"Blade of the Society" trait


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Blade of the Society

Benefit: You gain a +1 trait bonus to damage rolls from sneak attacks.

But just how does that get calculated? Is it a flat +1 no matter how many sneak attack dice you roll?
Or would it be 5d6+5 for example?


As there is no mention of Damage per dice and it is in keeping with the power level of other traits:

Flat +1 damage


If it is a ranger trait, can it be used for its alternate class: ninja?


I assume you mean rogue Nathanial and yes a ninja could take it.


Yes I meant rogue. My mistake. Thank you. Therefore, does that mean that all rogue feats and traits are available to ninjas?

Sczarni

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Yes, please read the alternate class part of APG to know how they work.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Ninja is a rogue.

Shadow Lodge

:) I think you mean the Rogue wishes it where a Ninja.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Ah, sarcasm. I thought I had to explain the alternate class thing all over again.


My PFS GM says I need an official answer before creating my character. It is my first PFS character: a halfling ninja from the Lantern Lodge. I posted a similar statement at another forum at this link: http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz584j?Alternate-classes-and-archetypes-in-PFS#5

Can anyone provide an official source that would be good-to-go for me to print this page and show to any PFS GM and they would accept it as gold? Also, is Sjfish's answer an official answer?

Dark Archive

Nathanial321 wrote:

My PFS GM says I need an official answer before creating my character. It is my first PFS character: a halfling ninja from the Lantern Lodge. I posted a similar statement at another forum at this link: http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz584j?Alternate-classes-and-archetypes-in-PFS#5

Can anyone provide an official source that would be good-to-go for me to print this page and show to any PFS GM and they would accept it as gold? Also, is Sjfish's answer an official answer?

If it is a question for PFS, you need to post your question in the Pathfinder Society section of the boards.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Look in the James Jacobs thread or in some of the rogue/ninja threads. There was a statement somewhere saying that ninja can take rogue stuff, aka this trait.

Anyway, your GM doesn´t need an official statement. He just needs to open his eyes and really read the text.

Ninja is a rogue archetype and therefore is a rogue, who can take all feats and traits for rogues. Even extra rogue talent.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

More importantly, note that the trait has no prerequisites whatsoever. A cleric could take it; it just wouldn't do anything.

Hayato Ken wrote:
Ninja is a rogue archetype and therefore is a rogue, who can take all feats and traits for rogues. Even extra rogue talent.

This one's incorrect. The feat "Extra Rogue Talent" has a prerequisite: you must have the "Rogue Talent" class feature. A ninja doesn't have that class feature.


There was some discussion on this in the Ask James Jacobs thread. It centered on the lack of Extra Ninja Trick feat. I believe the verdict was GM discretion, can't remember. Either way, I am assuming that it doesn't work for PFS.

In any case, Jiggy is right about the trait. The trait only implies that the Pathfinders showed you a bunch of anatomy books and you studied them, so if you happen to be someone who is particularly good at pinpointing weaknesses (Ninja, Rogue, Vivisectionist etc.) you will benefit from the trait.


Doesn't it say on page 62 that rogue is a requirement?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Nathanial321 wrote:
Doesn't it say on page 62 that rogue is a requirement?

Page 62 of what? That rogue is a requirement of what?

Grand Lodge

Nathanial321 wrote:
Doesn't it say on page 62 that rogue is a requirement?

If you have the Faction Guide and know what a "Rogue trait" is and requires, you're ahead of most people posting here.


Blade of society
pathfinders guide
page 62
requirements

Also, I checked the ask james jacobs thread, but that is for non-gaming questions. Does he have a gaming thread for people needing to ask questions such as this one?


Starglim wrote:
Nathanial321 wrote:
Doesn't it say on page 62 that rogue is a requirement?
If you have the Faction Guide and know what a "Rogue trait" is and requires, you're ahead of most people posting here.

I do not have it. I just found it on the internet. I may buy it at some point soon. So since I read that it was a requirement on the internet and that it wasn't according to a reply in this forum, I thought I would ask for verification from someone who had the book and would be willing to verify the correct information.


I don't know. It has (Rogue, Pathfinder Society) in the title on that page. That seems pretty clear that they're requirements.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Well, looks like I learned something new today. Sorry for the misinformation I provided.


Jason Bulmahn saying that an alternative class is just a fully-presented archetype.

What works for rogues work for ninjas.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
James Jacobs wrote:
Nathanial321 wrote:

I have two questions. First, it was suggested to me to ask the second question in this thread; however, it isn't an off-topic question, unless you consider it as an off-topic discussion compared to the fact we are in an off-topic discussion thread. So is it okay to ask a question like my second question in this thread if I need an official answer and if I can't get the answer in another thread OR is there a better thread to post it under such as an Ask James Jacobs gaming-related thread? Whew, that was a long question.

The second question is this: I am making my first society character: a halfling ninja. Can my ninja take the "Blade of the Society" trait? My GM says I need an official answer before he will accept it since I am creating it for the Pathfinder Society.

It's absolutely okay!

For the Pathfinder Society, we maintain a list of all the approved products and options. I'm not sure where "Blade of the Society" is from off the top of my head... but the way to find out would be to look at the list of approved resources for character creation for PFS.

James Jacobs wrote:
Nathanial321 wrote:
The question everyone has been wondering is whether or not alternate classes are like archetypes in that they can use the feats, traits, etc. as the primary class even when the requirement has the primary class as a requirement as long as archetype/alternate class has the ability to utilize the feat, trait, etc? For example using the second question in my last post as an example.
Alternate classes like the antipaladin, ninja, and samurai ARE essentially archetypes. They're just archetypes for which we went through and gave you the full level advancement chart for. And artwork too! So as long as they didn't give up a class feature that is a requirement for a feat or whatever... yup... they still can take that feat/trait/thing.

I was able to get an official answer! I got it at the "Ask James Jacobs All your Qestions Here" thread at this link: http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz2u4o&page=330?Ask-James-Jacobs-ALL-your-Que stions-Here#16474

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Blade of the Society" trait All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.