Opportune parry and riposte block multiple AoO?


Rules Questions


so I had an idea for an NPC Fighter withe the Mobile Fighter Archtype. the tactic I wanted to employ was dashing in between enemies and giving them bleed damage however acrobatics an only get me so far against AoO for leaving a creatures threatened square so I gave him amatuer swahbuckler and the opportune parry and riposte to help.
Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity; for each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on this roll. If her result is greater than the attacking creature’s result, the creature’s attack automatically misses. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature’s attack is announced, but before its attack roll is made. Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried, provided that creature is within her reach. This deed’s cost cannot be reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the number of panache points a deed costs.
from what I can tell it should work against an AoO however my question is it say you can choose to spend an immediate action to attack back but if you don't does it take an action at all or just an AoO of your own? and can one do this multiple times with combat Reflexes?


You would only be able to attack back once due to its consuming your immediate action.

If you have combat reflexes though, and enough panache points, you could parry multiple attacks, AoO or otherwise, during a round.


Each parry attempt cost 1 panache, and uses up 1 attack of opportunity.

If you can make multiple AoO you can make multiple parries in a single round, but each will cost a point of panache.

If you successfully parry an attack, you can spend an immediate action (you only get one per round and it eats up your swift action next turn).


mmmmkay I see so it can be done but I can only retaliate with an attack once per round as I only get 1 immediate action, thanks peeps that helps a ton


2 people marked this as a favorite.

You can block exactly 0 attacks with Opportune Parry and Riposte using the feat Amateur Swashbuckler.
"Choose a 1st-level deed from the swashbuckler’s deeds class feature (you can’t select opportune parry and riposte). "


Might be worth it to just dip a level of swashbukler. Bigger panache pool, cha in place of int for feats, free weapon finesse, and EWP (whip) if you want it.


Mysterious Avenger

Edit: or Falcaya. Basically a longsword with better crit.

Falcata Swashbukler


Keep in mind that each move action only provokes once attack of opportunity per enemy.


And that they are free to not take it when they see it turns out badly for their friends.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
JoeElf wrote:

You can block exactly 0 attacks with Opportune Parry and Riposte using the feat Amateur Swashbuckler.

"Choose a 1st-level deed from the swashbuckler’s deeds class feature (you can’t select opportune parry and riposte). "

Just going to quote this again so it's not skipped over by the OP.

It's kind of important.


Cavall wrote:
JoeElf wrote:

You can block exactly 0 attacks with Opportune Parry and Riposte using the feat Amateur Swashbuckler.

"Choose a 1st-level deed from the swashbuckler’s deeds class feature (you can’t select opportune parry and riposte). "

Just going to quote this again so it's not skipped over by the OP.

It's kind of important.

BOLD ALL THE THINGS

im helping


Sayt wrote:
Keep in mind that each move action only provokes once attack of opportunity per enemy.

No, movement provokes only once (per enemy). If you double move you do not provoke twice.


Cavall wrote:
JoeElf wrote:

You can block exactly 0 attacks with Opportune Parry and Riposte using the feat Amateur Swashbuckler.

"Choose a 1st-level deed from the swashbuckler’s deeds class feature (you can’t select opportune parry and riposte). "

Just going to quote this again so it's not skipped over by the OP.

It's kind of important.

Use the dead tree version of the ACG at your own peril, the errata document is like 12 pages (and still didn't cover anything - e.g. the Unsworn Shaman archetype was finally clarified this April.)


thorin001 wrote:
Sayt wrote:
Keep in mind that each move action only provokes once attack of opportunity per enemy.
No, movement provokes only once (per enemy). If you double move you do not provoke twice.

I was meaning that each square of movement does not provoke an attack of opportunity, but you're quite right that a doublemove only provokes once.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Opportune parry and riposte block multiple AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.