What action does it take to use a Pearl of Power?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Pearl of Power description: This seemingly normal pearl of average size and luster is a potent aid to all spellcasters who prepare spells (clerics, druids, rangers, paladins, and wizards). Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast. The spell must be of a particular level, depending on the pearl. Different pearls exist for recalling one spell per day of each level from 1st through 9th and for the recall of two spells per day (each of a different level, 6th or lower).


Activate a magic item other than potion or oil is a standard action, according to the Actions in Combat table. Unless the item specifies, I guess that's the default assumption. In play, I've usually seen using a pearl of power to cast a spell as all one standard action, but I'm not sure that's RAW.

EDIT:

PRD>Magic Items wrote:
Activating a magic item is a standard action unless the item description indicates otherwise.

So it sounds like, RAW, it's one standard action to recall a spell with a pearl of power and another action to cast it. I don't think I've ever seen it played that way, though.

The Exchange

one action to recall the spell, another to use it. Been like that as long as I have been using them (had a Crafting Wizard in LG who carried more then 20 pearls... at one point I think I had 28.)


By default, an item that doesn't say how long it takes to activate takes a standard.

I've usually seen it played as one action to pearl the spell back into memory, then another action to cast it.


So a spellcaster who prepares spells casts a spell normally. Then as as Standard Action they can recall a spell of that level till the end of the day?

For some reason I've played it that you don't use the spell slot when you cast the spell - looks like I was wrong. Thanks for clearing this all up.

Liberty's Edge

harmor wrote:

So a spellcaster who prepares spells casts a spell normally. Then as as Standard Action they can recall a spell of that level till the end of the day?

For some reason I've played it that you don't use the spell slot when you cast the spell - looks like I was wrong. Thanks for clearing this all up.

Yes. The character starts with a spell. He casts it. He can then use the pearl via a standard action to recall it. He then has it in memory again. He can then cast it again using whatever the casting time is for the recalled spell.

RPG Superstar 2014 Top 32

sorry for the necro,
but do you have to have the pearl in your hand to use its ability, thus costing you another action to pull it out of where ever it is stored. Or as long as it is on your person(like in your pocket) can you just use it?

Sczarni

I suppose you would, since otherwise you could activate a scroll or wand without drawing it.


It's generally best to make a new thread if the old thread is over a year old, but at least your question was somewhat related so no worries, we won't burn you as a necrothreadmancer (yet!)
Just in case... [Points a shotgun at the zombie thread in case it tries to eat his brains]

Okay, now to your question.

Pearl necklace
Pearl wristband
Pearls sewn into clothing
Pearl earring(s)
Pearls set into scabbards (or some weapon hilts)
Etc, etc

Several ways exist a pearl doesn't have to take a standard action to reach for just because it's not actively in your hands, GM/DM allowing. I've even seen some of these in PFS, so I'm pretty sure it's not a RAW conflict.
Though nothing as far as I know gets you out of the standard action to activate, which restores the spell to memory [and as people said above, restore to memory, not restore to memory and cast]

Liberty's Edge

Nefreet wrote:
I suppose you would, since otherwise you could activate a scroll or wand without drawing it.

Scroll: to activate it you need to read it and to have it in your possession.

Hard to do that if the scroll isn't in your hand.
PRD wrote:


Activation: To activate a scroll, a spellcaster must read the spell written on it.

Same thing, sans the the reading part, for a wand.

PRD wrote:


To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole.

The pearl has no such requirement (beside, as almost all magic items, to being in your possession) and is a slotless item. So it can in a pouch at your waist, part of a neclace made of pearl o powers or stored on your person backpack (but not a extradimensional container, I think) and still work.

There is no need to draw it.


Quote:
Wondrous items not worn in one of the magic item slots are called “slotless” wondrous items. Sometimes these items take the form of trinkets, like figurines of wondrous power. Other times they are larger items, such as the carpet of flying. Typically the possession of such an item is enough to gain its benefit, but sometimes one must manipulate and activate the item.

I agree if it is within easy reach, maybe even a pocket with nothing else in it, then you shouldn't need to spend any extra action activating it. Obviously outside on your clothing this is clearest.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

And this is why Pearls of Power should be used between fights.

As long as we're on PoP questions, I've got another one. Since nobody else has included it in the thread yet, here's the full item description:

Quote:
This seemingly normal pearl of average size and luster is a potent aid to all spellcasters who prepare spells (clerics, druids, rangers, paladins, and wizards). Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast. The spell must be of a particular level, depending on the pearl. Different pearls exist for recalling one spell per day of each level from 1st through 9th and for the recall of two spells per day (each of a different level, 6th or lower).

Now for my question. If a cleric uses a spell slot to spontaneously cast a cure or inflict spell, can they still use the Pearl of Power to get back the spell that was prepared in that slot? Like if I prepare Bless, but cast Cure Light Wounds instead, can I get back the Bless spell? Can I get back the CLW?

Based on the wording "a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day", I'm thinking those spell slots that are used up to do something other than cast the prepared spell might not be recyclable with a PoP.


Pearls of Power may be a slotless item that function only by being on your person maybe?

Edit: FRAKKIN NINJA'D


Fromper wrote:

And this is why Pearls of Power should be used between fights.

As long as we're on PoP questions, I've got another one. Since nobody else has included it in the thread yet, here's the full item description:

Quote:
This seemingly normal pearl of average size and luster is a potent aid to all spellcasters who prepare spells (clerics, druids, rangers, paladins, and wizards). Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast. The spell must be of a particular level, depending on the pearl. Different pearls exist for recalling one spell per day of each level from 1st through 9th and for the recall of two spells per day (each of a different level, 6th or lower).

Now for my question. If a cleric uses a spell slot to spontaneously cast a cure or inflict spell, can they still use the Pearl of Power to get back the spell that was prepared in that slot? Like if I prepare Bless, but cast Cure Light Wounds instead, can I get back the Bless spell? Can I get back the CLW?

Based on the wording "a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day", I'm thinking those spell slots that are used up to do something other than cast the prepared spell might not be recyclable with a PoP.

I'd say you can only get what you prepared there. You did cast the spell sorta, in that you expended the slot and converted the spell to something else. Close enough, imho.

I think this is a problem with the wording being a little too specific, imho. If you read it very strictly, then no, you can't get back a spell you converted.

Liberty's Edge

I agree with Drachasor.
The wording was written before spontaneous spellcasting was added to the game, it is a 1st ed. item, a time when you had what was memorized in your spell slots, and only that. Spontaneous conversions of memorized spells to cure/inflict spells is something that was added in the 3rd edition.

Scarab Sages

True, but I think Fromper has a point.
At the very least it probably needs an FAQ, since I can predict a lot of players trying to get double versatility from the item.

"I converted that Bear's Endurance to a Cure Moderate, so I'll use the pearl to get back...another Bear's Endurance!"

Next encounter;

"I converted that Bear's Endurance to a Cure Moderate, so I'll use another pearl to get back...another Cure Moderate!"

Throw in spontaneous domain casting, and it can becomes more complex.


I really don't see the problem there, Snorter. They always get back the spell they prepared. But if they can spontaneously convert, then they can just convert that spell again. What's the big deal?


Snorter wrote:
"I converted that Bear's Endurance to a Cure Moderate, so I'll use the pearl to get back...another Bear's Endurance!"

Yes, that is how I would interpret it.

Snorter wrote:

Next encounter;

"I converted that Bear's Endurance to a Cure Moderate, so I'll use another pearl to get back...another Cure Moderate!"

Why not? If you have the ability to convert your Bear's Endurance into Cure Moderate spontaneously, you haven't gained anything at all by doing this.

Liberty's Edge

The way i read it you would get bless back. Thats the spell you prepared not cmw. The wording is clear and it means clerics have to do 2 actions to get cmw instead of just a pearl.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What action does it take to use a Pearl of Power? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions