Cestus and greatsword


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

My player's character is a barbarian, using a greatsword. He also purchased 2 cestus (cesti?) and he is wearing them. Can he be wearing a cestus in the right hand, a cestus in the off hand and and at the same time using a greatsword in battle? I am asking because Hero Lab does not allow me to do the above mentioned operation, I can either choose cestus or greatsword. Is there any official ruling about it? Thanks!!!


PFSRD wrote:
Drawback: When using a cestus, your fingers are mostly exposed, allowing you to wield or carry items in that hand

You can wield items. I imagine that includes a great sword.


Strannik wrote:
PFSRD wrote:
Drawback: When using a cestus, your fingers are mostly exposed, allowing you to wield or carry items in that hand
You can wield items. I imagine that includes a great sword.

I am not so sure!!! Check the description of a light shield. It says: "a light shield’s weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it". It seems like an item is not the same thing than a weapon. What do you think?


The cestus is a glove of leather or thick cloth that covers the wielder from mid-finger to mid-forearm. The close combat weapon is reinforced with metal plates over the fingers and often lined with wicked spikes along the backs of the hands and wrists. While wearing a cestus, you are considered armed and your unarmed attacks deal lethal damage. If you are proficient with a cestus, you can have your unarmed strikes deal bludgeoning or piercing damage. Monks are proficient with the cestus. When using a cestus, your fingers are mostly exposed, allowing you to wield or carry items in that hand, but the constriction of the weapon at your knuckles gives you a –2 penalty on all precision-based tasks involving that hand (such as opening locks). A cestus can't be disarmed.

this is what it says so I would say yes you can use a greatsword with them, now when it comes to hero labs I would send them a email letting them know the problem so they can fix it. The part thats in bold is why I say yes


Vassago Embrace wrote:
Strannik wrote:
PFSRD wrote:
Drawback: When using a cestus, your fingers are mostly exposed, allowing you to wield or carry items in that hand
You can wield items. I imagine that includes a great sword.
I am not so sure!!! Check the description of a light shield. It says: "a light shield’s weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it". It seems like an item is not the same thing than a weapon. What do you think?

I see what you're saying, but carrying and wielding are two different things. Wielding is pretty much only used for weapons and wands. Carrying is for everything else.

So if you wear a shield you can carry a potion in that hand.

If you wear a cestus you can wield a weapon in that hand.

Go to the combat section at PFSRD and just look at every time it says "wield". You won't see it mentioning things that are not weapons or wands.


yep strannik thats what i see too


Good point! Carrying and wielding. Although I would assume that if you cannot carry a weapon, you cannot even wield it...

Think about this: you cannot carry a candle in your hand, but it is ok to wield a weapon and swing it?

I am confused!


when ever is says wield it also says carry. you cant use a candle as a weapon...... all though if you where tiny I gess a candle would be a torch so them you could use it as a weapon.... for like 1 fire damage :p


Yeah, when you wield a weapon it means you can swing it. Clearly you must be carrying it to do so.

When you wield a wand you can activate it. Again, you are clearly carrying it.

If you are carrying a sword in your shield hand, then you can't swing it. You can only transport it from place to place in your hand.


Seems pretty clear that you can per the description on the cestus. I would never assume that Herolab is perfect, it is a wonderful tool and I own it myself, but they don't necessarily have all the rules 100% correct, especially since there are new rules questions that appear on the board everyday that are unclear to people.

Shadow Lodge

Heaggles wrote:
when ever is says wield it also says carry. you cant use a candle as a weapon...... all though if you where tiny I gess a candle would be a torch so them you could use it as a weapon.... for like 1 fire damage :p

1 fire 1d2 bludgeoning.

Or 1fire+light mace damage (I think1d8) with a feat

Dark Archive

Yeah, you can totally do this with the Cestus (or Gauntlets/Spiked Gauntlets) because the description of the Cestus and the two Gauntlets specifically allows you to.

Think of it as less modern-day boxing gloves and more as those spikey gauntlets everyone's always wearing in silly fantasy movies where they punch the hell out of each other during swordfights. ;)

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

Yes, but how do you type?

Dark Archive

~MAGIC!~

Grand Lodge

Vassago Embrace wrote:
My player's character is a barbarian, using a greatsword. He also purchased 2 cestus (cesti?) and he is wearing them. Can he be wearing a cestus in the right hand, a cestus in the off hand and and at the same time using a greatsword in battle? I am asking because Hero Lab does not allow me to do the above mentioned operation, I can either choose cestus or greatsword. Is there any official ruling about it? Thanks!!!

You can list them both you just can't choose both as being the active weapon, which makes sense. You're either swinging with your blade or punching with your hands. Herolabs however will still list combat statistics for both,so it's not really an issue.

Silver Crusade

My latest PC for Kingmaker is a 4th lvl paladin of Shelyn who has TWF and wears a pair of spiked gauntlets and uses his longsword two-handed.

If he hasn't drawn his sword then he still has both gauntlets for TWF, and when he draws his sword he uses it two-handed for his 'main' attack and one of the gauntlets for his 'off-hand' attack.

It's not optimal, but having in interesting PC has greater priority for me than optimisation, and I'm confident he'll pull his weight in combat.


This is a Cestus. It looks to me like it isn't much of a stretch to be able to wield a sword in that hand while also wearing a cestus. So you could wield a 2-h (or 1-h with 2 hands) weapon, make an attack, release, and make an off-hand attack with the Cestus while just "holding" the sword in the other hand.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I think the Herolab thing isn't an issue/problem/bug. It isn't letting select both Cetus and sword not because you can't wear and wield, but because selecting both means you are trying to wield the Cetus and wield the sword at the same time.


mln84 wrote:
I think the Herolab thing isn't an issue/problem/bug. It isn't letting select both Cetus and sword not because you can't wear and wield, but because selecting both means you are trying to wield the Cetus and wield the sword at the same time.

That is how I understand it as well. I have a knife fighter tht has six knives, but I can only select two at most. But she has all six on her person.


Ok guys, thank you all for the feedback!


Vassago Embrace wrote:
Strannik wrote:
PFSRD wrote:
Drawback: When using a cestus, your fingers are mostly exposed, allowing you to wield or carry items in that hand
You can wield items. I imagine that includes a great sword.
I am not so sure!!! Check the description of a light shield. It says: "a light shield’s weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it". It seems like an item is not the same thing than a weapon. What do you think?

And they meant the same thing for the Cestus, they would have put it in the description.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cestus and greatsword All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions