What is rage-lance-pounce?


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion

351 to 400 of 531 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mental image: a barbarian rides up on his horse, punces off as it charges, and slams his lance into the creature.


whatthis not FAQed out of the game?


Frustaro wrote:

they are not constant because no developer ever thought that some crazy nerds would start such an argument! I would say this is totally gm decision because according to the rules you can interpret it in 2 different ways (reading this I can't say Seeker is wrong or it is so clear how it is wrote)...

I personally see it kinda as cheating, or forcing rules. Which I would not like to do, but in occasional games you see also players cheating dices so everyone has a different approach, as long as it satisfies you as ridiculous as it can be it's always ok.

This was the mother of all thread necromancing. Why, oh why, oh why, would anyone want to bring this argument back into the "spotlight?"

Silver Crusade

When you are on a mount you become part of a charge. Your mount handles your movement while you provide the attack.

It's nor that hard to grasp but I see what some of you are trying to do and what others before you have tried. Your pounce ability does not transfer to your mount. You are using your mounts mode of movement and not your own. That would be like cutting off your legs and you telling me you can charge because it doesn't say in the description that you need legs and feet to charge.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
shallowsoul wrote:

When you are on a mount you become part of a charge. Your mount handles your movement while you provide the attack.

It's nor that hard to grasp but I see what some of you are trying to do and what others before you have tried. Your pounce ability does not transfer to your mount. You are using your mounts mode of movement and not your own. That would be like cutting off your legs and you telling me you can charge because it doesn't say in the description that you need legs and feet to charge.

False comparison. Poor argument. Please try again.

(Again, this probably wouldn't be a thing in my own games, but seriously. Poor rules loophole is poor. FAQ the thing, and leave be.)


This thread is why you use a Synthesist as the mount.


Lamontius wrote:
This thread is why you use a Synthesist as the mount.

... yeah, you're right. I'm out. :)

Designer, RPG Superstar Judge

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 13 people marked this as a favorite.
Tacticslion wrote:

I'd just like to point out a phrase, if I may.

Beast Totem, Greater (Su) wrote:
While raging, the barbarian gains the pounce special ability, allowing her to make a full attack at the end of a charge. In addition, the damage from her claws increases to 1d8 (1d6 if Small) and the claws deal ×3 damage on a critical hit. A barbarian must have the beast totem rage power to select this rage power. A barbarian must be at least 10th level to select this rage power.

That's the ability. The phrase? Comes from the sentence, "While raging, the barbarian gains the pounce special ability, allowing her to make a full attack at the end of a charge."

See if you can spot it. I was surprised when I found it!
"... at the end of a charge."
As worded, if you insist that the mount is taking the action, not the barbarian, you must (if you use consistent reading standards) accept that at the end of any charge, whether or not the barbarian is doing the charging, the barbarian can pounce. That means that even if you interpret the rules as saying that the mount is charging, not the barbarian, the barbarian still gets the benefits as if they were the ones charging with that ability (i.e. rage-lance-pounce functions).

Using that interpretation, the barbarian can make a full attack any time any character charges, not just when the barbarian charges. My paladin buddy just charged? That's "a" charge, I get to make a full attack! My enemy just charged me? That's "a" charge, I get to make a full attack!

Or you could realize that the Greater Beast Totem ability is just summarizing the pounce UMR, and the pounce UMR says says "Pounce (Ex) When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can make a full attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability)."

Also, the mounted combat rules say If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack.

GBT gives you pounce.
Pounce allows YOU to make a full attack when YOU make a charge.
If YOU are mounted, the MOUNT is making the charge, YOU are NOT making a charge.
The mounted combat rules specifically say that you only get ONE attack if your mount charges.
GBT does NOT say "when the barbarian is mounted and the MOUNT makes a charge, SHE may make a full attack."

Therefore, GBT-rage-mount-pounce does not work.


But what if the Barbarian is male?


Dude, SKR, I'm actually with you.

I'm not actually allowing that in my games.

However, using pedantic arguments to say "no" makes said "no" make less sense than actually just saying "no" in the first place. Thus, I'm saying, "just say 'no'" instead of "wow, that's a great argument".

Silver Crusade

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Tacticslion wrote:

I'd just like to point out a phrase, if I may.

Beast Totem, Greater (Su) wrote:
While raging, the barbarian gains the pounce special ability, allowing her to make a full attack at the end of a charge. In addition, the damage from her claws increases to 1d8 (1d6 if Small) and the claws deal ×3 damage on a critical hit. A barbarian must have the beast totem rage power to select this rage power. A barbarian must be at least 10th level to select this rage power.

That's the ability. The phrase? Comes from the sentence, "While raging, the barbarian gains the pounce special ability, allowing her to make a full attack at the end of a charge."

See if you can spot it. I was surprised when I found it!
"... at the end of a charge."
As worded, if you insist that the mount is taking the action, not the barbarian, you must (if you use consistent reading standards) accept that at the end of any charge, whether or not the barbarian is doing the charging, the barbarian can pounce. That means that even if you interpret the rules as saying that the mount is charging, not the barbarian, the barbarian still gets the benefits as if they were the ones charging with that ability (i.e. rage-lance-pounce functions).

Using that interpretation, the barbarian can make a full attack any time any character charges, not just when the barbarian charges. My paladin buddy just charged? That's "a" charge, I get to make a full attack! My enemy just charged me? That's "a" charge, I get to make a full attack!

Or you could realize that the Greater Beast Totem ability is just summarizing the pounce UMR, and the pounce UMR says says "Pounce (Ex) When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can make a full attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability)."

Also, the mounted combat rules say If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to...

Thank you Sean.


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Tacticslion wrote:

I'd just like to point out a phrase, if I may.

Beast Totem, Greater (Su) wrote:
While raging, the barbarian gains the pounce special ability, allowing her to make a full attack at the end of a charge. In addition, the damage from her claws increases to 1d8 (1d6 if Small) and the claws deal ×3 damage on a critical hit. A barbarian must have the beast totem rage power to select this rage power. A barbarian must be at least 10th level to select this rage power.

That's the ability. The phrase? Comes from the sentence, "While raging, the barbarian gains the pounce special ability, allowing her to make a full attack at the end of a charge."

See if you can spot it. I was surprised when I found it!
"... at the end of a charge."
As worded, if you insist that the mount is taking the action, not the barbarian, you must (if you use consistent reading standards) accept that at the end of any charge, whether or not the barbarian is doing the charging, the barbarian can pounce. That means that even if you interpret the rules as saying that the mount is charging, not the barbarian, the barbarian still gets the benefits as if they were the ones charging with that ability (i.e. rage-lance-pounce functions).

Using that interpretation, the barbarian can make a full attack any time any character charges, not just when the barbarian charges. My paladin buddy just charged? That's "a" charge, I get to make a full attack! My enemy just charged me? That's "a" charge, I get to make a full attack!

Or you could realize that the Greater Beast Totem ability is just summarizing the pounce UMR, and the pounce UMR says says "Pounce (Ex) When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can make a full attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability)."

Also, the mounted combat rules say If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to...

What happens when you couple it with mounted skirmisher?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 3 people marked this as a favorite.
Sean K Reynolds wrote:

GBT gives you pounce.

Pounce allows YOU to make a full attack when YOU make a charge.
If YOU are mounted, the MOUNT is making the charge, YOU are NOT making a charge.
The mounted combat rules specifically say that you only get ONE attack if your mount charges.
GBT does NOT say "when the barbarian is mounted and the MOUNT makes a charge, SHE may make a full attack."
Cavalier’s Charge wrote:
At 3rd level, a cavalier learns to make more accurate charge attacks while mounted.
Ride-by Attack wrote:
When you are mounted and use the charge action, you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge).
Fight with a Combat-Trained Mount: wrote:
If you direct your war-trained mount to attack in battle, you can still make your own attack or attacks normally. This usage is a free action.

There seems to be a lot of rules that suggest you being mounted does not change the charge action. Is there going to be some effort to change all that?


Yikes that's a lot.


How would you describe, in game rules, the mounted charges of old? Seems a bit silly to be forced to have the horse make an attack just so you can have a "mounted charge" (in real world meaning) Just have the horse use a double+ move? Then the rider isn't getting the force that the charge imparts upon the rider's strike.

Or could the rider use the charge action and use his horse for the movement?

How would abilities like Cavalier's Charge work, where it gives a bonus to attack rolls on a charge while mounted? Does "charge while mounted" actually mean "when making an attack after the creature you're mounted on charges"?

So many interesting questions!


As much as I want ragelancepounce to die we definitely still have an open can of worms here with all these feats and abilities in print attributing the charge to the rider not the mount.


Sean K Reynolds wrote:

[

Also, the mounted combat rules say If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack....

Maybe it would have been much tidier to rule against ragelancepounce on this basis alone.

Silver Crusade

Grimmy wrote:
As much as I want ragelancepounce to die we definitely still have an open can of worms here with all these feats and abilities in print attributing the charge to the rider not the mount.

Actually we don't. You are trying to make it more difficult than it really is.

Sean has closed the can so let it go.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Sean,

Does this mean Ride by attack and spirited charge do not work?

And Lances can never do double damage?

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Matthew Morris wrote:

Sean,

Does this mean Ride by attack and spirited charge do not work?

And Lances can never do double damage?

The lance weapon description actually says "Lance: A lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount" so you're pretty much covered there. As long as you understand that Ride-by Attack and Spirited Charge are referencing your mount taking the charge action, you're gravy.

There's another thread going here specifically discussing the way Sean's statements impact mounted combat.


shallowsoul wrote:
Grimmy wrote:
As much as I want ragelancepounce to die we definitely still have an open can of worms here with all these feats and abilities in print attributing the charge to the rider not the mount.

Actually we don't. You are trying to make it more difficult than it really is.

Sean has closed the can so let it go.

Check the post right after yours for an example of what I'm talking about. We're not out of the woods yet ;)

In related news...


Lances would definitely work

Quote:
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).

Your mount is taking the charge action you are just getting the benefit of his charge in terms of increased accuracy and lance double damage but you are still just taking a standard attack action.

With Mounted Skirmisher you can specifically take the Full Attack action but you couldn't take the charge action which is a separate action. Thus even with Mounted Skirmisher you don't get a mounted lance pounce because pounce modifies the charge action. But full attacks are still pretty cool.

The terminology on Spirited Charge and Ride-by-attack should probably be revised to say when your mount takes a charge action your feats kick in for the sake of clarity.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

RAW also says "When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)."

Sean just said you can't charge on horseback.


BOOOOO GET OFF THE STAGE


Matthew Morris wrote:

RAW also says "When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)."

Sean just said you can't charge on horseback.

But the Mounted Combat section of the Combat chapter clearly indicates that you get the benefit of x2 damage with a lance while on horseback.

Personally I think mounted combat is a mess of contradictions but it's definitely possible to read intent from this ruling:

Mounted Combat
Full Move by Mount + 1 attack action by the mounted character.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

vuron wrote:
Matthew Morris wrote:

RAW also says "When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)."

Sean just said you can't charge on horseback.

But the Mounted Combat section of the Combat chapter clearly indicates that you get the benefit of x2 damage with a lance while on horseback.

Personally I think mounted combat is a mess of contradictions but it's definitely possible to read intent from this ruling:

Mounted Combat
Full Move by Mount + 1 attack action by the mounted character.

Except for the fact that mounted combat goes out of its way to specifically state that you can take move actions as normal. Having a mount is just like having an animal companion (in fact it is having an animal companion if you have the class feature), you both have two separate pools of actions. When mounted, you get special benefits, such as gaining the bonuses and the AC penalty of charging when your mount charges without utilizing your own action pool. Without Mounted Skirmisher, you can't full attack with your mount because it's moving and you need special training to make all those attacks while hurtling forward at twice or more your normal speed. Ranged attacks can be taken as normal, but you might have a penalty from bouncing up and down in the saddle depending on how fast your mount is moving. It's actually pretty straightforward.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This is why we can't have nice things. :(

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

Lamontius wrote:
This is why we can't have nice things. :(

I'm saying that you can Vital Strike from the back of a charging mount in conjunction with Spirited Charge.

There are only three places where people seem to have trouble with the mounted combat rules:

Ride-by Attack and Spirited Charge which both say "When you are mounted and use the charge action"

and the section in Mounted combat that says "When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)."

The lance is clarified in it's own equipment entry where it says "A lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount" and since SKR has already clarified that when your mount is charging, you are not the one taking the charge action, we know that these feats are triggered by being on the back of a charging mount. Problem solved, everything works, no other contradictions or issues.


But I think the intent of SKR's ruling is the following:

Mounted Combat + Charging Mount
Mount Charge Action (Natural Attack if any) + Character Move equivalent action (dismount, etc) + standard attack action (that gains charge benefits)

Mounted Combat + 5' Step Mount
Mount 5' Step Action (Mount Full Attack) + Character Move equivalent action + standard attack or a full attack, etc

Mounted Combat + Ranged Attacks
Mount move action + full attack option

Basically the mount's charge action triggers a special condition that treats the mounted character as having charged for the sake of lance or spirited charge or ride by attack but not for the purposes of pounce.

It's really unclear what the intent of Vital Strike + Mounted Charge as Jason has been pretty clear throughout every rules clarification that he wants vital strike to only work with a standard move action.

Dark Archive

Dire Mongoose wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:

I completely agree. The mount charges. The rider doesn't. Both Ride-by Attack and Spirited Charge use the phrase 'charge action.' Neither feat says 'when you charge,' which is the text Pounce uses.

I thought I knew what ridiculous was, until this day.

I see a clear difference between "being in a charge" and "when you charge."

One is being part of a charge action (such as riding a charging mount) and the other is when you do the charge yourself.

As a GM, I'd rule this way if ragelancepounce became an unbalancing issue and also possibly because pounce doesn't make sense to me if you're not the one doing the pouncing.

So maybe if the mount had pounce, you could do it, but then you'd be too close to use a lance unless the mount had reach for it's attacks.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
SKR wrote:
If YOU are mounted, the MOUNT is making the charge, YOU are NOT making a charge.

This makes any mounted charge related feature in the game simply not work.

If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge.

How is that different than the character also charging?

When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).

Baring some silly rules lawyering and some Legolas like riding skills to jump onto the back of your horse and run from its rump onto its head and then skewer someone, the only way for this to do what it says it does is for the rider to be considered charging when the mount is charging. In fact to use a lance in a charge at all, the character has to be the one doing the charging because the horse will never reach the target: the charge ends as soon as the mounted character gets within 10 feet and uses his lance.

Silver Crusade

Please please please stop ignoring the actual ability instead of focusing purely on the words.

Pounce is not just an ability that let's you charge and gain a full attack. It is an ability that allows a character that is using his own momentum to propel him forward.

Please explain to me in game how you are transferring this ability to a mount? Do you suddenly become enveloped in magic energy and then cause your mount to leap from the ground in a charge?

Some of you are trying to use the words in a way that doesn't work.

For pounce to work you have to use your own legs to propel you forward, I mean it's simple.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
shallowsoul wrote:

Please please please stop ignoring the actual ability instead of focusing purely on the words.

Pounce is not just an ability that let's you charge and gain a full attack. It is an ability that allows a character that is using his own momentum to propel him forward.

Please explain to me in game how you are transferring this ability to a mount? Do you suddenly become enveloped in magic energy and then cause your mount to leap from the ground in a charge?

prd wrote:


Ferocious Mount, Greater (Ex)

Prerequisite: Barbarian 8, ferocious mount rage power

Benefit: While raging and mounted, the barbarian’s mount gains the benefits of any rage powers that are constant in effect when the barbarian is raging. It does not gain the benefit of any rage powers that require actions to activate, even if they are free actions.

So now that it has been shown how you give your horse pounce you can accept that ragelancepounce works?

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Andy Ferguson wrote:
shallowsoul wrote:

Please please please stop ignoring the actual ability instead of focusing purely on the words.

Pounce is not just an ability that let's you charge and gain a full attack. It is an ability that allows a character that is using his own momentum to propel him forward.

Please explain to me in game how you are transferring this ability to a mount? Do you suddenly become enveloped in magic energy and then cause your mount to leap from the ground in a charge?

prd wrote:


Ferocious Mount, Greater (Ex)

Prerequisite: Barbarian 8, ferocious mount rage power

Benefit: While raging and mounted, the barbarian’s mount gains the benefits of any rage powers that are constant in effect when the barbarian is raging. It does not gain the benefit of any rage powers that require actions to activate, even if they are free actions.

So now that it has been shown how you give your horse pounce you can accept that ragelancepounce works?

Or at least ragemountpounce.

Silver Crusade

Andy Ferguson wrote:
shallowsoul wrote:

Please please please stop ignoring the actual ability instead of focusing purely on the words.

Pounce is not just an ability that let's you charge and gain a full attack. It is an ability that allows a character that is using his own momentum to propel him forward.

Please explain to me in game how you are transferring this ability to a mount? Do you suddenly become enveloped in magic energy and then cause your mount to leap from the ground in a charge?

prd wrote:


Ferocious Mount, Greater (Ex)

Prerequisite: Barbarian 8, ferocious mount rage power

Benefit: While raging and mounted, the barbarian’s mount gains the benefits of any rage powers that are constant in effect when the barbarian is raging. It does not gain the benefit of any rage powers that require actions to activate, even if they are free actions.

So now that it has been shown how you give your horse pounce you can accept that ragelancepounce works?

Sean has already said that it doesn't work so I don't understand why you keep arguing about it.

The mount is able to gain a full attack at the end of the charge, not the Barbarian.

Silver Crusade

Ssalarn wrote:
Andy Ferguson wrote:
shallowsoul wrote:

Please please please stop ignoring the actual ability instead of focusing purely on the words.

Pounce is not just an ability that let's you charge and gain a full attack. It is an ability that allows a character that is using his own momentum to propel him forward.

Please explain to me in game how you are transferring this ability to a mount? Do you suddenly become enveloped in magic energy and then cause your mount to leap from the ground in a charge?

prd wrote:


Ferocious Mount, Greater (Ex)

Prerequisite: Barbarian 8, ferocious mount rage power

Benefit: While raging and mounted, the barbarian’s mount gains the benefits of any rage powers that are constant in effect when the barbarian is raging. It does not gain the benefit of any rage powers that require actions to activate, even if they are free actions.

So now that it has been shown how you give your horse pounce you can accept that ragelancepounce works?

Or at least ragemountpounce.

Sean has already said in a Q and A that Ragelancepunce doesn't work.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

shallowsoul wrote:
Sean has already said in a Q and A that Ragelancepunce doesn't work.

You'll notice I said "ragemountpounce" which does work. Not ragelancepounce.

Silver Crusade

Ssalarn wrote:
shallowsoul wrote:
Sean has already said in a Q and A that Ragelancepunce doesn't work.
You'll notice I said "ragemountpounce" which does work. Not ragelancepounce.

No ragemountpounce doesn't work. How many times does Sean need to say it?

Even if your mount gains pounce you still can't use your pounce. The mount would gain a full attack but that's it.

Face it, it doesn't work and nothing you or anyone else says will change that. You can homebrew it if you like but by RAW it doesn't work.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

shallowsoul wrote:
Ssalarn wrote:
shallowsoul wrote:
Sean has already said in a Q and A that Ragelancepunce doesn't work.
You'll notice I said "ragemountpounce" which does work. Not ragelancepounce.

No ragemountpounce doesn't work. How many times does Sean need to say it?

Even if your mount gains pounce you still can't use your pounce. The mount would gain a full attack but that's it.

Face it, it doesn't work and nothing you or anyone else says will change that. You can homebrew it if you like but by RAW it doesn't work.

ragemountpounce, SS, as in "I rage and my mount pounces" which is what the Ferocious Mount, Greater power does. Stop trying to argue with someone who agrees with your stance.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Barbarian: Gives "Pounce" ability to his/her mount through Ferocious Mount.

Mount: Pounces, getting it's full bite/claw/claw or whatever.

Barbarian: Delivers one huge Lance hit while the mount does the above.

I'm calling this "ambarbarianpulledoutmyspleen" to avoid any confusion with the dumb one where people think the guy on the mount can use his own Pounce ability while sitting his/her butt in a saddle or bareback or whatever.


Maybe this will help. If it's been posted already, forgive me for not re-reading the same discussion yet again.

Lance: If I have the pounce ability and I charge with a lance, do my iterative lance attacks get the lance's extra damage multiplier from charging?


Azten I like your post but unless people actually click to read what you linked, it sounds like you are saying it's okay to make iterative lance attacks, regardless of the multiplier working or not.

I know you are not saying that and I'm posting this more to prevent people from looking at your post and going 'Ohhhhh see, you can make iterative attacks with a lance!" No, no no no no no no no no


If you want to give your warhorse a couple of hoof attacks on a charge with a pretty high level Barbarian build while foregoing your own iterative attacks in favor of one big lance strike then go right ahead.

I suspect the pounce barbarian would be better served dismounting and then charging himself but I wouldn't be that surprised if there are a handful of exotic mounts that would make this build somewhat worthwhile.

What is pretty clear is that both the mount and the barbarian do not both get full pounce routines.


I still find it hilarious that someone making a mounted charge is not in fact charging, its like saying that you are not moving when your mount is moving because the mount is the one making the move action.

Mind you interestingly this interpretation really helps mounted skirmisher. One of devs said in a post about mounted skirmisher that you couldn't full attack with mounted skirmisher and make a mounted charge because charging is its own full round action. But with this interpretation you are not charging on a mounted charge so as long as you only move your speed you can full attack and gain the benefits of a mounted charge.


I'd allow it based on what I have read, but of course if the mount gets taken out of the equation it can fall apart.

If it is legit, and can fit into a setting, I'm usually game.
Imagine mounted barbs of the planes combating ninjas of the forests. Barbs are great when they can get it off, ninjas use caltrops and kill the horses.


shallowsoul wrote:

When you are on a mount you become part of a charge. Your mount handles your movement while you provide the attack.

It's nor that hard to grasp but I see what some of you are trying to do and what others before you have tried. Your pounce ability does not transfer to your mount. You are using your mounts mode of movement and not your own. That would be like cutting off your legs and you telling me you can charge because it doesn't say in the description that you need legs and feet to charge.

If you can be on a mount, and use the mount to make a charge, then you can rage lance pounce on that charge.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So now you have to tell your horse to attack the ground ten feet in front of the dude you actually want to lance. Wow


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Wow, that was a fun read. Eight Pages. And the best part? The Indian Movie Clip of the Flying Car. LOL


Ssalarn wrote:
Andy Ferguson wrote:
shallowsoul wrote:

Please please please stop ignoring the actual ability instead of focusing purely on the words.

Pounce is not just an ability that let's you charge and gain a full attack. It is an ability that allows a character that is using his own momentum to propel him forward.

Please explain to me in game how you are transferring this ability to a mount? Do you suddenly become enveloped in magic energy and then cause your mount to leap from the ground in a charge?

prd wrote:


Ferocious Mount, Greater (Ex)

Prerequisite: Barbarian 8, ferocious mount rage power

Benefit: While raging and mounted, the barbarian’s mount gains the benefits of any rage powers that are constant in effect when the barbarian is raging. It does not gain the benefit of any rage powers that require actions to activate, even if they are free actions.

So now that it has been shown how you give your horse pounce you can accept that ragelancepounce works?

It does not gain the benefit of any rage powers that require actions to activate, even if they are free actions.[b]

Pounce is a move action therefore pounce doesn't work with ferocious mount
Or at least ragemountpounce.


Perhaps the mount should explode on completion of the ragelancepounce?

I got for mounted charges (other people don't?), problem is you can get skewered rushing in for the lancing. He who would ragelancepounce others knows that one day he will feel the ragelancepounce or the pike in the nads (most likely a lot earlier).

Pounce is very strong.

351 to 400 of 531 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / What is rage-lance-pounce? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.