Is the no two traits from same category still the rule? because...


GM Discussion

Scarab Sages 5/5

In the little that I have GM'ed there seems to be a lot of people with two magical traits - often gifted adept and magical lineage, or magical lineage and magical knack. And people say they had not heard of the rule, so perhaps it has been overturned.

If the rule is still in effect (I think it is, but now I am not sure) - do you let them choose which one they have - or allow them to choose a replacement trait and record that on the chronicle - or say both don't work - suggestions

And the Extra Trait feat - does that change anything about traits to take?

Tia

3/5 RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

It is still a rule, and the Additional Traits feat does nothing to change that.

However, there are some traits in other categories that essentially duplicate some of the magic traits. Abendego Spellpiercer is a regional trait that's exactly the same as Focused Mind, and Wayang Spellhunter is another regional trait that's almost identical to Magical Lineage (I believe the only difference is that Wayang Spellhunter is limited to 3rd-level or lower spells).

Grand Lodge 4/5

Dhjika wrote:

In the little that I have GM'ed there seems to be a lot of people with two magical traits - often gifted adept and magical lineage, or magical lineage and magical knack. And people say they had not heard of the rule, so perhaps it has been overturned.

If the rule is still in effect (I think it is, but now I am not sure) - do you let them choose which one they have - or allow them to choose a replacement trait and record that on the chronicle - or say both don't work - suggestions

And the Extra Trait feat - does that change anything about traits to take?

Tia

Yes, it is still the rule. If I had a player that had created their character with two from the same category, I would have them replace one of them with a legal trait from a different category.

The feat you mean is Additional Traits, and it specifies that the traits must be from different categories also. So by taking it once, you would end up with four traits from four different categories.

Ninja'd by a Ninja

Shadow Lodge 3/5

If they haven't heard of the rule, did they create their character from the Guide to Organised Play's steps?

It's in there, in the Traits step under Character Creation. Hard to miss.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / Is the no two traits from same category still the rule? because... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion