Where is Step defined.


Monsters and Hazards


In the stat block for the goblins it says:

Goblin Scuttle
Trigger A goblin ally ends a move action adjacent to the warrior.
Effect The warrior Steps.

Anyone seen where the term "Steps" is defined?

In the main rule book under Other Movement Type pg 310 it mentions Step but doesn't say what it means or am I missing it?

In either case it should be easier to find.


I did see it somewhere but can’t remember where, sorry no access to the book atm. I believe it was an action that allowed a 5ft step without provoking any reactions, someone correct me if I’m not remembering fully or correctly.

Dark Archive

The Step action is on page 309 (307 Adobe Acrobat) of main Rulebook. "STEP
Requirements Your Speed is at least 10 feet.
You carefully move 5 feet. Unlike most types of movement,
Stepping doesn’t trigger reactions, such as Attacks of Opportunity,
based on move actions or on leaving or entering a square. You can’t
Step into difficult terrain or greater difficult terrain (see page 3120."


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

It should add "But see Feather Step on pg 166."


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Erdrix wrote:
In either case it should be easier to find.

The index in the back correctly lists it as being on page 308.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Interesting question: Does a goblin A taking a Step next to goblin B trigger goblin B's Goblin Scuttle ability, or is this prevented by the Step actions text "Stepping doesn’t trigger reactions, such as Attacks of Opportunity, based on move actions or on leaving or entering a square." Hmmm.


Thank you. I see it now. I looked in the Appendix 1 and 2 and brain farted and I thought it was the index. I figured I was just missing it.


Zaister wrote:
Interesting question: Does a goblin A taking a Step next to goblin B trigger goblin B's Goblin Scuttle ability, or is this prevented by the Step actions text "Stepping doesn’t trigger reactions, such as Attacks of Opportunity, based on move actions or on leaving or entering a square." Hmmm.

I would think that would definitely mean that...though given that Goblin Skuttle is itself a REaction, not an action -- a distinction that clear matters a great deal in the rules -- I'm not sure the Skuttle itself would fulfill the trigger of "A goblin ally ends a move action (emphasis mine) adjacent to the warrior" in the first place.

Either way, I don't see us having the problem of goblins shifting around forever like Starcraft units... :P

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Monsters and Hazards / Where is Step defined. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Monsters and Hazards