Bulk rules different

Running the Game

On page 17 of the PT rulebook, it states “If she is carrying a total amount of Bulk that equals or exceeds 5 plus her Strength modifier, she is encumbered.”

On page 175 under Bulk Limit, “You can carry an amount of Bulk equal to 5 plus your Strength modifier without penalty; if you carry more, you gain the encumbered condition.”

So with a Str modifier of 1, my bulk limit would be 6. Encumbered at 6 or 7 Bulk, what does everyone think?

1 person marked this as a favorite.

With no real basis in the rules because of that contradiction, I would lean toward being encumbered at 7 in your example. I don't see much reason not to go with the slightly more lenient approach.

Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Since this issue isn't corrected in the updated playtest rules (1.3), a friendly reminder for fixing this in the next edition.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Running the Game / Bulk rules different All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Running the Game