Craft wonderous item question


Rules Questions


Just had a question about crafting a Cakcling Hag's Blouse but it applies to all wonderous items. It says for the construction requirements:

CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS

Craft Wondrous Item, hideous laughter or the cackle hex, creator must have 5 ranks in Intimidate; Cost 3,000 gp.

Now I have the cackle hex which isn't a problem however I do not have 5ranks in Intimidate however my adventuring companion does. Say I didn't have the 5ranks how much would the total cost to craft this be?


your friend can't help you, they say the creator must have the intimidate ranks, but since its a wondrous item you can forget that requirement by upgrading the DC by 5 and the cost is still the same, you craft at half the price of the market price of an items


Thanks John! Could my Compsognathus aid me making the DC easier?


It wont make the actual DC any lower, but any reasonable help is allowed in making the check. Assuming you're going to be using Spellcraft though, you may want to check with your GM whether your shared skill ranks make the Familiar "trained".


VRMH wrote:
It wont make the actual DC any lower, but any reasonable help is allowed in making the check. Assuming you're going to be using Spellcraft though, you may want to check with your GM whether your shared skill ranks make the Familiar "trained".

they do and familiars are always treated as having the help master feat or what ever its called when helping their master craft items


So they would be able to provide the +2 aid another bonus to assist me?


yes


Familiars with the valet archetype have cooperative crafting as a bonus feat and can assist in crafting in several ways, other familiars not so much. In order to aid another on a skill check the aider muat be allowed to make the check for themselves, and default familiars cant craft items, so can't mame spellcraft rolls to aid either. There is some leeway for whomcan aid what, but it is firmly GM fiat.


Related Question:
Runestones of Power have as requisite that " creator must be able to spontaneously cast spells of the appropriate spell level". Similarly the Robe of Arcane Heritage requres the creator to be a sorceror. Can these similarly be sidestepped by simply adding 5 to the crafting DC?

What about Metamagical Rods?

In other words, can every requirement except for the Crafting Feat be ignored, or are there limits?


Core Rulebook, p. 549 wrote:
Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item’s creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.

General rule says that item creation feat is the only mandatory prerequisite. The specific rules for various types of items can be more restrictive, and I don't know if that's not a case of 'specific trumps general'. For example, in the case of rods it is said

Core Rulebook, p. 552 wrote:
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the rod, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require.

There's a similar rule for wondrous items:

Core Rulebook, p. 553 wrote:
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the item, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require.

However, no rule prohibits skipping the prerequisite of metamagic feat for metamagic rods, or prerequisite of general spellcasting ability for the wondrous items you mentioned.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
RoseCrown wrote:

Related Question:

Runestones of Power have as requisite that " creator must be able to spontaneously cast spells of the appropriate spell level". Similarly the Robe of Arcane Heritage requres the creator to be a sorceror. Can these similarly be sidestepped by simply adding 5 to the crafting DC?

What about Metamagical Rods?

In other words, can every requirement except for the Crafting Feat be ignored, or are there limits?

The only requirement that can not be skipped is the relevant item creation feat. Additionally, you can't skip the spell requirements for potions, scrolls, staves, wands, or any other spell-trigger or spell-completion magic item.

All other requirements can be skipped by adding +5 to the DC to craft.


Jeraa wrote:

The only requirement that can not be skipped is the relevant item creation feat. Additionally, you can't skip the spell requirements for potions, scrolls, staves, wands, or any other spell-trigger or spell-completion magic item.

All other requirements can be skipped by adding +5 to the DC to craft.

...apart from the Caster Level requirement for some Constructs.


Thank you for the prompt and clear answers everyone! :)


VRMH wrote:
Jeraa wrote:

The only requirement that can not be skipped is the relevant item creation feat. Additionally, you can't skip the spell requirements for potions, scrolls, staves, wands, or any other spell-trigger or spell-completion magic item.

All other requirements can be skipped by adding +5 to the DC to craft.

...apart from the Caster Level requirement for some Constructs.

caster level requirements can by bypassed for a +5 dc


Lady-J wrote:
caster level requirements can by bypassed for a +5 dc

Indeed. However, the rules were "updated" in Ultimate Magic:

Ultimate Magic wrote:
Each missing requirement increases the Craft DC by 5. Regardless, the creator must meet all item creation feats and minimum caster level requirements.


This is only for constructs, though, right? And only if the caster level is under requirements? (Gotta love unnecessarily divergent rules....)


blahpers wrote:
This is only for constructs, though, right? And only if the caster level is under requirements? (Gotta love unnecessarily divergent rules....)

That is my understanding.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, only for constructs. I was part of that discussion years ago when the rule came out.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Craft wonderous item question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions