Magus Spell Strike How Many Attacks


Rules Questions


So using spell combat a lvl 2 magus can make 2 attacks 1 with his weapon and one "casting his spell"

using spell strike does he get two weapon attacks? or just one with the spell attached


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

One with spell attached

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Assuming of course the spell is a touch attack spell.


a player at my table is convinced he gets 2 weapon attacks one with the spell and then a second without


To fully break it down.

Level 2 Magus has one attack when taking a full attack action.

Thus with Spell Combat, he casts a spell and gets one attack (or vice versa; attack then spell).

If any character casts a touch spell, he gets a free action touch attack to deliver that spell within the same round. Spellstrike allows you to replace that touch attack (which any character has) with a weapon attack. Thus you would get two weapon attacks (one with the spell as a rider), instead of one weapon attack and one touch attack.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It's like Two Weapon Fighting.

The Magus gets two attacks.

For those without experience playing a Magus, I highly recommend Grick's Guide.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Spellstrike doesn't grant any attacks. It just lets you use a weapon to deliver touch attacks that you already could make.

To understand Spell Combat and Spellstrike, I highly recommend Grick's Guide to Touch Spells, Spellstrike, and Spell Combat.

Edit: 9 second ninja'd by Brevick Axeflail. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Spell Strike How Many Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.