Breaking out of a telekinesis-based grapple


Rules Questions


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Telekinesis tells us how to determine the CMB in order to grapple someone (or use some other maneuver). What it doesn't tell us, however, is what the caster's effective CMD is in order to break free.

So, if I am a wizard using telekinesis to maintain a grapple on an enemy cleric, what do they check against in order to break free?


hmmm...good point. As it says to use your relevant ability modifier for spells in place of Str or Dex mod, I'd say that for example if you're a 10th lvl wizard with an Int of 20 your CMD would equal:

CMD = 10 + 10(CL) + 5(Int) + 5(Int) + Size mod.

CMD = 30 + Size mod.

Scarab Sages

Caster Level + ability score modifier (INT or CHA) + 10

Because the spell doesn't specify how to calculate CMD, but it does specify that you use your casting ability score in place of STR or DEX, there is no viable result other than the above.

(I suppose one could argue, in the case of telekinesis, that CMB = CMD, but that just makes the spell worthless, so I doubt that's the answer.)


+1 on CMD = CL+Stat+10

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You would basically calculate it as a fighter of the caster level attacking with an attribute equal to Int or Cha value depnding on caster.

The Exchange Contributor, RPG Superstar 2008 Top 6

I'd say double the casting stat as well, rather than just 1x.


And the debate begins.

There really should be a mental CMB/D for spells, and certainly more spells that utilize them.


I've asked this question before. I'd rule CMD is its CMB+10.


It would be the CMB+10

Nowhere in the spell does it say anything about adding any extra dex bonuses to the CMD, so you must assume there are no extra dex bonuses.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I would very much like an official answer to this if possible. Where are you James? You are my only hope!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Breaking out of a telekinesis-based grapple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.