Tiger Slash broken


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You make a fierce swipe with both hands. Make a tiger claw Strike. It deals two extra weapon damage dice (three extra dice if you’re 14th level or higher), and you can push the target 5 feet away as if you had successfully Shoved them. If the attack is a critical success and deals damage, add your Strength modifier to the persistent bleed damage from your tiger claw.

As has been clarified on these forums and elsewhere time and time again, unarmed attacks are not considered weapons, so why does it say "weapon damage dice" in the feat's text? What dice are we supposed to be using for that extra damage?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It seems obvious to me that they mean the Tiger Claw damage die, which is a d8. What else could they mean?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, I kind of figured that was the case, but still, what's obvious to you isn't necessarily so obvious to others. The wording remains...odd.

Thank you for answering the second question, but what about the first?


It says weapon damage dice in the feat text because despite the "Unarmed Attacks" paragraph on page 278 that is how weapons *and* unarmed attacks are uniformly described in tables 6-6 and 6-7.

Note that under "Weapon Statistics" and "Damage" on page 279 it explicictly states:

Quote:

Weapon Statistics
The tables on pages 280–282 list the statistics for various melee and ranged weapons that you can purchase, as well as the statistics for striking with a fist (or another basic unarmed attack). The tables present the following statistics. All weapons listed in this chapter have an item level of 0.

Damage
This entry lists the weapon’s damage die and the type of damage it deals: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing.

Damage Dice
Each weapon lists the damage die used for its damage roll. A standard weapon deals one die of damage, but a magical striking rune can increase the number of dice rolled, as can some special actions and spells. These additional dice use the same die size as the weapon or unarmed attack’s normal damage die.

I can see no wrong or broken wording here.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Thanks Ubertron_X! It does appear more consistent than I initially thought.


Ravingdork wrote:
Thanks Ubertron_X! It does appear more consistent than I initially thought.

Always glad to help when I mange to remember the relevant paragraphs.


Here I thought the thread was going to be about how it's broken because it can do 6 dice worth of weapon damage on an Attack that only counts as a single attack for MAP.


Aratorin wrote:
Here I thought the thread was going to be about how it's broken because it can do 6 dice worth of weapon damage on an Attack that only counts as a single attack for MAP.

Indeed, instead it sounds rather weak.


Atalius wrote:
Aratorin wrote:
Here I thought the thread was going to be about how it's broken because it can do 6 dice worth of weapon damage on an Attack that only counts as a single attack for MAP.
Indeed, instead it sounds rather weak.

Yeah. Maybe we should buff it a bit. Make it only cast one action so that the monk can swing it three times in a round. {/sarcasm}

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Tiger Slash broken All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion