
Dorian 'Grey' |
11 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Hello.
I am confused as to this paragraph:
The brawler can use this ability again before the duration expires in order to replace the previous combat feat with another choice.
It reads as if you may exchange feats every round for the one minute duration without expending more than the initial martial flexibility usage?

![]() |

Is that right? If so, Martial Flexibility is even better than I thought. I've been reading that sentence to just be clarifying that you can still use the ability even while it is active. It just replaces the existing feat and restarts the duration. But I haven't played my Brawler much, so I'm not really sure how it's meant to work.

fretgod99 |

I wouldn't have thought so. But I have nothing official to support this view. Though I also feel there's nothing official supporting the other view either.
I think this is one of those situations where both readings are completely valid on their face and there doesn't appear to be any implication anywhere else that I'm aware of which would indicate which of the two is the intended reading.
Might be a fair FAQ candidate, unless I'm missing something that would clarify it.

dragonhunterq |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I thought "use this ability" was pretty self-evident. When you use it, you burn a use.
She may use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + 1/2 her brawler level (minimum 4 times per day).
The brawler can use this ability again before the duration expires to replace the previous combat feat with another choice.
What support is there for the alternative reading?
(I'm not being obtuse, I do like to try to understand both sides of an argument)

![]() |

I thought "use this ability" was pretty self-evident. When you use it, you burn a use.
MV wrote:She may use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + 1/2 her brawler level (minimum 4 times per day).
The brawler can use this ability again before the duration expires to replace the previous combat feat with another choice.
What support is there for the alternative reading?
(I'm not being obtuse, I do like to try to understand both sides of an argument)
This is how I read it, too. To me there's nothing in there that implies that just because you use while it's already "turned on" doesn't mean that it doesn't expend a daily use.

Claxon |

dragonhunterq wrote:This is how I read it, too. To me there's nothing in there that implies that just because you use while it's already "turned on" doesn't mean that it doesn't expend a daily use.I thought "use this ability" was pretty self-evident. When you use it, you burn a use.
MV wrote:She may use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + 1/2 her brawler level (minimum 4 times per day).
The brawler can use this ability again before the duration expires to replace the previous combat feat with another choice.
What support is there for the alternative reading?
(I'm not being obtuse, I do like to try to understand both sides of an argument)
Yeah, that's also how I've always read it.

Chess Pwn |

A brawler can take a move action to gain the benefit of a combat feat she doesn't possess. This effect lasts for 1 minute. The brawler must meet all the feat's prerequisites. She may use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + 1/2 her brawler level (minimum 1).
The brawler can use this ability again before the duration expires in order to replace the previous combat feat with another choice.
Each individual feat selected counts toward her daily uses of this ability.
So the reading is the ability is the using as a move action to gain a feat you don't have. That when you activate it again since you are replacing, you're not triggering a separate use, and that you'd have it for the remaining duration from the first use, since the feat was just replaced, but you're still only gaining 1 feat you didn't have for 1 minute. Then since later one "use" of the ability costs two uses it gives the idea that uses are tied to how many minutes you can have an extra feat and not how many times you actually trigger the ability.
EDIT: I feel if their intent was that you could spend another use to end the previous early and start a new one that they could have said, "If this ability is used more than once only the most recent activation takes effect."

Chess Pwn |

You're still only gaining/benefiting/having more than normal 1 feat from the ability. You had one for 5 rounds and switched to a different one for 5 rounds, the ability still gave you 1 minute where you had one feat you don't possess.
Similar to changing the target of spiritual weapon. You only have 1 weapon for the duration, but you can change the target with a different target in range.