Heal Spell


Rules Discussion


If I use 1 action I heal a range touched creature 1d8 HP.

If I use 2 actions I heal a creature within 30ft 1d8 + 8 HP?

If I use 3 actions I heal all creatures within 30 ft emanation 1d8 HP and damage all undead 1d8 HP?

Is that how the heal spell works?


When you cast it at 1st level, yes. You can use the one- and two-action versions to harm undead as well. Also, undead affected by the spell get a basic Fortitude save to mitigate the damage.

Sovereign Court

Staffan Johansson wrote:
When you cast it at 1st level, yes. You can use the one- and two-action versions to harm undead as well. Also, undead affected by the spell get a basic Fortitude save to mitigate the damage.

For the 3 action version is the 30 ft emanation healing 1d8+8?


I think the 1D8 + 8 healing is only for the 2 action, single target healing.

At level 3, does the heal spell heal 2d8 and 2d8 + 16 for the 2 action version?

Can you keep heightening this above 3rd level?


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Crexis wrote:

I think the 1D8 + 8 healing is only for the 2 action, single target healing.

At level 3, does the heal spell heal 2d8 and 2d8 + 16 for the 2 action version?

Can you keep heightening this above 3rd level?

"Heightened (+1)" means that you can cast this at every level, and for every level, you get the listed benefit.

A level 2 Heal therefore does 2d8 for the 1 and 3 action variants, and 2d8+16 for the 2 action.

A level 3 Heal does 3d8 or 3d8+24.

Liberty's Edge

Yes, a '+1' under Heightening means you can heighten it as much as you like in one level increments for the listed increased effect.

EDIT: Ninja'd. Ah, well.


So I'm going to raise this thread from the dead for a quick but possibly important question.

In the Targeting, it targets willing creatures. Is that fundamentally different for the 3-action version? Do creatures need to ID the spell to receive the benefits if they are foes?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
RaptorBonz wrote:

So I'm going to raise this thread from the dead for a quick but possibly important question.

In the Targeting, it targets willing creatures. Is that fundamentally different for the 3-action version? Do creatures need to ID the spell to receive the benefits if they are foes?

3-action Heal states that "This targets all living and undead creatures in the burst."

So, willing doesn't seem necessary. I know most people don't apply the willing part for a 3-action Heal and consider monsters get healed, too.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
SuperBidi wrote:
RaptorBonz wrote:

So I'm going to raise this thread from the dead for a quick but possibly important question.

In the Targeting, it targets willing creatures. Is that fundamentally different for the 3-action version? Do creatures need to ID the spell to receive the benefits if they are foes?

3-action Heal states that "This targets all living and undead creatures in the burst."

So, willing doesn't seem necessary. I know most people don't apply the willing part for a 3-action Heal and consider monsters get healed, too.

Yes, the 3 action changes the targeting of the spell so it no longer has to be a single willing target or a single undead target, it just has to be within 30'of the caster


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I need clarification on the 2 action part of the heal spell:
this is the verbiage i copied straight out of player core

HEAL [one-action] TO [three-actions] SPELL 1
HEALING MANIPULATE VITALITY
Traditions divine, primal

Range varies; Targets 1 willing living creature or 1 undead creature
You channel vital energy to heal the living or damage the
undead. If the target is a willing living creature, you restore
1d8 Hit Points. If the target is undead, you deal that amount
of vitality damage to it, and it gets a basic Fortitude save.
The number of actions you spend when Casting this Spell
determines its targets, range, area, and other parameters.

[one-action] The spell has a range of touch.

[two-actions] (concentrate) The spell has a range of 30 feet. If you’re
healing a living creature, increase the Hit Points restored
by 8.

[three-actions] (concentrate) You disperse vital energy in a 30-foot
emanation. This targets all living and undead creatures in
the burst.

Heightened (+1) The amount of healing or damage increases by
1d8, and the extra healing for the 2-action version increases
by 8

Does the 2 action cast of the spell only adds the 8 points of healing to living creatures? so a skeleton suffers the same damage from the spell no matter how many actions you cast it? (1d8?)


Correct. The two action version of the heal spell does not get a bonus to the damage it does to undead, nor does a two action harm spell get a bonus to damage against the living.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Heal Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.