Transformation questions?


Rules Questions


if a wizard uses the spell transformation on himself making it so wizard class was no longer in his list. So technicaly as a fighter he uses a ring of spell storing but to activate it he uses magic device and 1 is rolled. Now is the ring of spell storning Not usable for 24 after the transformation spell wears off or is it just not usable with use magic device for 25 hours. Long story short Other than potions I'm trying to cast spells while in transformtion.

Now on the other side of the spectrum and a different question enterely, If a level 8 illusionist wizard which as a class ablity of swift action greater invis, can you use it while transformationsince its part of the wizards arcane's school ablity or does transformation make you lose your School ablities?

Liberty's Edge

When you roll a 1, that means you may not roll a UMD check on that item for 24 hours.

Technically, the transformation only removes your spellcasting ability. The spell doesn't take away class abilities.

It does, however, change your mind. You no longer want to cast spells. You want to FIGHT. So you can't use a ring of spell storing because the transformation says: "Your mindset changes so that you relish combat and you can't cast spells, even from magic items."

While the spell does not make you lose class abilities, it does change your character's mindset such that he might not want to use them. This is where your DM is free to rule.


But i do dare say thats a hard rulling. but i see your point although can't and won't are two different things.


now if it was worded.. While gaining those physical advantages, it prevents spellcasting and the ability to use any magical devices, that would make more sense but that is 3.5 wording.. on tenser's transformation.The fact that it prevents spell-casting raises another problem. could you dismiss the spell

Grand Lodge

From the spell text:

You become a fighting machine - stronger, tougher, faster, and more skilled in combat. Your mindset changes so that you relish combat and you can't cast spells, even from magic items.

Again, specific case that trumps any general rule that would indicate otherwise. The original version of this spell turned you into a berserker to boot. And no, the spell does not have the dismissible component. once you cast it, it runs it's course unless someone else dispels it.


ahh.. that explains alot. and makes alot more sense. I've been wondering most of the day.. if it worked like a kind of rage. What about potions? This is the most awesome-thing I've heard in a while.(just pulled out the 2.5 handbook.) In someways i think the new version is better damage wise. btw are their any rules for berserk in pathfinder that you have found?


LazarX wrote:

From the spell text:

You become a fighting machine - stronger, tougher, faster, and more skilled in combat. Your mindset changes so that you relish combat and you can't cast spells, even from magic items.

Again, specific case that trumps any general rule that would indicate otherwise. The original version of this spell turned you into a berserker to boot. And no, the spell does not have the dismissible component. once you cast it, it runs it's course unless someone else dispels it.

As I described over here, it's entirely reasonable to read that sentence as fluff, and the later text of "including your ability to use spell activation or spell completion magic items" as the specifics. So if a fighter could activate the item, you can too while under the effects of transformation.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Transformation questions? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.