| Kolokotroni |
'Balance' is not an issue. 'Overpowered' it is not. Thinking it's 'clearly superior' is a knee-jerk reaction which doesn't stand up to scrutiny.
You are assuming it was about balance. I dont think thats the case here. I think its more a case of what was a commonly attempted end run around the rules. Two weapon fighting is read as fighting with 2 weapons one in each hand. There are then a set of exceptions to that (double weapons, thrown weapons, monks flurry).
Unless I see a dev quote that says otherwise, this ruling is about closing a loophole in the rules that many people used, and not about removing an overpowered option. Great sword and armor spikes are not 'overpowered' they are just contrary to the intended behavior of two weapon fighting as originally written.
For me at least the statistics arent important, the rational application of rules in the game world are. Using a 2 handed weapon and armor spikes to two weapon fight is to me at least a very gamist idea that disrupts the basic limitations put on a basic style of combat(two weapon fighting). I am glad the loophole is closed personally.
Edit: I had a look at the other gigantic thread about this topic and Jason Explains here and a couple other places that this ruling wasnt about armor spikes being over powered, but that there was a clear intent in the rules to provide general restrictions on the ways you can two weapon fight, and that armor spikes (and unarmed strikes) sit in a sort of mirky zone in the rules because they dont occupy hands, hence the confusion. This is purely clearing up confusion in the rules, and not about nerfing an over powered option.
| Exhaltia |
Exhaltia wrote:Malachi Silverclaw wrote:Um... I'm going to take this unintelligible guffawing to mean that you don't agree, but look at what else is around this equipment combo. What equipment combo for a TWF would this even equal to? When one choice is clearly superior then it is too powerful and needs to be rebalanced. Simply put, you can't have the best of both worlds.Exhaltia wrote:The reason why this rule is here is basically saying that if you're using a two-handed weapon you don't get an "off-hand attack" in addition to your regular attacks based on BAB because that would be OP.HA!
LOL
Okay, I have to conclude that you haven't read the whole thread(s).
You said 'When one choice is clearly superior then it is too powerful and needs to be rebalanced', and in this you are correct. At first glance, it seems that getting 1.5 x Str bonus on your 'main' attack will result in more damage, and therefore that attempting to do so is sneaky and cheaty and must be stopped. This of course ignores all the other ways that players try to optimise their characters within the rules, without being accused of cheating.
But take more than a glance and you'll realise that, just because your main attack will do slightly more damage if it hits, this does not mean that you'll do more damage per round overall, because of the damage you'll lose by missing with attacks that would have hit if you weren't taking the attack penalties for TWF.
Doing the maths (and many have on these threads) it turns out you do more damage using a single greatsword than you do TWFing with greatsword AND armour spikes!
Futher, TWF requires a feat while using a single two-handed weapon doesn't. Unless you try without the feat, and then the attack penalties of -4/-8 result in far less damage than before.
There are further costs associated with being worse than a single 2H weapon. TWF requires a Dex of 15, higher if you want Improved (17) and Greater (19) TWF. And that takes...
Your point is flawed because of your approach at the argument. You're still thinking TWF vs THF, but this is not the argument at all. The argument is TWF vs TWF.
What other combination of weapons gets you the same STR bonus for the same character design with the same feats while TWF? None and that's the problem. That means that this combo is clearly superior in every way. In other words your interpretation would create imbalance.
| Exhaltia |
Exhaltia wrote:Not in my world, you can threaten with one but not the other - unless you can threaten with a sheathed weapon and quick-draw? Removing your hand/drawing your weapon with QD are both free actions not immediate ones.Edit - I do want to point out that the usefulness of spikes is still there, for instance you can still threaten within 5 feet if you have them equipped and are also using a reach weapon, just as if you're using an unarmed strike with improved unarmed.
Of course you're allowed your own rulings, but I believe there is a rule, or ruling, somewhere the specifically says you threaten with any and all weapons you wield. Since you would be wielding armor (with spikes) then you can make opportunity attacks with it.
| CountofUndolpho |
CountofUndolpho wrote:Of course you're allowed your own rulings, but I believe there is a rule, or ruling, somewhere the specifically says you threaten with any and all weapons you wield. Since you would be wielding armor (with spikes) then you can make opportunity attacks with it.Exhaltia wrote:Not in my world, you can threaten with one but not the other - unless you can threaten with a sheathed weapon and quick-draw? Removing your hand/drawing your weapon with QD are both free actions not immediate ones.Edit - I do want to point out that the usefulness of spikes is still there, for instance you can still threaten within 5 feet if you have them equipped and are also using a reach weapon, just as if you're using an unarmed strike with improved unarmed.
If you are holding a reach weapon with 2H you are wielding that weapon and not the spikes. You would need to remove a hand from the 2H weapon to use the spikes/ready them for use, which is a free action. If, on the other hand, you are only holding the reach weapon one handed you can have the spikes readied but not the reach weapon - which would need two hands.
As per the FAQ if you can't use spikes for an attack whilst using both hands how then can they be counted as being wielded for an AoO?| CountofUndolpho |
I repeat why do you think that? I can find nothing in the rules that says you can use them with your hands full let alone whilst wielding a readied weapon in said hands. Unlike the Barbazu beard that people have been quoting or even the less popular Sea-knife which specifically state they can be used with your hands full. Or even a Monk's unarmed attacks which also state they can be used with your hands full.
| CountofUndolpho |
Yes but that doesn't answer my point.
"A shield uses up a hand, but it might or might not use up a "primary" or "off" hand, depending on whether or not it is used to attack"
Yet to wield a 2H weapon takes up a "primary" and an "off" hand, so to be ready to take an AoO you have to be wielding a weapon and the weapon takes a "primary" and an "off" hand to wield - how do you then wield another weapon?
You're doing that whole real hand/game mechanic hand thing again.
| Exhaltia |
Yes but that doesn't answer my point.
"A shield uses up a hand, but it might or might not use up a "primary" or "off" hand, depending on whether or not it is used to attack"
Yet to wield a 2H weapon takes up a "primary" and an "off" hand, so to be ready to take an AoO you have to be wielding a weapon and the weapon takes a "primary" and an "off" hand to wield - how do you then wield another weapon?
You're doing that whole real hand/game mechanic hand thing again.
That did actually answer your question, you're just making up rules now.
You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you're unarmed, you don't normally threaten any squares and thus can't make attacks of opportunity.
[Edit - Improved Unarmed would also allow you to threaten adjacent squares with a reach weapon.]
Though a hand maybe occupied literally the armor spikes can still be used. Threatening an area has no such contingency saying that you have to have had an attack using that weapon last turn, only that you must be able to make a melee attack into that square. Since you can freely choose between equipped weapons (only you can't get an extra attack since your primary and off-hand attacks were occupied last turn) you can choose to use the armor spikes at any time for an attack based on your high BAB, but not for an off-hand attack if you use a THW (except that you probably wouldn't since generally speaking the THW will do more damage.)
To clarify the point if you have three attacks due to high BAB then you could use a greatsword, then decide to use the armor spikes for the 2nd, and then back to the greatsword for the 3rd. The whole of the original debate is that you can't then ALSO get "off-hand" attacks in addition.
Another example is a creature with natural weapons, two claws and a bite. If it used a claw to attack the round before, it can still use it's bite as the opportunity attack during that round simply because it's "equipped."
The whole point is that opportunity attacks do not have anything to do with what other attacks you used in your last round.
| fretgod99 |
If you're holding a long sword and a short sword in your hands, but on your turn take all of your iterative attacks with your long sword, that does not mean that you cannot make any attacks of opportunity with the short sword.
Similarly, if you're wielding a reach weapon and armor spikes, that does not mean that you cannot threaten or attack with the armor spikes. You could make all your iterative attacks with your armor spikes, if you so desire, but doing so means you cannot make any attacks (even if TWF) with your two-handed reach weapon (extra abilities aside, of course).
Attacks of opportunity fall outside of your normal action cycle. They're not limited by this FAQ, which applies to TWF, not simply wielding (or even using) a two-handed weapon. If wielding the two-handed weapon prohibited the use of armor spikes, you wouldn't be able to use armor spikes even for iterative attacks in the same round that you use the two-handed weapon. We know this to be false; you specifically can use two-handed weapons and armor spikes in the same round, so long as you're doing so with iterative attacks only.
| CountofUndolpho |
I wasn't talking about the original debate but how it applies to the use of spikes and a 2H weapon on AoO's.
Whilst you have both tried to answer rather than saying "just cos". You seem to have missed my point.
In order to threaten you must be able to use the weapon(s) in question. If you have a long sword and a short sword in your hands, whether you have used all your iterative attacks or not, you are wielding them both. And so they can be used as AoO as they threaten. With me so far?
If on the other hand you are using a 2H weapon and spikes you are either wielding the spikes or the 2H. If we were talking about a Barbezu beard it says in it's description you can use it for offhand attacks whilst using a 2H, same with Sea-Knife so I'd say fair enough, though you'd use the off hand penalties. I wouldn't like it but hey ho they are pretty obscure.
So barring those exceptions; to threaten with two weapons you need to have the option of a primary and an off hand available (I know you are not TWF in an AoO). Otherwise how can you wield them both?
Iterative attacks are a different matter, there is a mechanic already stated for that.
| Crash_00 |
There is some debate over whether you are actually wielding a weapon that you have not attacked with or not. The book never clearly states one way or the other. It is ambiguous. After Mark's comments a few years ago, and how they collide with some of the comments of other devs, it would appear that the debate is/was among them as well at one point at least.
I personally would allow the armor spikes to threaten as I would a second weapon in the off hand that wasn't attacked with (a spiked shield if you are a phalanx fighter for instance). I can see it from the other point of view just as well though.
| CountofUndolpho |
Shields are an odd one because if readied they can be used for either protection or attack immediately, no extra prep needed. So in the Troll's find above you could get an AoO with either the Long sword, the Armour spikes or the shield. If you used the shield though you'd lose the shield bonus to AC.
| CountofUndolpho |
I'm not so tight I go for "able to attack with immediately" for wielding.
Unless it's for a cursed/aligned etc. weapon then I'd go for the making an attack/CMB roll with it.
EDIT:Having said that
The negative level remains as long as the weapon is in hand and disappears when the weapon is no longer wielded.
| Nicos |
Exhaltia wrote:CountofUndolpho wrote:Of course you're allowed your own rulings, but I believe there is a rule, or ruling, somewhere the specifically says you threaten with any and all weapons you wield. Since you would be wielding armor (with spikes) then you can make opportunity attacks with it.Exhaltia wrote:Not in my world, you can threaten with one but not the other - unless you can threaten with a sheathed weapon and quick-draw? Removing your hand/drawing your weapon with QD are both free actions not immediate ones.Edit - I do want to point out that the usefulness of spikes is still there, for instance you can still threaten within 5 feet if you have them equipped and are also using a reach weapon, just as if you're using an unarmed strike with improved unarmed.
If you are holding a reach weapon with 2H you are wielding that weapon and not the spikes. You would need to remove a hand from the 2H weapon to use the spikes/ready them for use, which is a free action. If, on the other hand, you are only holding the reach weapon one handed you can have the spikes readied but not the reach weapon - which would need two hands.
As per the FAQ if you can't use spikes for an attack whilst using both hands how then can they be counted as being wielded for an AoO?
THere is no such rule in the book, not even a hint. it is never stated that you can only threaten with only one weapon. You do not need to relase the grip from the polearm to wield the armor spikes.
Please if you have some wording from the book then show us.
| CountofUndolpho |
Do you have any wording to show me to prove your interpretation?
I have at least pointed out the only two weapons that state they can be used for off hand attacks whilst wielding a 2H weapon.
AoO says you threaten any square you can make an attack into, I am asking how do you define what can make an attack? Any weapon you have on your person or...?
Also can you point out where the bit that says you can use Armour Spikes with both hands on a Polearm is?
| Kolokotroni |
Now you are overinterpreting the ruling. You dont need hands to use the spikes. You just cant be USING your hands for other things. Switching which weapon you are weilding is free, the reason the ruling exists is because two weapon fighting explicately mentions the use of hands. Thats it. If you are not two weapon fighting, you can attack with whichever weapon you want. If you have 11 bab, you can do your +11 with a one handed weapon weilded in 2 hands, your +6 with the weapon in one hand and your +1 with armor spikes switching between them as a free action. The Handedness of weapons only matters when you are trying to gain more attacks then your bab normally grants you, such as through two weapon fighting.
| Nicos |
Do you have any wording to show me to prove your interpretation?
I have at least pointed out the only two weapons that state they can be used for off hand attacks whilst wielding a 2H weapon.AoO says you threaten any square you can make an attack into, I am asking how do you define what can make an attack? Any weapon you have on your person or...?
Also can you point out where the bit that says you can use Armour Spikes with both hands on a Polearm is?
There is no "off hand" attacks when making an AoO, in fact htere was this FAQ that stated that an AoO is outside the TWF routine and do not recive the -2 peanlty.
You state something as a rule and then do not provide any text to suppot your statement.
You can make a spiked armor attack even if you are using your two hands for soemthing else. jason Blumahn for exampel calrify that you can wield a long sword and shiled and TWF with the lonsword and the armor spikes and you still retaing hte shiel bonus.
So there is no free hand needed.
| fretgod99 |
I wasn't talking about the original debate but how it applies to the use of spikes and a 2H weapon on AoO's.
Whilst you have both tried to answer rather than saying "just cos". You seem to have missed my point.
In order to threaten you must be able to use the weapon(s) in question. If you have a long sword and a short sword in your hands, whether you have used all your iterative attacks or not, you are wielding them both. And so they can be used as AoO as they threaten. With me so far?If on the other hand you are using a 2H weapon and spikes you are either wielding the spikes or the 2H. If we were talking about a Barbezu beard it says in it's description you can use it for offhand attacks whilst using a 2H, same with Sea-Knife so I'd say fair enough, though you'd use the off hand penalties. I wouldn't like it but hey ho they are pretty obscure.
So barring those exceptions; to threaten with two weapons you need to have the option of a primary and an off hand available (I know you are not TWF in an AoO). Otherwise how can you wield them both?
Iterative attacks are a different matter, there is a mechanic already stated for that.
I didn't miss the point, I'm saying you're trying to create a distinction without a difference.
The question is can you "wield" another weapon when, for all intents and purposes, your available "attacks" have been used up. Attacks of Opportunity are necessarily different because they occur outside of your normal turn.
For instance, if you can only make 2 attacks during your turn (including TWF and whatever else you've got going on), you are not barred from making an AoO if you've already made two attacks. Similarly, if you normally could not attack with armor spikes because you've "used up" all your attacks during your turn by making all of your iteratives with a two-handed weapon, that has no impact whatsoever on how you may make your AoO. It is separate and distinct, just like iteratives are separate and distinct. How do you accept that you can make different iterative attacks with a two-handed weapon and armor spikes, but you cannot choose which one to make your AoO with?
If you're limited to a standard action and are wielding a two-handed weapon and armor spikes, are you prohibited from choosing to use the armor spikes? If so, you're going to have to explain that one to me. If not, why should an AoO be any different?
It's not "just 'cause" (and if that's what you got, then you missed my point). The only thing that this FAQ is relevant to is Two-Weapon Fighting. Two-Weapon Fighting is not relevant to Attacks of Opportunity, so the prohibition on using armor spikes while wielding a two-handed weapon is irrelevant. Two-Weapon Fighting penalties don't extend beyond your turn, so it stands to reason that other restrictions associated therewith do not, either.
| CountofUndolpho |
So you guys are saying that you don't need to wield a weapon to be able to threaten with it? Is that your contention or am I misunderstanding your points?
switching between them as a free action
So I could threaten with a sheathed weapon and quick draw?
I'm trying to think of a less evocative example than the spikes to get my point across but I'm only snatching minutes to look & post.
Malachi Silverclaw
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
So you guys are saying that you don't need to wield a weapon to be able to threaten with it? Is that your contention or am I misunderstanding your points?
Kolokotroni said wrote:switching between them as a free actionSo I could threaten with a sheathed weapon and quick draw?
I'm trying to think of a less evocative example than the spikes to get my point across but I'm only snatching minutes to look & post.
You do not threaten with sheathed weapons, even with Quick Draw, because in order to threaten with a weapon you must be able to attack with that weapon without needing to take extra actions between the provocation and the AoO. Quick Draw requires a free action, and you can't attack with a sheathed weapon until it is unsheathed, by taking that free action.
Therefore, sheathed weapons do not threaten.
| fretgod99 |
You can't make an AoO with a sheathed weapon because it's a free action to quick draw, which must be done on your turn. Armor Spikes are out. It's just like if you were wielding two swords.
If an Alchemist with one vestigial arm has a Greatsword in two hands and a Longsword in the third, the Alchemist cannot attack with both weapons in the same round via TWF, though s/he could attack with both via iteratives. However, the Alchemist could make an AoO with either weapon. It's the same with a regular character and a Greatsword and Armor Spikes/Boot Blade/Talons/Bite/etc.
You still have the Armor Spikes out and available to make an attack with. You are prohibited from attacking with Armor Spikes at the same time (i.e., Two-Weapon Fighting) as you attack with a Greatsword. Similarly, you are prohibited from attacking with a Greatsword if you've opted to attack with the Armor Spikes.
EDIT: When I say Boot Blade, I mean one that's already been deployed and is ready to attack.
| CountofUndolpho |
Fretgod99 so your contention is that the armour spikes are just always ready no matter what as far as AoOs are concerned, they need no "hands" and in fact you can be doing/using anything else with your multitude of limbs and they would still be available?
If you read back up by the way you will see I'm not making a point about iterative attacks, neither do I have a point about weapons held in different hands as your Alchemist is.
My point is if you are wielding an item that can only be wielded with 2 hands are you able to swap to another different item at will with no cost ..and back again, similarly with no cost? And does anyone have anything other than "cos for"/"it was in 3.5"/"we've always played it that way" to backup that contention?
| Crash_00 |
Mark Moreland ruled it the same way you have Count, so don't let them get to you. The issue comes down to whether a weapon is wielded just by holding it, or if it is wielded by having spent effort on it (they hate that phrase, but effort is important as the recent clarifications on the rulings have shown).
If you spend you primary and off hand to wield the pole arm, then you have no hand (primary or off) left to wield the armor spikes with.
Their claim is that Primary and Off Hand are only important to two weapon fighting, but it is just as important to two handed fighting (which requires both "hands" as well).
They say that the spikes are at the ready to make an attack, but that depends on whether you have to declare where your effort is currently being spent or not. I personally feel that you don't simply because it makes the game simpler and I'm a KISS fan. However, your way still makes sense, and at least one dev has agreed with it in the past.
Malachi Silverclaw
|
As an extra on the spikes front they have a specific addendum to say they can't be used before or after another secondary weapon. So would appear to take at least a little effort to use.
That text in the description of armour spikes simply re-iterates that you can only have one designated 'off hand' weapon in any single full attack in TWF.
| fretgod99 |
My point is if you are wielding an item that can only be wielded with 2 hands are you able to swap to another different item at will with no cost ..and back again, similarly with no cost? And does anyone have anything other than "cos for"/"it was in 3.5"/"we've always played it that way" to backup that contention?
You're trying to disassociate iteratives but this is why they're specifically relevant. This is why the Alchemist example was also specifically relevant. It's literally the same situation as Armor Spikes, except it's actual weapons so it's more difficult to dismiss.
Do you need an kind of effort to switch between attacks solely for iteratives? In the above example, would you have any issue with the Alchemist making the AoO with either of the two weapons in his/her hands? Why should the case for Armor Spikes be treated differently? You can't hand wave and say "I'm not talking about iteratives". You have to tell me why analogizing to iteratives isn't relevant or appropriate.
More over, how do you adjudicate which weapon is currently "being wielded"? If the character spent their entire last round attacking solely with the Armor Spikes (even while holding a two-handed weapon), would you deny the ability to make the AoO with Armor Spikes? What about with the two-handed weapon?
Once again, this isn't "just 'cause" (And please, if you're going to try to attribute the idea that I actually am making such a flippant response - which I'm not - could you at least spell it correctly? Your way is even more dismissive.). I'm analogizing the Armor Spikes situation to other situations for which the objection seems less apt. It's a sound method of logical argumentation. At no point have I ever said, "just 'cause", "that's how it was in 3.5", or "this is how I've always played it".
| Crash_00 |
The way I've seen this ruling work usually, fretgod, is that either the last weapon you attacked with is the one that you are "wielding" unless you spend your free actions to "readjust your grip" and wield another weapon. No matter which way you go, you're stuck with it until your next action where you get to go through all you actions again then choose what you are wielding with your "hands" (Primary and Off) until your next turn.
You can shift as much as you want during your turn (for iterative attacks and the like), but that choice at the end of you turn is important.
For a simple example, take a character wielding a longsword for example:
At the end of the turn the character has to decide between wielding his sword in one hand or two hands. He's stuck with that choice until his next action.
It's the same concept pretty much, and probably how the RAW should work in my opinion given recent rulings.
| fretgod99 |
The way I've seen this ruling work usually, fretgod, is that either the last weapon you attacked with is the one that you are "wielding" unless you spend your free actions to "readjust your grip" and wield another weapon. No matter which way you go, you're stuck with it until your next action where you get to go through all you actions again then choose what you are wielding with your "hands" (Primary and Off) until your next turn.
You can shift as much as you want during your turn (for iterative attacks and the like), but that choice at the end of you turn is important.
For a simple example, take a character wielding a longsword for example:
At the end of the turn the character has to decide between wielding his sword in one hand or two hands. He's stuck with that choice until his next action.It's the same concept pretty much, and probably how the RAW should work in my opinion given recent rulings.
*shrug* I can see that. Seems reasonable. If that's strictly construed it would make that whole question about reordering attacks for TWF rather important.
On the other hand, I wouldn't tell someone that they couldn't shield bash someone for an AoO if they hadn't in the turn before or, if they'd been limited to a standard attack but had two weapons out, I wouldn't limit which could be the attack (or two weapons out but took all their iteratives with one), and if a person intermixed their iteratives between Armor Spikes and a Greatsword, I wouldn't restrict which weapon they could make the AoO with. I know all those cases aren't precisely on point, but the logic seems to follow well enough to me. It's undoubtedly a grey area, I think.
It's not really going to hurt my feelings either way it would come down, though.
| Kolokotroni |
So you guys are saying that you don't need to wield a weapon to be able to threaten with it? Is that your contention or am I misunderstanding your points?
Kolokotroni said wrote:switching between them as a free actionSo I could threaten with a sheathed weapon and quick draw?
I'm trying to think of a less evocative example than the spikes to get my point across but I'm only snatching minutes to look & post.
No as others have said, the weapon has to be drawn. However, if you threatened with say an unarmed strike, you could as part of your attack of opportunity draw the weapon. But that is besides the point.
I dont disagree with you about the end result (you cant threaten with both at the same time), I simply do not think it is a matter of 'handedness' of the weapons, its about what it means to 'wield' a weapon, which is very commonly used but not clearly defined in the rules. Both armor spikes and unarmed strikes make this one complicated.
| CountofUndolpho |
@fretgod99 I agree with the shield bash after all you are wielding the shield whether or not you attacked with it. Similarly if you are using two weapons use whichever whether you attacked on your turn with one or both.
@crash00 You put that very well, better than I did by a fair way.
@Kolokotroni I was really using that as an example so we'd all consider how wielding worked, rather than because I thought quickdraw worked that way.
@Malachi I think the "vice versa" changes that interpretation
At the end of the day the armour spikes + 2H (edit) AoO argument is just about being able to threaten 10' and 5' at the same time, no one is going to hit with spikes over a 2H weapon by choice.
The whole definition of wielded is what makes it contentious which is at least an easy FAQ to do'
I think personally I would make all non-handed attacks should be counted as unarmed strikes either "armed" or not, I don't see why that should apply to gauntlets for punching but not Boulder Helmets for headbutting, for kicks but not boot knifes. It would solve the debate on AoO's at a stroke.
Thanks for bearing with me and debating the point!