Attack of opportunity on spells


Rules Questions


Just wondering what the forums think on this. Would you take an attack of opportunity on scorching ray if you successfully cast it defensively. Reason being you have to make a ranged touch attack as part of the spell.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes. If within threatened range. The ranged attack still provokes, even if the spell is cast defensively.

Liberty's Edge

Agreed with Dave Baker


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If you don't cast defensively would you then provoke twice for people with combat reflexes?

Silver Crusade

Gamerskum wrote:
If you don't cast defensively would you then provoke twice for people with combat reflexes?

Yes.

Grand Lodge

The FAQ says yes.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Agreed. Also this should be in the Rules Questions forum.

Liberty's Edge

Ludicrous FAQ, but yes.

Sczarni

Sebastian Hirsch wrote:
Gamerskum wrote:
If you don't cast defensively would you then provoke twice for people with combat reflexes?

Yes.

No.

Failure to cast defensively means losing the spell, not incurring an Attack of Opportunity.


Not a failure to cast defensivly, just not doing it.

Silver Crusade

5 people marked this as a favorite.

To clear up the previous two posts:

If you attempt to cast defensively and fail the roll, the spell is lost. It isn't cast but the slot is used up. There is no provocation.

If you cast a spell while threatened without attempting to cast defensively, you provoke an attack of opportunity.

And, from earlier:

If you make a ranged attack while threatened, you provoke an attack of opportunity. This is a separate provocation from the casting of a spell, and so both would apply. An opponent with Combat Reflexes could hit you twice.


And to add to that, if you happen to be high enough to fire multiple rays, each ray provokes an AoO.

Multiple ranged attacks in a round count as multiple separate threats.

Sczarni

That would be incorrect, regarding Scorching Ray.


Hmmmm. When they said it wasn't simultaneous for things like sneak attack, the logical conclusion was that it wasn't simultaneous for things like provoking as well.

Liberty's Edge

Note that if you are hit by the AoO for the ranged attack you don't risk to lose the spell. It has already been cast.


This was clearly done for a balance reason, not for verisimilitude.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attack of opportunity on spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions