
Graelsis |

My question is very simple. I've been Reading the FAQ'S fórum, and i've found this.
Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?
Yes.
So, my question here is...do you think we can apply this to a small great axe wielded by a medium creature too? Following the corebook rules, a two handed weapon for small creatures can be wielded with one hand by medium creatures, but is still listed as a two handed weapon, so, does that mean i can apply my +50% damage when i'm using a smaller version of a two handed weapon that allows me to do so? or would it be consider a one handed weapon?
I dont want to fall into exploits though, but it's interesting for me since a warrior can use this kind of things to improve and personalice his or her combat style. Just like the official barbarian female character that wields a bastard sword of a big creature because she has the competence, and also she deals that +50%, even if his weapon is listed as one handed.

Baumfluch |
Weapons, Two-Handed in One Hand: When a feat or other special ability says to treat a weapon that is normally wielded in two hands as a one handed weapon, does it get treated as one or two handed weapon for the purposes of how to apply the Strength modifier or the Power Attack feat?If you're wielding it in one hand (even if it is normally a two-handed weapon), treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of how much Strength to apply, the Power Attack damage bonus, and so on.
the great axe is a two-handed weapon but you treat it as being one-handed because of your size compared to the weapons sice. Its not exactly a feat or a special ability like in the question, but honestly the result should be the same.
Its obviously not intended, except for two handed weapons for your size, that can be wielded in one hand such as a lance while mounted.
I dont know the barbarian build you refer to, but there is a "titan mauler" archetype that allows to wield two-handed-weapons of a size category larger then you. But you still wield them as two handed weapon.
the other ability allows him to wield two-handed weapons of his size as one-handed and it explicitly states that its treated as one-handed for things like strength mod and power attack.
So all in all: i´d say no. you treat that thing as one handed weapon in every way, even though its two handed if wielded by a creature of the apropiate size.

![]() |

The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all.
A Small Greataxe is a one-handed weapon in the hands of a medium creature, and only gets the +50% Power Attack bonus if actually wielded in two hands.
As I recall, the Iconic Barbarian is using a large Bastard Sword which goes from a one-handed exotic weapon to a Two Handed Exotic Weapon due to its size.
The FAQ is referring to specific cases like the Lance where the weapon can be wielded one-handed without changing its designation.

![]() |

No, the small great axe in the hands of a medium is a one-handed weapon.
That FAQ is explicitly about abilities like the lance ability. Try not to extend it to beyond the scope. If you can find an ability that says "wield in one hand" then yes. But to my knowledge, all other abilities say "wield one-handed" which is different.

Claxon |

Basically what happened is the lance has very specific wording "wield in one hand" whereas every other ability says something to the effect of "wield as a one-handed weapon".
While they seem similar, they are very very different.
One means "treat this as a one-handed weapon" the other means "this is a two-handed weapon that requires only one hand while mounted".