it.
I think the "wearing" is intended to refer to talismans on armor, not to a weapon you're "wearing" in a scabbard. Otherwise you could get a whole lot of lightweight weapons and have as many talismans/spellhearts as you want. The design intent seems to be that you have just a few of them, but could switch them out with 10m of work.

Ah yes, Thanks. I didn't dig deep enough into the talisman rules.

Any thoughts on the Thrower's Bandolier question?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

A throwers bandolier is not a weapon. It does not have any special ability to attach a talisman as though it were a weapon (like handwraps do). Therefore it can't have talismans and spellhearts attached to it.


Aristophanes wrote:
Edit: Another question: Can you benefit from a Spellheart affixed to a thrower's Bandolier?

If you have a talisman or spellheart that has usage of being attached to a worn item, then yes. You could attach those to a Thrower's Bandolier.

But a Thrower's Bandolier is not a weapon and couldn't accept a spellheart intended for a weapon. It only allows etching weapon runes onto the bandolier.


Ascalaphus wrote:
Otherwise you could get a whole lot of lightweight weapons and have as many talismans/spellhearts as you want. The design intent seems to be that you have just a few of them, but could switch them out with 10m of work.

You mean, with 1 Interact action (if even that)? Well, unless you want it to be an armor spellheart.

Spellhearts are in a very strange place: they are mostly useful only to casters (as the spells in them are only useable by casters), but weapon properties are mostly useless to casters. So, for magi, I guess?


Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think they're asking if they could attach spellhearts to each of the weapons in their bandolier.


Perpdepog wrote:
Correct me if I'm wrong,

You are probably right about what they are intending to ask.

And no, attaching a spellheart to a Thrower's Bandolier, or Gunner's Bandolier would not replicate the spellheart to any of the weapons inside the bandolier.

But to continue taking questions way too literally...

Perpdepog wrote:
but I think they're asking if they could attach spellhearts to each of the weapons in their bandolier.

Certainly. You just have to buy enough spellhearts so that each weapon can have one.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

A thrower's bandolier cannot have a spellheart or talisman affixed.

There are several cases where items can have runes, but not affixed spellhearts/talismans: explorer's clothing, gi, and scroll robes are "unarmored" and not armor; however, they are explicitly allowed to benefit from fundamental and property runes.

Similarly, bracers of armor (also "unarmored") can have affixed spellhearts/talismans but can't benefit from runes.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Spellhearts are sort of parallel to runes or specific special abilities on armor or weapons.

The cast a spell activation for some of the spellhearts can even be less important than the passive benefit (such as the +1 on Athletics checks to trip from a beastmaster's sigil affixed to a melee weapon or the resistance from some spellhearts affixed to armor).


Dragonchess Player wrote:
A thrower's bandolier cannot have a spellheart or talisman affixed.

I'm not entirely convinced of that. The CRB rules for Talismans mention specifically that Talismans can be attached to weapons, shields, and armor - but they have already expanded beyond that.

Whisper Briolette can be put on regular clothing (not even explorer's clothing).
Inventor's Fulu can be put on an Innovation - which I am expecting includes a Construct Companion Innovation.
Speaking of Fulu, they also work like Talismans for the most part but explicitly don't have the limits on what they can be placed on. There are Fulu that are attached to creatures, the floor, and random items.

So you could absolutely attach a Tracking Fulu to a Thrower's Bandolier. It wouldn't replicate the Fulu to any of the weapons drawn from it. But you would be able to track where your favorite bandolier went.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber
Errenor wrote:
Spellhearts are in a very strange place: they are mostly useful only to casters (as the spells in them are only useable by casters), but weapon properties are mostly useless to casters. So, for magi, I guess?

The way I see it, Spellhearts are great for any kind of caster. For a full caster, they give you extra cantrip slots, can give you extra higher level spell casts, and can grant some passive benefits. The weapon activation benefits that grant bonus damage aren't great for a full caster, but the spellhearts themselves are good even if you aren't taking advantage of that. Plus there are spellhearts with activation benefits that don't involve attacks (e.g. Five-Feather Wreath, Perfect Droplet, Wyrm Claw), and spellhearts where the activation benefit might make it worthwhile to attack (e.g. Brightbloom Posy, Lightweave Scarf). And they don't even take up investment slots!

A half caster or a martial with a caster archetype gets all of the above, plus can more easily use the weapon activations that grant extra damage. Though they also face more competition at that slot from talismans than a full caster does.

My Druid has a spellheart on his shield boss (no, he's not proficient with a shield boss, but that doesn't matter), another on the sling he carries in case he wants a damaging third action, and I'm considering getting another to put on his staff. It lets me keep access to offensive cantrips of various elements while opening up room for utility cantrips like Deep Breath and Rousing Splash. His armor slot is being used for Retrieval Prism or I'd put one there for the damage resistance.


Just keep in mind, for casters, that only the cantrips get your proficiency.
The regular spells in the spellhearts use the static DCs.


shroudb wrote:

Just keep in mind, for casters, that only the cantrips get your proficiency.

The regular spells in the spellhearts use the static DCs.

Which I consider a mistake (don't even care intentional or not) and will always ignore in all roles in the game unless directly forbidden. Casters' items must always use casters' DCs. ("Cast a spell"-activated items)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Funnily enough, Kineticists can activate even the leveled spells of a spellheart with their scaling DC while full casters cannot. It does seem a bit silly to have wands/scrolls/staves scale their DCs, but not spellhearts, even considering they save a hand in terms of usage. They already become worse over time since the damage is static, no need to double dip with the DC as well.


yellowpete wrote:
Funnily enough, Kineticists can activate even the leveled spells of a spellheart with their scaling DC while full casters cannot. It does seem a bit silly to have wands/scrolls/staves scale their DCs, but not spellhearts, even considering they save a hand in terms of usage. They already become worse over time since the damage is static, no need to double dip with the DC as well.

If they take the Kinetic Activation feat and the spells share their elements: even some major elements, like water, can't all of its spellheart and others don't match at all.

Grand Lodge

Finoan wrote:
Perpdepog wrote:
Correct me if I'm wrong,

You are probably right about what they are intending to ask.

And no, attaching a spellheart to a Thrower's Bandolier, or Gunner's Bandolier would not replicate the spellheart to any of the weapons inside the bandolier.

But to continue taking questions way too literally...

Perpdepog wrote:
but I think they're asking if they could attach spellhearts to each of the weapons in their bandolier.
Certainly. You just have to buy enough spellhearts so that each weapon can have one.

Could I use the cantrip of the Spellheart from the weapon that is in the Bandolier while it's in the Bandolier?


Aristophanes wrote:
Finoan wrote:
You just have to buy enough spellhearts so that each weapon can have one.
Could I use the cantrip of the Spellheart from the weapon that is in the Bandolier while it's in the Bandolier?

Not likely. The spellheart on the weapon would need the weapon to be wielded in order to be usable. I can't think of any way of wielding a weapon that is still inside a bandolier.


Aristophanes wrote:
Could I use the cantrip of the Spellheart from the weapon that is in the Bandolier while it's in the Bandolier?

Is there a particular spellheart that you are looking at that only allows being attached to a weapon? Most that I recall allow the cantrip to be used while the spellheart is attached to your armor as well.

So if casting the cantrip is what you want the spellheart for, that would be a more reasonable approach than trying to get the spellheart replicated onto all of your weapons in a Thrower's Bandolier.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Aristophanes wrote:
Finoan wrote:
Perpdepog wrote:
Correct me if I'm wrong,

You are probably right about what they are intending to ask.

And no, attaching a spellheart to a Thrower's Bandolier, or Gunner's Bandolier would not replicate the spellheart to any of the weapons inside the bandolier.

But to continue taking questions way too literally...

Perpdepog wrote:
but I think they're asking if they could attach spellhearts to each of the weapons in their bandolier.
Certainly. You just have to buy enough spellhearts so that each weapon can have one.
Could I use the cantrip of the Spellheart from the weapon that is in the Bandolier while it's in the Bandolier?

Your best bet would be to attach the spellheart[s] to gauntlet[s] or other free hand weapons instead of trying to find some kind of workaround with the Bandolier. That way you could use the Bandolier to throw weapons while having spellheart[s] active for weapon[s]. If you're looking for man number of spellhearts active at once, go with 2 Hand Crossbows with Bayonets/Reinforced Frames so you can have 4 weapons wielded at once.

Grand Lodge

graystone wrote:
Aristophanes wrote:
Finoan wrote:
Perpdepog wrote:
Correct me if I'm wrong,

You are probably right about what they are intending to ask.

And no, attaching a spellheart to a Thrower's Bandolier, or Gunner's Bandolier would not replicate the spellheart to any of the weapons inside the bandolier.

But to continue taking questions way too literally...

Perpdepog wrote:
but I think they're asking if they could attach spellhearts to each of the weapons in their bandolier.
Certainly. You just have to buy enough spellhearts so that each weapon can have one.
Could I use the cantrip of the Spellheart from the weapon that is in the Bandolier while it's in the Bandolier?
Your best bet would be to attach the spellheart[s] to gauntlet[s] or other free hand weapons instead of trying to find some kind of workaround with the Bandolier. That way you could use the Bandolier to throw weapons while having spellheart[s] active for weapon[s]. If you're looking for man number of spellhearts active at once, go with 2 Hand Crossbows with Bayonets/Reinforced Frames so you can have 4 weapons wielded at once.

Of course! Gauntlets! Thanks!!


Handwraps of Mighty Blows can hold another one, so including armor you have up to 4 slots that don't depend on drawing any items, should be plenty.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spellheart question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion