
Deliverance |

So heres the deal. Flurry of blows talks about applying "his full strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attack was made with an off-hand or a weapon wielded in two hands."
As far as I know, this is basically giving monks Double Slice build into their pseudo Two-Weapon Fighting, while also making a note, that a weapon wielded in two hands, still only applies 1x strength bonus.
The question then becomes, what happens when a character with Feral Combat Training and a bite attack as his sole natural weapon, flurries. The natural weapon, being the only one he has, applies 1.5x strength bonus on damage rolls. It is however not wielded in two hands, but possesses this function innately.
So, in this case, can "his full strength bonus" be assumed to be 1.5x strength? Seems to be the case, since the only exception stated in flurry, refers to weapons in two hands.
Your thoughts gentlemen and ladies, give them to me!

![]() |

I'm gonna say 1x STR damage.
FCT also has the caveat that effects that augment UAS, also augment the natural weapon. In this case that means only 1x STR.
However, all is not lost. Your bite attack also scales with your UAS damage as you go up in level, and you can apply the additional damage granted by the Dragon Style feats, assuming you take the,.

Deliverance |

The thing is, in the case of a character attacking with his only natural weapon, his "Full Strength Bonus" is 1.5x Strength. The only caveat in the flurry rules, speaks about wielding something in two hands, which a bite certainly isnt.
Extra question.
The Improved Natural Attack feat is a "Monster Feat". Ive heard talk that such feats cannot normally be taken by PCs.
Is this true? Am I forced to dip 2 levels of ranger to get this feat?

Skylancer4 |

The thing is, in the case of a character attacking with his only natural weapon, his "Full Strength Bonus" is 1.5x Strength. The only caveat in the flurry rules, speaks about wielding something in two hands, which a bite certainly isnt.
The general rule is that a single natural attack does that 1.5x str damage and you cannot use natural weapons in a flurry, once you start using FCT and flurry, specific rules trump the general rules. You can use the bite in a flurry and attacks made in a flurry deal str mod in damage.

JimmySC |

Regarding Bestiary Feats, the only RAW statement is in the beginning of the Monster Feats section:
"Most of the following feats apply specifically to monsters, although some player characters might qualify for them (particularly Craft Construct)."
In PFS, Monster Feats are explicitly forbidden unless granted from another sourch (such as Ranger Natural Weapon Style). For non-PFS games, as always this is entirely up to your GM. Most GM's I've seen have no problem allowing Bestiary/Monster feats apply to the player when applicable.

![]() |

That is not a rule.
Neither is there a rule saying the feats are available for players. It is in a GM book with a caveat that some players might qualify.
So while there isn't a rule that says you can't take it, there also isn't a hard rule saying you can.
Either way it is a house rule, since the GM of your game is in charge of whether or not it is useable.
For PFS, it is not available.

![]() |

blackbloodtroll wrote:That is not a rule.Neither is there a rule saying the feats are available for players. It is in a GM book with a caveat that some players might qualify.
So while there isn't a rule that says you can't take it, there also isn't a hard rule saying you can.
Either way it is a house rule, since the GM of your game is in charge of whether or not it is useable.
For PFS, it is not available.
Actually, what it says is:
Monster Feats:
Most of the following feats apply specifically to monsters,
although some player characters might qualify for them
(particularly Craft Construct).
So, whilst the PFS houserules prohibit them, they are available to players, unless the DM houserules otherwise.

Pupsocket |

The thing is, in the case of a character attacking with his only natural weapon, his "Full Strength Bonus" is 1.5x Strength. The only caveat in the flurry rules, speaks about wielding something in two hands, which a bite certainly isnt.
Nah, "full" in this context means "not half".

![]() |

There is nothing, at all, that suggests that feats in the Bestiary, are unavailable to PCs that qualify for them.
In fact, it goes out of it's way to say some of the feats are ones that a PC would qualify for.
So, they are available to players, unless the DM houserules otherwise.
Not, the other way around.
It is a RAW restriction that only exist in many people's imagination, as it is a common houserule, so, many confuse it with an actual written rule.

Cap. Darling |

There is nothing, at all, that suggests that feats in the Bestiary, are unavailable to PCs that qualify for them.
In fact, it goes out of it's way to say some of the feats are ones that a PC would qualify for.
So, they are available to players, unless the DM houserules otherwise.
Not, the other way around.
It is a RAW restriction that only exist in many people's imagination, as it is a common houserule, so, many confuse it with an actual written rule.
It is custumary, and i belive nessesary, for a GM to allow some resources and dissalow others. I dont think allowing some books and not using every thing found on the internet since the start on 3.0 is a houserule.
Yes the GM and the players use some rules and often the Beastiarys are not on the PC creation list unless someone remember to ask the GM.
If, evertyhing is available to the players unles the GM houserules otherwise. Then yes, it is a houserule to not allow players to use monster feats.