Glove of Storing a Loaded Firearm


Rules Questions


Would this work? The glove states that it can hold one item. Does a loaded firearm count as one, or could it only be stored when unloaded?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Depends on how you look at a loaded firearm's ammunition. Can you feasibly get back a ball you had to ram down long a tube, and even if you could, could you then re-store the powder? If your GM is reasonable, he would probably say no to the above which would make the answer to your actual question a yes. I would even personally rule it should also work for a crossbow where the ammunition is extremely easy to remove (and the reloading of said crossbow is mostly the cocking of the string over the placing of the bolt anyway).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Too me if you can take the item with a sleight of hand or a steal maneuver it is one item.


I'd allow it. I'd also allow common sets of items, such as lockpicks, chopsticks, cutlery sets, etc. Or, in the case of Kimono of Storing, screaming babies when you just need a few minutes to relax.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Bjørn Røyrvik wrote:
I'd allow it. I'd also allow common sets of items, such as lockpicks, chopsticks, cutlery sets, etc. Or, in the case of Kimono of Storing, screaming babies when you just need a few minutes to relax.

i'll let you store the baby but his full diaper stays behind...


1 person marked this as a favorite.
zza ni wrote:
Bjørn Røyrvik wrote:
I'd allow it. I'd also allow common sets of items, such as lockpicks, chopsticks, cutlery sets, etc. Or, in the case of Kimono of Storing, screaming babies when you just need a few minutes to relax.
i'll let you store the baby but his full diaper stays behind...

That just makes easy changing, easily worth the several thousand gold if you ask me, a person with no kids.


Bao Hadir wrote:
Would this work? The glove states that it can hold one item. Does a loaded firearm count as one, or could it only be stored when unloaded?

Yes, you may store a loaded firearm, provided it is less than 20lbs. Disallowing this gets silly really fast.

If your GM says no because he considers the bullet and the firearm are two separate items, then ask him if you have to disassemble the firearm entirely into its lesser components (because a typical firearm is 5+ separate items held together with fasteners and pins)? Does this also apply to swords where I have to disassemble the pommel and hilt because the pommel and hilt are separate items from the sword itself? <--- the answer is most certainly no

The Exchange

Player: "I'll put this potion in my glove of storing."

GM I never want to play with: "No problem. However since you can only store one item, the potion vial gets stored empty and the contents pour out over your hand and onto the ground. And you're still holding the stopper to the vial, which is a separate piece."

Player: "That's not how it works!"

GMINWtPW: "Yeah, you're right. You said you were storing the potion. So the empty, stoppered vial is in your hand and the liquid is stored in the glove. But I don't see any way you can return the liquid without losing enough of it to make the potion ineffective."


Belafon wrote:

Player: "I'll put this potion in my glove of storing."

GM I never want to play with: "No problem. However since you can only store one item, the potion vial gets stored empty and the contents pour out over your hand and onto the ground. And you're still holding the stopper to the vial, which is a separate piece."

Player: "That's not how it works!"

GMINWtPW: "Yeah, you're right. You said you were storing the potion. So the empty, stoppered vial is in your hand and the liquid is stored in the glove. But I don't see any way you can return the liquid without losing enough of it to make the potion ineffective."

I would totally respond to that GM with:

“Well since my potion stored itself in the glove without the vial, I hold my gloved hand above my mouth and retrieve the potion so that it pours right into my open maw.”


Chell Raighn wrote:
Belafon wrote:

Player: "I'll put this potion in my glove of storing."

GM I never want to play with: "No problem. However since you can only store one item, the potion vial gets stored empty and the contents pour out over your hand and onto the ground. And you're still holding the stopper to the vial, which is a separate piece."

Player: "That's not how it works!"

GMINWtPW: "Yeah, you're right. You said you were storing the potion. So the empty, stoppered vial is in your hand and the liquid is stored in the glove. But I don't see any way you can return the liquid without losing enough of it to make the potion ineffective."

I would totally respond to that GM with:

“Well since my potion stored itself in the glove without the vial, I hold my gloved hand above my mouth and retrieve the potion so that it pours right into my open maw.”

GM: You can't active it while the glove is off of your hand. Roll escape artist to fit your fist in your mouth and then a fort save to not drown as the potion floods your throat.


yes, the Glove of Storing will hold a loaded gun, or a loaded & cocked crossbow, or a sheathed sword.

Commentary
The rules are rather loose when it comes to defining a single object. Mainly it involves drawing an imaginary bag over the item in question and if so, then yes it is A Object. There's an exception for posessed/worn items much like French Laws concept of personal space.

If the GM has a problem with this game concept refer him to targeting the bearer of a tower shield by targeting the shield AND Invisibility on a held item covered by a cloak. If that doesn't work I'd consider finding a new GM.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Glove of Storing a Loaded Firearm All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions