| Shiroi |
Shiroi wrote:I couldn't help chuckle at your post, considering this is how I interpret it as well.It feels clear to me based on this sentence, that there are THREE options for how the activation presents.
1. Command Word
2. Continual
3. Other/Unusual/Described
Then your prescription to remove the 'Continual' section of the text was less an interpretation of the existing phrase, and more an attempt to better word it on behalf of the devs? A way you feel it should be worded, rather than how you feel it is currently? I could see that. It wasn't well represented in your posts, but I can see where it also wasn't contradicted anywhere in them either. I simply assumed you felt the section wasn't necessary to the grammatical flow of the paragraph, based on your viewpoint and how you approached it. The snippet of text comes close to not being important anyways, by a word or two, or the placement of a few punctuation marks.
| _Ozy_ |
I am not adding a rule(intention). If you think I am incorrect then we can FAQ that.Are you saying the "intent" of the rules is for the spell to keep going, even if you remove the ring?
PS:If you say "yes" then I completely understand why but I am sure the PDT team will not take that stance.
How could it be any other way? If a command word activated item grants you a spell effect with a specific duration, why on earth would it matter if you removed the ring? You're not activating it every round, just the once to get the spell effect. If you're not activating the ring, why does it need to be worn?
Yes, I understand that, thematically, it's goofy to remove your ring of invisibility once you activate it, but clearly RAW is more important than thematic sense.
You claim that you are not 'adding a rule', so what rule are you invoking that would end the spell effect before the duration expired? A link to the RAW would be helpful.
RAI-wise? Who knows. A couple of days ago, I would have maintained that the PDT would have said that, RAI, you don't need to keep reactivating the ring of invisibility, so clearly I have no particular insight as to what they consider RAI.
Malachi Silverclaw
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Sure, I completely agree that the ring must be worn to be used. But I don't see anything that explicitly states that the ring doesn't require a command word to activate.
The section on rings says that they are usually command word or continuous.
The general rules for magic item activation has two possible activation methods that could apply to this ring: command word or use activated. These are two separate rules paragraphs.
The ring is most definately the poster child for use activated, therefore it is not command word activated. It's the poster child for the kind of use activated item that needs to be worn and then activated.
But wait! This kind of item can still be command word activated, right?
Although this activation sometimes requires a command word (see above), usually it means mentally willing the activation to happen. The description of an item states whether a command word is needed in such a case.
So, RAW, for this kind of item it's usually mentally activated but sometimes command word activated. However, if it is command word activated, 'The description of an item states whether a command word is needed in such a case'.
Since this ring explicitly falls under this category and the description does not state command word, then it cannot be command word and must be mentally activated.
| wraithstrike |
wraithstrike wrote:
I am not adding a rule(intention). If you think I am incorrect then we can FAQ that.Are you saying the "intent" of the rules is for the spell to keep going, even if you remove the ring?
PS:If you say "yes" then I completely understand why but I am sure the PDT team will not take that stance.
How could it be any other way? If a command word activated item grants you a spell effect with a specific duration, why on earth would it matter if you removed the ring? You're not activating it every round, just the once to get the spell effect. If you're not activating the ring, why does it need to be worn?
Yes, I understand that, thematically, it's goofy to remove your ring of invisibility once you activate it, but clearly RAW is more important than thematic sense.
You claim that you are not 'adding a rule', so what rule are you invoking that would end the spell effect before the duration expired? A link to the RAW would be helpful.
RAI-wise? Who knows. A couple of days ago, I would have maintained that the PDT would have said that, RAI, you don't need to keep reactivating the ring of invisibility, so clearly I have no particular insight as to what they consider RAI.
Actually I am pretty good at figuring out RAI, even if the RAW is not clear or actually goes against it.
Some things are not directly written because the devs assume we can figure them out. I don't need RAW to tell me that if I stop wearing an item I don't get the benefits of it.
| wraithstrike |
HangarFlying wrote:Sure, I completely agree that the ring must be worn to be used. But I don't see anything that explicitly states that the ring doesn't require a command word to activate.The section on rings says that they are usually command word or continuous.
The general rules for magic item activation has two possible activation methods that could apply to this ring: command word or use activated. These are two separate rules paragraphs.
The ring is most definately the poster child for use activated, therefore it is not command word activated. It's the poster child for the kind of use activated item that needs to be worn and then activated.
But wait! This kind of item can still be command word activated, right?
Use Activated wrote:Although this activation sometimes requires a command word (see above), usually it means mentally willing the activation to happen. The description of an item states whether a command word is needed in such a case.So, RAW, for this kind of item it's usually mentally activated but sometimes command word activated. However, if it is command word activated, 'The description of an item states whether a command word is needed in such a case'.
Since this ring explicitly falls under this category and the description does not state command word, then it cannot be command word and must be mentally activated.
Malachi do you think the magic item, such as hat of disguise or ring of invisibility must continue to be worn in order for you to keep benefiting form the affect it provides?
I am just repeating because I asked you upthread and you probably missed it.
| Gaberlunzie |
Malachi do you think the magic item, such as hat of disguise or ring of invisibility must continue to be worn in order for you to keep benefiting form the affect it provides?I am just repeating because I asked you upthread and you probably missed it.
As far as I've understood it, Malachi's claim is that _command word_ items do not need to be worn to keep benefitting from them, and as such _if_ the RoI or HoD were command word item they could be passed around. But, their stance also includes that the RoI is not a command word item, but a use activated item that also needs mental activation. Hence, it would need to be continuously worn to keep benefitting from it.
Their argument on being able to take it off and pass it around was a counter-argument to the claim that it was a command word item. If it was a command word item, you would be able to pass it around, like with say a pair of Vampiric Gloves.
On the whole, I must say that for once I agree fully with Malachi. That's got to be a first :)
| thejeff |
| 6 people marked this as a favorite. |
Gauss wrote:I wonder if the Devs read threads like this and just laugh at us fighting like dogs over a tiny bone.I think it is more like why do so many read the rules so pedantically?
OTOH, if you don't read the rules pedantically you don't get to the Invisibility from the ring only lasts 3 minutes.
That's the problem. You have to read the rules pedantically, but only so pedantically. You can't use common sense or you'll get them wrong, but you have to or you'll get them wrong.
| wraithstrike |
wraithstrike wrote:
Malachi do you think the magic item, such as hat of disguise or ring of invisibility must continue to be worn in order for you to keep benefiting form the affect it provides?I am just repeating because I asked you upthread and you probably missed it.
As far as I've understood it, Malachi's claim is that _command word_ items do not need to be worn to keep benefitting from them, and as such _if_ the RoI or HoD were command word item they could be passed around. But, their stance also includes that the RoI is not a command word item, but a use activated item that also needs mental activation. Hence, it would need to be continuously worn to keep benefitting from it.
Their argument on being able to take it off and pass it around was a counter-argument to the claim that it was a command word item. If it was a command word item, you would be able to pass it around, like with say a pair of Vampiric Gloves.
On the whole, I must say that for once I agree fully with Malachi. That's got to be a first :)
I want to hear Malachi say you can pass command word items around that duplicate spell affects so he can't say "but I did not say that.
@Malachi: Do you think it is RAI for a magic item such as the ring of invis or hat of disguise to be mentally activated?
| wraithstrike |
Personally the mental activation might be possible I will have to look at the rules, but as for passing the item around, I do want an answer for that since he challenged me on the issue. On the other hand if he was just disagreeing to prove another point we can move on to something that matters ie "he actually thinks is true".
edit:
Activation: A ring's ability is usually activated by a spoken command word (a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity) or its effects work continually. Some rings have unusual activations, as mentioned in the ring's specific description.
The specific ring rules call out a "spoken command word". It then says some have unusual activation methods. The ring does not have any usual methods listed, and we know it is not continuous so it defaults back to "command word". Since the ring rules would trump the general magic item rules because specific beats general.
edit2: The hat of disguise I can buy being mentally activated because it does not say a command word is needed, and the general rules for wondrous items say use activated or command word.
| Chemlak |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
I think I'm pretty much in team Malachi, right now (I certainly believe that the ring falls into the "worn, then activated mentally" category).
Regarding the ability to trigger an item and then pass it around, I present the following:
Many magic items need to be donned by a character who wants to employ them or benefit from their abilities. It's possible for a creature with a humanoid-shaped body to wear as many as 15 magic items at the same time. However, each of those items must be worn on (or over) a particular part of the body, known as a slot.A humanoid-shaped body can be decked out in magic gear consisting of one item from each of the following groups, keyed to which slot on the body the item is worn.
Now, this is mildly convoluted, but since rings are a slot-item, and "these items must be worn on [...] a particular part of the body" and "need to be donned [to] benefit from their abilities", does it follow that rings need to be worn on a particular part of the body to benefit from their abilities?
| Gauss |
People are still arguing that this is Use Activated? Despite official statements to the contrary in both 3.5 and PF? Just...wow.
The price is 10,800gp before they raised it to 20,000gp folks. 10,800gp is "Command Word", not "Use Activated or Continuous". It cannot get any clearer. If it were "Use Activated" the price would have started at 24,000gp before being raised to...whatever.
There is nothing in the text for "Command Word" that allows mental activation. That is an aspect of "Use Activated" which this item is not priced at.
If you are going to argue RAW you might at least want to be in the correct section (Command Word).
Here are the facts:
1) In both 3.5 and Pathfinder the Developers explained that the pricing is 10,800gp before being raised to 20,000gp (In PF this is found on page118 of the GameMastery Guide). This correctly matches the pricing for Command Word (2*3*1800=10800).
So, the ring is Command Word.
2) Command Word states that if no activation method is stated in the item description then assume a command word is needed to activate it.
3) There is nothing in the text for "Command Word" that allows mental activation. That is an element of the rules for "Use Activated".
4) If the Ring of Invisibility specified a mental activation then you could use that, but it doesn't. There is no text that specifies an activation method so you MUST use the default, Command Word.
5) People are just upset to learn that their favorite item to maintain perma-invis while scouting never worked the way they thought it did. Too bad, it happens.
Yes, it sucks you have to give a verbal command while scouting. So, don't use the Ring of Invisbility if you want to scout longer than 3 minutes and people can hear you. Or, you can houserule it and move on.
Summary: The Ring is, and has been since at least 3.5, Command Word activated with a duration of 3minutes. Deal with it, houserule it, or petition Paizo to change the activation method.
But, arguing it is mentally activated is grasping at straws as there is nothing in the rules to support that. (Saying it is Use Activated and then trying to use those rules does not make it true, it is priced as Command Word.)
| wraithstrike |
Now, this is mildly convoluted, but since rings are a slot-item, and "these items must be worn on [...] a particular part of the body" and "need to be donned [to] benefit from their abilities", does it follow that rings need to be worn on a particular part of the body to benefit from their abilities?
Thanks for the assist. I think that gets rid of the "pass around" idea. Now I just need to relocate any dev post saying the ring uses a command word.
Malachi Silverclaw
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
wraithstrike wrote:
Malachi do you think the magic item, such as hat of disguise or ring of invisibility must continue to be worn in order for you to keep benefiting form the affect it provides?I am just repeating because I asked you upthread and you probably missed it.
As far as I've understood it, Malachi's claim is that _command word_ items do not need to be worn to keep benefitting from them, and as such _if_ the RoI or HoD were command word item they could be passed around. But, their stance also includes that the RoI is not a command word item, but a use activated item that also needs mental activation. Hence, it would need to be continuously worn to keep benefitting from it.
Their argument on being able to take it off and pass it around was a counter-argument to the claim that it was a command word item. If it was a command word item, you would be able to pass it around, like with say a pair of Vampiric Gloves.
Spot on!
On the whole, I must say that for once I agree fully with Malachi. That's got to be a first :)
Who are you? Have we crossed swords in a thread before? : )
| wraithstrike |
An example is the ring of invisibility, with a calculated price of 10,800 gp, but a book value of 20,000 gp
In case anyone needs the math broken down for them:
2*3*1800=10800
6*1800=10800
10800=10800
PRD= "Command word Spell level × caster level × 1,800 gp"
Skip also said the same thing in a 3.5 article he wrote while still employed with WoTC.
Malachi Silverclaw
|
Gaberlunzie wrote:wraithstrike wrote:
Malachi do you think the magic item, such as hat of disguise or ring of invisibility must continue to be worn in order for you to keep benefiting form the affect it provides?I am just repeating because I asked you upthread and you probably missed it.
As far as I've understood it, Malachi's claim is that _command word_ items do not need to be worn to keep benefitting from them, and as such _if_ the RoI or HoD were command word item they could be passed around. But, their stance also includes that the RoI is not a command word item, but a use activated item that also needs mental activation. Hence, it would need to be continuously worn to keep benefitting from it.
Their argument on being able to take it off and pass it around was a counter-argument to the claim that it was a command word item. If it was a command word item, you would be able to pass it around, like with say a pair of Vampiric Gloves.
On the whole, I must say that for once I agree fully with Malachi. That's got to be a first :)
I want to hear Malachi say you can pass command word items around that duplicate spell affects so he can't say "but I did not say that.
@Malachi: Do you think it is RAI for a magic item such as the ring of invis or hat of disguise to be mentally activated?
You deserve a precise answer, Wraithstrike, and that takes more than a simple yes or no.
For worn items that need to be activated, there are two possibilities:-
• they can be effectively switched on or off, like a torch. While switch on (activated), the wearer benefits from the magic. Since wearing the activated item grants the benefit, then if you take them off then you stop benefitting. Such items grant you the benefit as if your were under a particular spell effect, like being invisible, blurred, ethereal, whatever. These items don't have a duration (unless they say they do), their duration is simply 'when activated'. The ring of invisibility is of this type.
• they allow the wearer to use the item to 'cast a spell' as a SLA that doesn't require concentration. Such items are 'used' by 'activating' them, as opposed to by wearing them. They must be worn to be 'used', but 'using' them is simply getting them to cast their spell. These items have the parameters of a cast spell in terms of duration, target, etc. But after activating them you are no longer 'using' the item, even though you might be the subject of the spell it cast. In this case, removing the item after you have already 'used' it in no way affects the spell that has already been cast.the item just let's you create the magical effect, and once 'cast' only stops when the spell itself would stop. If the item can be used without limit, then someone else can also 'use' it to cast its spell and this has no way of affecting the previous casting (unless the spell description says it would).
I do not believe that the ring is of the second type, but if it were, then it would obey those rules, the consequences of which include a three minute duration, cast as either a personal or touch range effect, and 'using' it meaning 'casting the spell/SLA', thus not tying the wearing of it to maintaining the spell.
So how do we know which type a worn item is? Well, if it explicitly says one or the other, that's a big help! : )
Otherwise, certain phraseology evolved. If it says something like, 'Upon command the wearer can use (this spell) 3/day', then it's the second type, allows the wearer to 'cast' a spell using the normal rules for SLAs, and 'using' it is the same as 'activating' it. Wearing the item is a prerequisite for 'using' it, but once 'cast' then the effect lasts just like the spell, and continuing to wear it is irrelavent.
If it uses phrases like, 'While worn the wearer benefits from (this magical state)', then it's the first type. It may also say something like, 'The wearer of this item may (act as if under this spell effect)', and this also indicates the first type, i.e. must continue to be worn, no duration other than 'while worn', or in some cases, 'while worn and activated'.
So what about the hat and the ring? Which type ae they?
This apparently normal hat allows its wearer to alter her appearance as with a disguise self spell.
So it's the first type. It doesn't let you 'cast' the spell. It isn't 'used' by casting disguise self the spell on you, fire and forget. No, while you wear it you may command it (this definately is the kind of use activated item that requires a command word) to alter your appearance in the same way that someone under the effects of the spell can alter his appearance. Hence, no duration but the hat must continue to be worn.
What about the ring?
By activating this simple silver ring, the wearer can benefit from invisibility, as the spell.
The wearer can benefit from the state of being invisible, and that state is described in the text of that spell. It doesn't 'cast' invisibility on you, nor allow the wearer to 'cast' it. It simply makes the wearer invisible when activated. It's the first type, so it needs to continue to be worn but the only duration is between activating it and either de-activating it, removing the ring (because it only affects someone who's wearing it), or attacking (because that is the kind of invisibility it bestows, check the spell description).
Here's an example of the other type:/
This ring allows the caster to use the spell telekinesis on command.
So, upon cammand, the wearer can 'cast' (it even actually says 'caster') the spell as an SLA. Once cast, it works just like any other spell/SLA, and once cast it only ends when the spell would end: it's duration runs out, you lose concentration, it is dispelled or you used the instantaneous version. Removing the ring is not defined in the came as a way the spell ends. In this respect, it's like a wand or a scroll; the source of the spell effect is of absolutely no relevance once the spell is 'cast'.
Malachi Silverclaw
|
People are still arguing that this is Use Activated?
You must have missed some posts. The rules at the beginning of the magic item chapter in the CRB were copy/paste from the 3.5 DMG. The only difference is that PF were not allowed to use the examples that the DMG used.
The ring of invisibility is actually one of those examples, but not an example of a command word item but of a use activated item.
Specifically, in the section of use activated items, it says that some items just need to be worn (it gives the Headband of Intellect as an example of one of those), some just need to be on your person (Pearl of Power is the example), and some need to be worn and then activated (and the example given is the Ring of Invisibility!).
So yes, we are continuing to say that it's use activated, just like explicitly written in the 3.5 DMG. There is no difference at all in these rules between 3.5 and PF; they were copy/paste. They only left out the examples.
I'm sorry I can't link to my post where I quoted it, but you can find it easily enough, or even check out a physical copy of the 3.5 DMG (page 213, under 'Use Activated') to see for yourself.
| thejeff |
Personally I think the entire "use activated" category should be gutted. There should be no "use activated" items that activate merely by being worn or by mental command.
Continuous items should be always on when worn.
Use activated items should trigger on certain conditions - "drink a potion, swing a sword, interpose a shield to deflect a blow in combat, look through a lens, sprinkle dust"
Command word items should need to be worn, if they're wearable items, and should not include self-buff items unless they have limited uses.
Unlimited self-buff items should be continuous.
| Shiroi |
Personally I think the entire "use activated" category should be gutted. There should be no "use activated" items that activate merely by being worn or by mental command.
Continuous items should be always on when worn.
Use activated items should trigger on certain conditions - "drink a potion, swing a sword, interpose a shield to deflect a blow in combat, look through a lens, sprinkle dust"
Command word items should need to be worn, if they're wearable items, and should not include self-buff items unless they have limited uses.Unlimited self-buff items should be continuous.
I feel like there should still be one more category of unlimited self buff things being mentally toggleable. If I'm paralyzed and can't get my ring of invisibility off, it can be fatal. It should be more expensive than a continuous use item to have a toggleable one, but I feel the option should exist. Same (worse) problem if I have an armor that makes me a fire elemental. If it's continuous, how do my allies get it off when I'm passed out? Toggleable might save my life, and lets me use my armor and not feel naked in a city, while not being an elder elemental in a fine china store.
| Gaberlunzie |
Malachi, while I agree with your stance, I don't think you should use the word "SLA" as an analogy of how command word items work; SLAs are a specific and distinctly different thing, and while they are similar, using the word SLA gives the wrong connotations.
And I don't know if we've crossed swords, but I'm a very long time lurker and tend to not agree with you on a lot of things.
| _Ozy_ |
Chemlak wrote:Thanks for the assist. I think that gets rid of the "pass around" idea. Now I just need to relocate any dev post saying the ring uses a command word.
Now, this is mildly convoluted, but since rings are a slot-item, and "these items must be worn on [...] a particular part of the body" and "need to be donned [to] benefit from their abilities", does it follow that rings need to be worn on a particular part of the body to benefit from their abilities?
It absolutely does not get rid of the pass around idea. The ring has to be worn in order to activate the invisibility, that is clear, and that is what having a 'slotted' item is all about.
Otherwise the ring could be in your backpack and you could command word activate it.
The issue is that people claim that the duration of invisibility is as per the spell. In this case, where are the rules that say a command word activated spell ability is terminated if the item is removed?
In fact, if you look at the vampiric gloves, the item specifically says that if you activate the gloves, miss with the attack and are 'holding the charge', if you remove the gloves you lose the charge.
Why did they included these words if it they didn't need to? Since the gloves are specifically calling out a termination of the spell effect upon removal, then it clearly falls into the category as an exception to the general rule, unless specified otherwise, spell effects triggered by command word items last their normal duration.
| _Ozy_ |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Vampiric Gloves actually cast the spell. Typically once a spell is cast, you can do whatever with it. You're right that Vampiric Gloves are an exception to a rule, you're just incorrect on which rule they're an exception to.
Show me the rules difference between the two. Go to the magic item creation chart, find 'command word' activation, and show me how to create an item that 'casts the spell' compared to what you claim the ring of invisibility does.
They both either cast the spell, or they both don't. They are created in the exact same manner with the exact same rules.
Edit: for that matter, show me in the description where it says that the gloves 'cast the spell'. Here it is:
Three times per day, the wearer can use vampiric touch and bleed. If the wearer uses vampiric touch and holds the charge, the charge dissipates if the gloves are removed.
Where's the 'cast a spell' language?
| BigDTBone |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Gauss wrote:I wonder if the Devs read threads like this and just laugh at us fighting like dogs over a tiny bone.I think it is more like why do so many read the rules so pedantically?
Because the game has over 2000 pages as rules content. A certain amount of pedantry is required. This is doubly so when a ruling comes down that changes someone's understanding of the rules.
| _Ozy_ |
For that matter, the rest of the Vampiric Gloves description is also relevant:
Though vampiric touch is normally a touch attack, the wearer may instead use that ability as a ranged touch attack with a range of 30 feet, but only against a dying target or a target suffering from a bleed effect. When using vampiric touch in this way, the wearer may hold the charge on a missed ranged touch attack.
If the wearer is suffering from a bleed effect, he may expend one use of vampiric touch to end the bleed effect.
If the gloves were casting the 'Vampiric Touch' spell, not only would he not be able to use it at range, it wouldn't be able to expend one use to end a bleed effect.
So clearly the gloves do not cast 'Vampiric Touch', they just activate the ability as described by the item.
| thejeff |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
fretgod99 wrote:Vampiric Gloves actually cast the spell. Typically once a spell is cast, you can do whatever with it. You're right that Vampiric Gloves are an exception to a rule, you're just incorrect on which rule they're an exception to.Show me the rules difference between the two. Go to the magic item creation chart, find 'command word' activation, and show me how to create an item that 'casts the spell' compared to what you claim the ring of invisibility does.
They both either cast the spell, or they both don't. They are created in the exact same manner with the exact same rules.
Of course, now we're in "This ability says "X" happens when you do "Y". This other ability does not explicitly say that "X" happens when you do "Y", therefore it doesn't because otherwise they would have written it in."
That's a very dangerous extrapolation to make. The rules simply aren't written with the level of consistency to allow you to infer from absence in one case and presence in another.
| _Ozy_ |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
_Ozy_ wrote:fretgod99 wrote:Vampiric Gloves actually cast the spell. Typically once a spell is cast, you can do whatever with it. You're right that Vampiric Gloves are an exception to a rule, you're just incorrect on which rule they're an exception to.Show me the rules difference between the two. Go to the magic item creation chart, find 'command word' activation, and show me how to create an item that 'casts the spell' compared to what you claim the ring of invisibility does.
They both either cast the spell, or they both don't. They are created in the exact same manner with the exact same rules.
Of course, now we're in "This ability says "X" happens when you do "Y". This other ability does not explicitly say that "X" happens when you do "Y", therefore it doesn't because otherwise they would have written it in."
That's a very dangerous extrapolation to make. The rules simply aren't written with the level of consistency to allow you to infer from absence in one case and presence in another.
I agree, that language by itself isn't definitive, merely suggestive and supportive.
More definitive are the rules that spell effects with a specific duration don't terminate early unless otherwise specified. Removing an article of clothing is not one of those specifications.
| _Ozy_ |
Consider the Ring of Animal Friendship:
A ring of animal friendship always bears some sort of animal-like design in its craftsmanship. On command, this ring affects an animal as if the wearer had cast charm animal, causing the animal to regard the wearer as a trusted friend.
So again, clearly the spell is not cast, but the effect is generated as if the spell were cast. This is what people are claiming for the ring of invisibility.
Are people claiming that if the person removes the ring, the charm animal effect is ended?
| thejeff |
Consider the Ring of Animal Friendship:
Quote:A ring of animal friendship always bears some sort of animal-like design in its craftsmanship. On command, this ring affects an animal as if the wearer had cast charm animal, causing the animal to regard the wearer as a trusted friend.So again, clearly the spell is not cast, but the effect is generated as if the spell were cast. This is what people are claiming for the ring of invisibility.
Are people claiming that if the person removes the ring, the charm animal effect is ended?
OTOH, I'm not really comfortable arguing that the charm from Ring of Animal Friendship shouldn't follow the duration of the spell. On the gripping hand, that one's far more explicit about "as if the wearer had cast charm animal", compared to "wearer can benefit from invisibility, as the spell."
| _Ozy_ |
_Ozy_ wrote:OTOH, I'm not really comfortable arguing that the charm from Ring of Animal Friendship shouldn't follow the duration of the spell. On the gripping hand, that one's far more explicit about "as if the wearer had cast charm animal", compared to "wearer can benefit from invisibility, as the spell."Consider the Ring of Animal Friendship:
Quote:A ring of animal friendship always bears some sort of animal-like design in its craftsmanship. On command, this ring affects an animal as if the wearer had cast charm animal, causing the animal to regard the wearer as a trusted friend.So again, clearly the spell is not cast, but the effect is generated as if the spell were cast. This is what people are claiming for the ring of invisibility.
Are people claiming that if the person removes the ring, the charm animal effect is ended?
Certainly, but the item is either a command activated item or it isn't. There are no rules to distinguish between the the 'fluff' language you called out, unless something really is a 'spell trigger' item like a wand, in which case you would need the spell on your spell list, and so on.
Ring of Invisibility: command word
Ring of Animal Friendship: command word
There are no rules that would treat the effects of the two rings differently. In fact, the price of the Animal Friendship ring is exactly what the 'calculated' price for the ring of invisibility was before it was bumped up to account for its 'power'.
So clearly the two rings were built using the same rules regarding magic item creation.
Before the FAQ, I would have used that difference in the fluff language to argue against the whole 'like a spell' duration on the ring of invisibility, much like Malachi has done. Now I don't have that luxury.
| fretgod99 |
For that matter, the rest of the Vampiric Gloves description is also relevant:
Quote:Though vampiric touch is normally a touch attack, the wearer may instead use that ability as a ranged touch attack with a range of 30 feet, but only against a dying target or a target suffering from a bleed effect. When using vampiric touch in this way, the wearer may hold the charge on a missed ranged touch attack.
If the wearer is suffering from a bleed effect, he may expend one use of vampiric touch to end the bleed effect.
If the gloves were casting the 'Vampiric Touch' spell, not only would he not be able to use it at range, it wouldn't be able to expend one use to end a bleed effect.
So clearly the gloves do not cast 'Vampiric Touch', they just activate the ability as described by the item.
So what you're saying is that since the item explicitly tells you that it functions differently from the spell in that regard, it functions differently.
"Use the spell, but with this minor difference."
I fail to see a problem.
| fretgod99 |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Ultimately, my question is what you're trying to get at. Are you simply dissatisfied with the clarity of the rules? Do you legitimately believe that PF's intent of the Ring of Invisibility is other than:
1. On "command" (whether that be word or mental activation), you benefit from being Invisible
2. It's subject to the same attack restrictions as the spell
3. It's subject to the same durational restrictions as the spell, were it cast with the item's CL
4. The item is not intended to be passed around once the effect is activated
Honestly, I'm asking. What do you think is the intended function of the Ring, based upon the FAQs presented, legacy from 3.5, and the rules of PF?
Because even if you think the words on the page can be tortured to justify passing the item around, do you honestly believe this is the intent? From your perspective, they just reduced the power level of the item. Do you really think their intent with that was to ramp it up and thereby let everybody in the party benefit from it at the same time? Are there other magic items that do that without explicitly telling you so? And please, for the love of all that is good and holy, do not use the cop out of "Well, based on all these ridiculous rulings they're giving out, who knows what sort of crazy thing they intend!!1!"
If you're dissatisfied with the clarity of the rules, cool. We can hash out how much of a problem that is. But if you're honestly arguing in favor of passing the item around, I don't have any interest in furthering that discussion anymore.
James Risner
Owner - D20 Hobbies
|
A certain amount of pedantry is required. This is doubly so when a ruling comes down that changes someone's understanding of the rules.
Changing your understand. It didn't change mine, Skip Williams, SKR, the Dev team, the 250 tables of PFS I've combined played and GM'd (about 130 GM and 120 played.)
I think this is drastically overblown. I just can't match my experience at GenCon, DragonCon, ShadowCon, Dice-siege, and 4 to 6 other Con's I've played and GM'd over the years. I just don't understand how this is more than a niche interpretation. I should have seen a table or player use the item this way in the past.
| fretgod99 |
Consider the Ring of Animal Friendship:
Quote:A ring of animal friendship always bears some sort of animal-like design in its craftsmanship. On command, this ring affects an animal as if the wearer had cast charm animal, causing the animal to regard the wearer as a trusted friend.So again, clearly the spell is not cast, but the effect is generated as if the spell were cast. This is what people are claiming for the ring of invisibility.
Are people claiming that if the person removes the ring, the charm animal effect is ended?
If I wanted to get pedantic? Yeah, I probably would. The spell isn't cast by the wearer; the ring provides a similar effect. Why should the effect persist if the wearer isn't using the ring anymore? This is likely to lead to magic item shenanigans.
I'm invisible, but not wearing my ring. This animal is charmed, but I'm not wearing the ring. I've got my Ring of Protection on. I'm also wearing my Ring of Energy Resistance.
| Nicos |
I just can't match my experience at GenCon, DragonCon, ShadowCon, Dice-siege, and 4 to 6 other Con's I've played and GM'd over the years.
So, in all and everyone of those events you have played and/or Gmed with people that use the ring of invisibility and/or hat of disguise exactly as FAQ?
| _Ozy_ |
_Ozy_ wrote:For that matter, the rest of the Vampiric Gloves description is also relevant:
Quote:Though vampiric touch is normally a touch attack, the wearer may instead use that ability as a ranged touch attack with a range of 30 feet, but only against a dying target or a target suffering from a bleed effect. When using vampiric touch in this way, the wearer may hold the charge on a missed ranged touch attack.
If the wearer is suffering from a bleed effect, he may expend one use of vampiric touch to end the bleed effect.
If the gloves were casting the 'Vampiric Touch' spell, not only would he not be able to use it at range, it wouldn't be able to expend one use to end a bleed effect.
So clearly the gloves do not cast 'Vampiric Touch', they just activate the ability as described by the item.
So what you're saying is that since the item explicitly tells you that it functions differently from the spell in that regard, it functions differently.
"Use the spell, but with this minor difference."
I fail to see a problem.
The problem is that if you say the item 'casts the spell Vampiric Touch' then it can't do a large number of things that it says it does. If you say it's casting a spell that operates differently than 'Vampiric Touch' then perhaps you can find that spell on some spell list somewhere and point it out. As far as I know, there are no rules that let you create items that actually cast arbitrary spells, and just adding reach metamagic would significantly boost the item cost.
Btw, where does the description for the gloves say anything about casting a 'spell'? I see the word ability, not spell. In fact, the words 'the wearer can use' seem to be quite different than 'the gloves can cast'.
But the biggest issue, which you have not addressed, is that how all of these items, which are built using the same rules, using command words, all seem to function differently when there are no actual rules governing those differences.
How do I create a command word item that 'casts a spell' like the Vampiric Gloves, vs. command word items that 'doesn't' like the ring of invisibility? What rules are you using to distinguish between the two? Why do you rely so heavily on tortured interpretations of the fluff in the description instead of, say, pointing me to page ### of Book XYZ which states:
to build a command word item that actually casts a spell, do this...
and to build a command word item that grants you an ability 'like a spell', do this...
In short, you can't because those rules don't exist, and you are making them up to avoid what the RAW actually says.
| fretgod99 |
Those rules don't exist because nobody thinks you can continue to benefit from an item that you're not wearing anymore, unkess explicitly told otherwise.
It's one of those things that people say in hindsight was an oversight.
----------
What would be the price of gloves that cast vampiric touch three times a day? Right about where it is priced. The range increase is incredibly situational, so it doesn't really factor in to the cost much, if at all. Regardless, that added bonus doesn't really impact the analysis at all.
----------
To create an item that casts a spell, you create an item that says something to the effect of, "When used, this item casts this spell", or "When used, this item allows the user to cast this spell."
That's obviously the easiest way to do it. Some aren't as clear. I don't read "use this spell" as being generally functionally different from "cast this spell".
And again, I fail to see a problem with an item saying "Cast this spell, but it works differently in this specific capacity." Specific and general and all that. For instance, the Eyes of Doom let the wearer cast Doom, but it alters slightly the manner of delivery of the spell.
| _Ozy_ |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Ultimately, my question is what you're trying to get at. Are you simply dissatisfied with the clarity of the rules? Do you legitimately believe that PF's intent of the Ring of Invisibility is other than:
1. On "command" (whether that be word or mental activation), you benefit from being Invisible
2. It's subject to the same attack restrictions as the spell
3. It's subject to the same durational restrictions as the spell, were it cast with the item's CL
4. The item is not intended to be passed around once the effect is activatedHonestly, I'm asking. What do you think is the intended function of the Ring, based upon the FAQs presented, legacy from 3.5, and the rules of PF?
Because even if you think the words on the page can be tortured to justify passing the item around, do you honestly believe this is the intent? From your perspective, they just reduced the power level of the item. Do you really think their intent with that was to ramp it up and thereby let everybody in the party benefit from it at the same time? Are there other magic items that do that without explicitly telling you so? And please, for the love of all that is good and holy, do not use the cop out of "Well, based on all these ridiculous rulings they're giving out, who knows what sort of crazy thing they intend!!1!"
If you're dissatisfied with the clarity of the rules, cool. We can hash out how much of a problem that is. But if you're honestly arguing in favor of passing the item around, I don't have any interest in furthering that discussion anymore.
I've already said that obviously my interpretation of intent is flawed, as I would never have guessed that they 'intended' to have someone sneaking around with a ring of invisibility speak a command word every 3 minutes, so asking for my interpretation of RAI in this area is already on shaky ground.
Without the FAQ, I would have claimed as Malachi has said, that the 'as the spell' in the ring of invisibility would refer to the benefit and how it interacts with actions such as combat, NOT that it exactly duplicates the spell stat block.
Without the FAQ specifying a duration, I would have argued that the ring provides an activated constant effect, and therefore once activated must continue to be worn.
Since the FAQ specifically calls out the duration as if the spell has been cast, I must argue that once activated, the effect lasts the entire duration, unless broken by attacking as in the spell. There is nothing in the spell about breaking invisibility if you remove a piece of clothing or a ring.
It is my claim that any activated effect with a specified duration 'like the spell' is not dispelled by removing/dropping the item.
If I have a command-word activated orb that bestows a 1 hour mage armor CL1 5/day, I certainly can activate it on myself and pass it around. I don't need to keep the orb in my possession.
This doesn't change if that orb is instead a ring (other than needing to actually wear to activate and then remove the ring before passing it on) and that doesn't change if it's a different activated effect like invisibility.
Whether or not the PF intends this to be the case, I can't even begin to guess.
Again my primary objection is not that a activated, constant ring of invisibility can't exist. You can build one for 24k. It's that the standard Pathfinder ring of invisibility is built to be thematically stupid.
| fretgod99 |
Of course an orb and a ring would function differently. There are different rules for different items. You don't have to wear Pearls of Power.
Does this orb actually cast Mage Armor? Then why would you need to maintain possession of it? Pass it around, but keep track of the uses per day, because it's relevant.
Rings don't work the same way. I don't see why it's a stretch to expect a ring, which doesn't cast a spell but provides a similar benefit, must be worn to continue benefitting. Ring and wondrous items behave differently by design.
I don't see how mental activation (which seems to be the intent from 3.5) of a ring of invisibility, usable an unlimited number of times per day for up to three minutes is thematically stupid. Being able to take such a ring off and still benefit from it, however, is.
| _Ozy_ |
Those rules don't exist because nobody thinks you can continue to benefit from an item that you're not wearing anymore, unkess explicitly told otherwise.
It's one of those things that people say in hindsight was an oversight.
And I'm still waiting for you to tell me how you actually think these things are supposed to function.
----------
What would be the price of gloves that cast vampiric touch three times a day? Right about where it is priced. The range increase is incredibly situational, so it doesn't really factor in to the cost much, if at all. Regardless, that added bonus doesn't really impact the analysis at all.
----------
To create an item that casts a spell, you create an item that says something to the effect of, "When used, this item casts this spell", or "When used, this item allows the user to cast this spell."
That's obviously the easiest way to do it. Some aren't as clear. I don't read "use this spell" as being generally functionally different from "cast this spell".
You are now significantly changing the mechanics of how items function. This would mean that the items that are casting the spell can then be counterspelled. When a person uses the gloves of vampiric touch, it's either a spell-like ability, which can't be counterspelled, or it's actually casting the spell which can be counterspelled.
Which is your claim?
The price for the gloves is for a command-word activated item, there is no 'price' specified for casting a spell vs. a spell like ability for a command word item.
| _Ozy_ |
Of course an orb and a ring would function differently. There are different rules for different items. You don't have to wear Pearls of Power.
Does this orb actually cast Mage Armor? Then why would you need to maintain possession of it? Pass it around, but keep track of the uses per day, because it's relevant.
Rings don't work the same way. I don't see why it's a stretch to expect a ring, which doesn't cast a spell but provides a similar benefit, must be worn to continue benefitting. Ring and wondrous items behave differently by design.
I don't see how mental activation (which seems to be the intent from 3.5) of a ring of invisibility, usable an unlimited number of times per day for up to three minutes is thematically stupid. Being able to take such a ring off and still benefit from it, however, is.
If the ring isn't casting a spell, I agree with you. But in that case the ring also would not be imposing the duration of the spell that wasn't cast. Note there is no game mechanic to decide if the orb 'is actually casting' mage armor or not. It's a command word activated item that provides 5 charges of mage armor that last an hour. That's it. And again, there are no game mechanics differences between the abilities you put on rings vs. wondrous items, they both use the same build chart in the rules. Sure, there are some 'abilities' that they try to restrict to one or the other, but this isn't an actual rule.
And no, by RAW, the activation is by command word unless specified otherwise. The Ring of Invisibility does not specify otherwise, therefore it is a command word. I've already gone over why having to speak every 3 minutes to maintain invisibility is stupid, so I hope I don't have to go over that again.
And I've said quite clearly that BOTH the 3 minute duration and taking the ring off are thematically stupid. It just so happens that these stupid ideas are the consequence of treating the ring 'as if' it is casting the spell.
I chose the orb example quite specifically. It was designed to remove all of the preconceptions that exist (including my own) about how rings are generally treated in literature. Yes, in literature people put on rings to turn invisible and take them off to turn visible. They don't slip on a ring, chant a magic word, and then pass the ring around. This sounds stupid to all of us because of how we imagine items are supposed to work from a thematic sense. However, just like some of our preconceptions that 3 minute duration on a ring of invisibility is dumb, Pathfinder rules don't follow these thematic ideas, it has its own set of rules. And in those rules, if an item grants a spell-like ability with a specified duration, that duration doesn't end early unless explicitly specified (such as attacking with invisibility).
The only difference in pathfinder between that orb and that ring is that for the ring, you actually need to wear it on your finger to activate. That's it. Everything else is just our preconceptions telling us how things 'should work' not how they do work.
| wraithstrike |
You deserve a precise answer, Wraithstrike, and that takes more than a simple yes or no.
For worn items that need to be activated, there are two possibilities:-
• they can be effectively switched on or off, like a torch. While switch on (activated), the wearer benefits from the magic. Since wearing the activated item grants the benefit, then if you take them off then you stop benefitting. Such items grant you the benefit as if your were under a particular spell effect, like being invisible, blurred, ethereal, whatever. These items don't have a duration (unless they say they do), their duration is simply 'when activated'. The ring of invisibility is of this type.
• they allow the wearer to use the item to 'cast a spell' as a SLA that doesn't require concentration. Such items are 'used' by 'activating' them, as opposed to by wearing them. They must be worn to be 'used', but 'using' them is simply getting them to cast their spell. These items have the parameters of a cast spell in terms of duration, target, etc. But after activating them you are no longer 'using' the item, even though you might be the subject of the spell it cast. In this case, removing the item after you have already 'used' it in no way affects the spell that has already been cast.the item just let's you create the magical effect, and once 'cast' only stops when the spell itself would stop. If the item can be used without limit, then someone else can also 'use' it to cast its spell and this has no way of affecting the previous casting (unless the spell description says it would).
I do not believe that the ring is of the second type, but if it were, then it would obey those rules, the consequences of which include a three minute duration, cast as either a personal or touch range effect, and 'using' it meaning 'casting the spell/SLA', thus not tying the wearing of it to maintaining the spell.
So how do we know which type a worn item is? Well, if it explicitly says one or the other, that's a big help! : )
Do you believe that any wearable magic item falls into the 2nd category? Just to be clear I am referring to items that have a duration longer than instantaneous, and is not some weird combination of instantaneous duration and another duration, if one does exist.
Now your ring of telekinesis example points to "yes", but I don't want to put words in your mouth.
| wraithstrike |
Gauss wrote:People are still arguing that this is Use Activated?You must have missed some posts. The rules at the beginning of the magic item chapter in the CRB were copy/paste from the 3.5 DMG. The only difference is that PF were not allowed to use the examples that the DMG used.
The ring of invisibility is actually one of those examples, but not an example of a command word item but of a use activated item.
Specifically, in the section of use activated items, it says that some items just need to be worn (it gives the Headband of Intellect as an example of one of those), some just need to be on your person (Pearl of Power is the example), and some need to be worn and then activated (and the example given is the Ring of Invisibility!).
So yes, we are continuing to say that it's use activated, just like explicitly written in the 3.5 DMG. There is no difference at all in these rules between 3.5 and PF; they were copy/paste. They only left out the examples.
I'm sorry I can't link to my post where I quoted it, but you can find it easily enough, or even check out a physical copy of the 3.5 DMG (page 213, under 'Use Activated') to see for yourself.
The ring rules do not support your interpretation as myself and Gauss have shown. The ring of invis itself has no specific rules exception. The pricing model shown by the devs(3.5 and Pathfinder) does not support your interpretation.
With all of this in mind what do you think the PDT team will say if we FAQ the "mental activation" idea?
| wraithstrike |
wraithstrike wrote:Chemlak wrote:Thanks for the assist. I think that gets rid of the "pass around" idea. Now I just need to relocate any dev post saying the ring uses a command word.
Now, this is mildly convoluted, but since rings are a slot-item, and "these items must be worn on [...] a particular part of the body" and "need to be donned [to] benefit from their abilities", does it follow that rings need to be worn on a particular part of the body to benefit from their abilities?
It absolutely does not get rid of the pass around idea. The ring has to be worn in order to activate the invisibility, that is clear, and that is what having a 'slotted' item is all about.
Otherwise the ring could be in your backpack and you could command word activate it.
The issue is that people claim that the duration of invisibility is as per the spell. In this case, where are the rules that say a command word activated spell ability is terminated if the item is removed?
In fact, if you look at the vampiric gloves, the item specifically says that if you activate the gloves, miss with the attack and are 'holding the charge', if you remove the gloves you lose the charge.
Why did they included these words if it they didn't need to? Since the gloves are specifically calling out a termination of the spell effect upon removal, then it clearly falls into the category as an exception to the general rule, unless specified otherwise, spell effects triggered by command word items last their normal duration.
Those are two different items so let me also ask you a simple question.
Do you think the PDT team will say yes if asked can you benefit from the ring of invisibility after it is taken off?
To answer your question it seems as if the vampiric gloves are actually casting the spell on you, while the ring of invis is granting you the benefit of a spell.
Also Paizo has said they don't force all of their writers to use the exact same language, one person might say "use", and another will might say "the item cast this spell on the wearer", and so on.
Now if Paizo had very codified grammar these things would be easier, but they do not. They only have codified game terms.
| Ravingdork |
Wearing the ring clearly grants you the ability to ACTIVATE the effect*. I don't think anyone would disagree on that point. However, I see absolutely no definitive proof anywhere in the rules, much less this thread, that says you must keep wearing the ring in order to continue benefiting from the effect you activated.
The burden is on you to back up your claim.
* Assuming it is a command word activated item
| Uwotm8 |
The rules say to benefit you have to wear it. Short of any other language in the item saying it casts the spell or in some other way creates an effect separate from the item itself (such as casting the spell) then the ring needs to be present to confer its benefit. It's pretty straightforward. Items that do cast spells exist and their language is pretty clear.