So my Bag of Holding got disenchanted, what happens next?


Rules Questions


Hey guys, last game my character passed through an effect that disenchanted all magic items no save. I was carrying a Bag of Holding at the time so we looked it up in the Rules and couldn't find any reference to what happens to the contents in such a situation?

Are the contents lost forever?

Are the contents lost forever until you repair the bag if possible?

Do all the contents just spill out?

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
FDM


Fractured DM wrote:

Hey guys, last game my character passed through an effect that disenchanted all magic items no save. I was carrying a Bag of Holding at the time so we looked it up in the Rules and couldn't find any reference to what happens to the contents in such a situation?

Are the contents lost forever?

Are the contents lost forever until you repair the bag if possible?

Do all the contents just spill out?

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
FDM

I would rule that the contents spill out.

Grand Lodge

If I recall my 3.5 lore, the connection between the prime material and the pocket plane is severed. The contents are effectively lost unless you can plane travel somehow to the pocket plane and recover the items.

This happened to us once. A PC was slain and we stored his remains in a bad of Holding. It was later affected by a Disjunction. The GM wouldn't allow us to res him without a Wish because the body still existed and the soul was tied to it.


In this case I would look to the spell that creates the Bag of Holding, namely Secret Chest.

From Secret Chest:
After 60 days, there is a cumulative chance of 5% per day that the chest is irretrievably lost. If the miniature of the chest is lost or destroyed, there is no way, even with a wish spell, that the large chest can be summoned back

Bad news.

If everything wasn't ruled outright destroyed, there's probably a good chance (5% per day for the age of the bag) that the stuff would be destroyed.

Dark Archive

Fractured DM wrote:

Hey guys, last game my character passed through an effect that disenchanted all magic items no save. I was carrying a Bag of Holding at the time so we looked it up in the Rules and couldn't find any reference to what happens to the contents in such a situation?

Are the contents lost forever?

Are the contents lost forever until you repair the bag if possible?

Do all the contents just spill out?

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance
FDM

I might point you to the 9th level spell "Mage's Disjunction" (text below). Even at 9th level, the item gets a will save, and if it fails it is turned into a normal item for the duration of the spell (1 minute/level). A natural 1 on the roll will actually destroy the item.

So I would talk to your DM about this, and see if you can reach agreement on some basic points.

1) did he mean for this spell to be less powerful, as powerful or more powerful than the 9th level spell? (if less, then the item should probably begin working again shortly after leaving the field. if more, than the "no save" was probably what he wanted and the item is irreparably destroyed.)

2) given the text of Bag of Holding - "If a bag of holding is overloaded, or if sharp objects pierce it (from inside or outside), the bag immediately ruptures and is ruined, and all contents are lost forever. " this implies that a destroyed bag loses all of its contents. Unfortunate. Ask your DM if this was his understanding going in, or if he had some other intention.

Out of curiosity, did you have any warning of such a field, or was it presented as an unavoidable trap. In this case, perhaps the DM was sensing that the party gp limit was above what he wanted, and found a convenient (though admittedly harsh) method of relieving some bloat.

Mage's Disjunction

School abjuration; Level sorcerer/wizard 9

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V

Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)

Area all magical effects and magic items within a 40-ft.-radius burst, or one magic item (see text)

Duration 1 minute/level

Saving Throw Will negates (object); Spell Resistance no

All magical effects and magic items within the radius of the spell, except for those that you carry or touch, are disjoined. That is, spells and spell-like effects are unraveled and destroyed completely (ending the effect as a dispel magic spell does), and each permanent magic item must make a successful Will save or be turned into a normal item for the duration of this spell. An item in a creature's possession uses its own Will save bonus or its possessor's Will save bonus, whichever is higher. If an item's saving throw results in a natural 1 on the die, the item is destroyed instead of being suppressed.

You also have a 1% chance per caster level of destroying an antimagic field. If the antimagic field survives the disjunction, no items within it are disjoined.

You can also use this spell to target a single item. The item gets a Will save at a –5 penalty to avoid being permanently destroyed. Even artifacts are subject to mage's disjunction, though there is only a 1% chance per caster level of actually affecting such powerful items. If successful, the artifact's power unravels, and it is destroyed (with no save). If an artifact is destroyed, you must make a DC 25 Will save or permanently lose all spellcasting abilities. These abilities cannot be recovered by mortal magic, not even miracle or wish. Destroying artifacts is a dangerous business, and it is 95% likely to attract the attention of some powerful being who has an interest in or connection with the device.


On page 272 of the core rulebook it says under Dispel Magic that an inter-dimensional opening (like a bag of holding)is closed.

On page 306 under Mage's Disjunction is says that spells and spell-like effects are ended as a dispel magic.

So all the stuff inside the bag still exists, you just have no way of getting to it.

Or do you?

On page 311 we have the Make Whole spell, which says you can restore the magical properties of an item if your caster level is at least twice that of the item (in this case you need an 18th level caster).

So there we have it, just find yourself a friendly 18th level mage, pay him the 360 gp needed to cast the spell, and you've got your goodies back.


Fractured DM wrote:

Hey guys, last game my character passed through an effect that disenchanted all magic items no save. I was carrying a Bag of Holding at the time so we looked it up in the Rules and couldn't find any reference to what happens to the contents in such a situation?

Would like more information please.

What spell, magic item, etc... Was used to do the disenchantment. ??

Why did the item get no saving throw ?


It was a powerful in game effect, we knew it could destroy magic and magic items. We weren't thinking at the time.

For the record we tend to play an old school 1st edition style game where not every magical effect needed an explanation. Which just needed an explanation for the effect on the bag. lol

I think we'll go with Dirty Rat's explanation.
Thanks all
FDM


Fractured DM wrote:

It was a powerful in game effect, we knew it could destroy magic and magic items. We weren't thinking at the time.

For the record we tend to play an old school 1st edition style game where not every magical effect needed an explanation. Which just needed an explanation for the effect on the bag. lol

I think we'll go with Dirty Rat's explanation.
Thanks all
FDM

Dirty Rat

Dirty Rat
Dirty Rat!

i just like to say it

Scarab Sages

So your bag of holding got disenchanted. What next?

Punch your DM :)


Magicdealer wrote:
Punch your DM :)

What's the OP's alignment? If he is anarchic sure, but neutral and lawful players might show more restraint. :)

Liberty's Edge

Raging Hobbit wrote:
Magicdealer wrote:
Punch your DM :)
What's the OP's alignment? If he is anarchic sure, but neutral and lawful players might show more restraint. :)

Anarchic? You must be mixing RIFTS with Pathfinder.

Keep your RIFTS out of my Pathfinder!

I actually like RIFTS so no offense intended.


As I recall, in the description of Bag of Holding, there's a phrase saying that bringing the Bag into an anti magic zone - simply suppresses it.
I'd argue that disenchanting has the same effect as anti magic - if you could 'fix' the bag - then everything should be still there - just as you left it :)

Scarab Sages

According to Classic treasures revisited, the writers believe the stuff to be gone if the bag of holding ever loses its powers, temporary or not. I won't get specific because a) I don't know if it's allowed with that type of book, and b) I don't have it with me. ;)

Edit: actually, the suppression in an anti-magic zone may be right. But permanent disenchantment, like dispel magic, makes the contents go bye-bye.


Relkor wrote:
Raging Hobbit wrote:
Magicdealer wrote:
Punch your DM :)
What's the OP's alignment? If he is anarchic sure, but neutral and lawful players might show more restraint. :)

Anarchic? You must be mixing RIFTS with Pathfinder.

Keep your RIFTS out of my Pathfinder!

I actually like RIFTS so no offense intended.

Meant chaotic, but used the words from imbuing a weapon with chaotic power: Anarchic.

What is RIFTS?


Dirty Rat FtW


Next step is you lynch the DM for uber cheese.


Raging Hobbit wrote:
Relkor wrote:
Raging Hobbit wrote:
Magicdealer wrote:
Punch your DM :)
What's the OP's alignment? If he is anarchic sure, but neutral and lawful players might show more restraint. :)

Anarchic? You must be mixing RIFTS with Pathfinder.

Keep your RIFTS out of my Pathfinder!

I actually like RIFTS so no offense intended.

Meant chaotic, but used the words from imbuing a weapon with chaotic power: Anarchic.

What is RIFTS?

its another roleplaying game I believe

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / So my Bag of Holding got disenchanted, what happens next? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.