Poog

wolverinex3d's page

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber. Organized Play Member. 21 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Thats what I assumed.
Planned written encounters vs Unplanned/Random encounters.
Thanks!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Great, thats what I assumed.
Planned Encounters as written vs Unplanned/Random encounters.
Thanks!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

When running adventure paths, do the written, planned encounters require you to add treasure using the "treasure" type section listed for the creature in the Bestiaries?
Or are the pre-written encounters already including whether or not there is additional treasure?

For example:
Reign of Winter (Mother, Maiden, Crone)...
D9.) Nostafa (Night Hag, Treasure: Standard): Encounter specifically states she is wearing a Heartstone as all Night Hags do, but also has a Necklace of Fireballs, and carries a Bottle of Messages.
D7.) Upasundra, Asura (Treasure standard; weapons listed above plus other treasure).
There is NO treasure listed in this block, but the creature description says she carries a Masterwork Longsword, Spear and Kukri. Is that all this encounter has, or should I determine additional random treasure?

Thanks,
-John


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Planned Encounter Treasure:

Do the written, planned encounters require you to add treasure using the "treasure" type section listed for the creature in the Bestiaries?
Or are the pre-written encounters already including whether or not there is additional treasure?

For example:
D9.) Nostafa (Night Hag, Treasure: Standard): Encounter specifically states she is wearing a Heartstone as all Night Hags do, but also has a Necklace of Fireballs, and carries a Bottle of Messages.
D7.) Upasundra, Asura (Treasure standard; weapons listed above plus other treasure).
There is NO treasure listed in this block, but the creature description says she carries a Masterwork Longsword, Spear and Kukri. Is that all this encounter has, or should I determine additional random treasure?

Thanks,
John


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Hello,

I received a wrong item on Order # 3906892.

Item ordered:
Pathfinder Battles—Reign of Winter: Gargantuan White Dragon

Item received:
Pathfinder Battles: White Dragon Evolution Boxed Set

Please advise.

Thanks!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

this item is out of print? Or were all copies created with the error?
Thank you for the refund.
John


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Dear Customer Service,

I was prepping for a game and opened a book from my subscription service for the first time, and noticed it is MISSING many pages.
I have emailed pictures showing that it skips from Page 8 - 25.
Please advise on what I need to do to obtain a replacement.

Order 2127479
Jul 5, 2012
Pathfinder Player Companion: Blood of Angels (PFRPG)

Thanks!
John Falcon
[REDACTED]


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
Distant Scholar wrote:
wolverinex3d wrote:


A Monkey Swarms CMB in its stat block is - (0):
CMB = BAB (+2) + Str Mod (-2) + Special Size Mod (-2)
(So this already seems off)
The CMB isn't 0, it's - ("dash"). I think they chose this to represent that it can't grapple, and (for CMD) that it can't be grappled, tripped, or bull rushed. I don't think it's supposed to represent any numerical value.

That makes complete sense. So if weapon finesse is applied, the monley swarm cmb would be +3.

A mad monkey spells monkey swarm is cater level + ability score (cha for bard), so ignores or overides the regular monkey swarm cmb I guess?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
Thod wrote:
The black raven wrote:
Thod wrote:

Is the character casting the spell able to direct the monkeys what they should steal.

In the last game a Druid instructed them to steal the holy symbol. He had no speak animal but referred to the wording in the spell that give him control over the swarm.

Your Druid is right : "The swarm understands and obeys your commands"

This is the issue - they have int 2 and there was a large discussion when animal companions suddenly couldn't do everything being told anymore.

The Druid can give them a scroll and tell them to read it. They will obey but will be unable to follow the instructions as they don't understand them.

Stealing an item is easier but it needs a description that the monkeys understand. How complex a command will they follow? Where does the understand and obey break down?

I would think its partially a mental control command, since the spell doesn't require you to speak with animals to do it. It just states they follow your commands. This is not an animal companion. Its a magically created swarm of mad monkeys that uses the info and abilities of a monkey swarm.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
Grick wrote:
wolverinex3d wrote:
Does a "Mad Monkey" Monkey Swarms STEAL or DISARM Combat Maneuver provoke an attack of opportunity?

I don't see why not. They don't have the Improved CM feats. They also provoke from moving into the occupied square.

Just checking. I figured that, but wanted to be sure before I played next and cast my Mad Monkeys spell.

I know it provokes from moving into the square.

Thanks Grick!
:)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
Mike Schneider wrote:
Quote:
2. Is the Monkey Swarms "Weapon Finesse" Feat a mistake, since a swarm does not make an attack roll?
I'm fairly certain the design intent of the game was to permit Weapon Finesse to access DEX rather than STR for calculating DMB (and various & sundry will likely point to this spell as further circumstantial evidence of that).

Hi Mike,

Do you mean CMB (Combat Maneuver Bonus)?
The "Mad Monkeys" spell requires the use of the Caster Level + Cha bonus (or other caster relative ability).
Can you point me to what info you are referring to please?
If this feat is a mistake, I cant find any correction or Errata or anything. I am thinking its now useless, but that doesnt mean I can come up with my own suggested feat.
But doesnt this CR creature need another feat? Ack!

A Monkey Swarms CMB in its stat block is - (0):
CMB = BAB (+2) + Str Mod (-2) + Special Size Mod (-2)
(So this already seems off)

The Weapon Finesse feat does nothing but replace Dex for Str for attack rolls. The Monkey Swarms Dex is 16, a +3 modifier.

Thanks!
John


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Mad Monkey spell:
1. Does the Disarm or Steam Combat Maneuver provoke and attack of opportunity?
2. Is the Monkey Swarms "Weapon Finesse" Feat a mistake, since a swarm does not make an attack roll?

MAD MONKEY: "...The monkeys attempt one disarm or steal combat maneuver each
turn as a free action..."

DISARM: "...If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver..."

STEAL: "...If you do not have the Improved Steal feat or a similar ability, attempting to steal an object provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver..."

PRIMATE, MONKEY SWARM; WEAPON FINESSE: "...use your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier on attack rolls..."

SWARM ATTACK: "...Creatures with the swarm subtype deal automatic damage to any creature whose space they occupy at the end of their move, with no attack roll needed..."


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Does a "Mad Monkey" Monkey Swarms STEAL or DISARM Combat Maneuver provoke an attack of opportunity?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

The Concentration check is 10 +Spell level on a mount, or 15 + Spell level if its in full gallop/run mode. I only rarely cast after a mounts move action. But I will be more aware of this.
Everyone's comments, reminders and clarifications have been really helpful.
Its opened my eyes more and I better understand both sides and the spells intent.

I am working it out with the dm before next game so we know how to handle it so it doesn't slow down game time.

Thank you everyone! :-)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Excellent new replies/posts...This is getting really helpful!

Logic vs Magic.

The DM didnt like that I was able to be mounted and have a better MOVE (Normally I have a 20 move for being small, but my dog legs me move 40). He said I couldnt benefit from both a higher movement AND the Mirror Image, then started ruling that being MOUNTED would negate the Illusions effectivenesss. 2 different and unrelated issues.

It may not be Logical, but its an Illusion.
I am not a huge damage person, the spell doesnt do anything but protect me if I am targeted in battle, and I dont think using it while being mounted makes it a BROKEN spell.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

So there is no longer a possibility that this ILLUSION (Figment) spell COULD "Fool" someone in the midst of battle?

"...Whenever you are attacked...that requires an attack roll, there is a POSSIBILITY that the attack targets one of your images instead..."

"An attacker must be able to see the figments to be FOOLED"

Should an attacker be able to spend some amount of time to target or pay special attention "in combat" to which of the illusions that is "mimicking your movements, sounds, and actions exactly..." could possibly be me, so they can "PRECICELY" locate me?

Just more things I'm thinking about.
Invisiblity specifically states how it can be negated.
Mirror Image does NOT. Only that it doesnt work if the attacker is blind or the user is also Invisible. Ultimately, its an ILLUSION spell meant to FOOL anyone attacking you in combat. Not someone stopping to say "hey...his foot isnt moving very much..."


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

I am a SMALL Gnome Bard on a MEDIUM Riding dog, which take up a standard 5' square, not 10'.
I do not think this spell should affect the riding dog at all, that would be more of a SHARE SPELL ability or something.

But again, the purpose of the spell is to "...make it difficult for enemies to PRECISELY locate and attack you..." and the images "...move WITH you, mimicking your movements, sounds, and actions exactly..."

This is not invisibility, but almost like COVER or BLUR of some sort, making it difficult to PRECISELY locate and attack you. An attacker does not really target your leg I think.
Does this mean if Im standing on a chair, then it negates the effect too? Or anything else? I think I need to remember that this is NOT based on reality or real world mechanics, because its MAGIC in a fantasy setting. Still getting feedback.

And once the DM made this ruling, I agreed to move the game forward with his ruling until we discussed it/researched it later. :)


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

I cast Mirror Image on myself while I am on a mount.
DM temporarily rules that I cannot benefit from this until he researches, as he thinks that because the REAL "me" is easily viewed as the one on my mount.

I dissagree and think that I should benefit from this regardless, as the purpose of these images is to "...make it difficult for enemies to precisely locate and attack you..." and the images "...remain in your space and move with you, mimicking your movements, sounds, and actions exactly..."

Any thoughts, suggestions or answers are appreciated!
:)

Mirror Image:
This spell creates a number of illusory doubles of you that inhabit your square. These doubles make it difficult for enemies to precisely locate and attack you.
When mirror image is cast, 1d4 images plus one image per three caster levels (maximum eight images total) are created.
These images remain in your space and move with you, mimicking your movements, sounds, and actions exactly. Whenever you are attacked or are the target of a spell that requires an attack roll, there is a possibility that the attack targets one of your images instead. If the attack is a hit, roll randomly to see whether the selected target is real or a figment. If it is a figment, the figment is destroyed. If the attack misses by 5 or less, one of your figments is destroyed by the near miss. Area spells affect you normally and do not destroy any of your figments. Spells and effects that do not require an attack roll affect you normally and do not destroy any of your figments. Spells that require a touch attack are harmlessly discharged if used to destroy a figment.
An attacker must be able to see the figments to be fooled. If you are invisible or the attacker is blind, the spell has no effect (although the normal miss chances still apply).


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

I understand now...thanks everyone! :)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Does the -2 AC Penalty while using CLEAVE apply to ALL enemies in the room, or just the adjacent "Foes" being Cleaved?

Cleave (Combat)
You can strike two adjacent foes with a single swing.
Prerequisites: Str 13, Power Attack, base attack bonus +1.

Benefit: As a standard action, you can make a single attack at your full base attack bonus against a foe within reach. If you hit, you deal damage normally and can make an additional attack (using your full base attack bonus) against a foe that is adjacent to the first and also within reach. You can only make one additional attack per round with this feat. When you use this feat, you take a –2 penalty to your Armor Class until your next turn.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

So we are in our final battle with the 6 armed evil guy that rises out of the pit....

My cleric casts "Align Weapon" on his War hammer, and it has no effect when it hits.
I was going to cast it on our Fighters +1 Longsword, but he refused during battle to accept it. I guess he figured it wouldnt help?

I assume this is either a Demon, Devil or Outsider/summoned creature.
I have not seen any Demon/Devil or Outsider (non good) that does not have at least "good" as a Damage Reduction exception.

I do not know the stats of this creature.
There must be a reason.

Can someone enlighten me?
I have been reading about damage reduction since the battle, but am still confused about this specific instance.

Even if his Damage Reduction was 10/magic or something like that....wouldnt this "still" have some effectivness?

My "Holy Water" damaged him, and I only had to make a touch attack to throw it at him. That is good, and specifically states it damages Outsiders. Did the DM allow that by mistake?

Thanks...