vectordream's page

14 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


Interesting stuff! Thanks for the info. I can't wait to get further into the adventures. Really enjoying Mummy's Mask so far!

Eliandra Giltessan wrote:
I played a one-shot of the B adventures yesterday where I was Alahazra and she was Ahmotep. Ahmotep IS super cool. Adding or subtracting (mostly adding) 2 to/from checks came in handy, and she was great at combat. My friend kept getting distracted by new cards and taking the staves out of her deck, though. I started her with 4, and she ended up down to 2, then got frustrated when her starting hands were not legal.

I agree Amhotep is super cool! My party consists of Channa Ti, Simoun, and Amhotep. Amhotep is becoming my favorite of the three. She has been great in the scenarios I have played so far. Really enjoying how her powers work.

Yeah its mentioned on page 22-23 of the rulebook. It says that some scenarios tell you to display the defensive stance card. I just got my game recently so I am still on the first adventure and have not hit a scenario yet that required it. My guess is that we will eventually get a scenario that calls for that card but it just has not been released yet.

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Vic chimed in over here. So, it is supposed to be just blessings.

Thanks Hawkmoon! Thats what I figured even after I wrote what I wrote.

Hey All,

I could see an argument both ways on this but consider this. I think it could end up in a location deck because why would the card have the trigger trait and specifically state that “When you examine this card or discard it from the blessings deck, each character blah blah…” as part of its first line under powers.

This line implies that it could end up in a location deck at which point if you happen to be using a power where you were allowed to examine a card and this popped up then it would trigger. If you just encounter it as part of an explore its check to defeat is “none” so you would simply banish it and move on meaning your character weathered the storm so nothing happened.

Sandstorm is a pain either way even with a check to defeat of “None” because it is an extra card that ended up in the location deck that could either trigger an unexpected sandstorm(by examination) or the sandstorm that you encountered(by exploring) wasted your character’s whole explore action so he/she could weather the storm.

Thematically, with this it means that a sandstorm could happen anywhere at any time especially when your unprepared. Its the fact that it has the trigger trait mechanic attached to it that makes me think it could work this way.

Although, I also see what Hawkmoon is saying about the rules mentioning that you retrieve “blessings” from the blessings deck when you fail to defeat a villain with no additional mention to cover instances like this when you have non-blessings in the deck. I am curious to hear how the designers play it. Probably you guys are right if we are going exactly by rules as written.

Calthaer wrote:
I'm not even sure they've yet released the art for Amhotep, Simoun, and Channa Ti on the Paizo blog so that people can make their own pawns.

Yeah if they release the art I could make some of my own to fill in. I would start collecting the miniatures but it would be quite the investment because knowing myself I would have to buy a miniature for each Iconic character from the different sets. The pawns are pretty cool though

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Sorry if this was asked already. I bet you figured this topic would come up again at some point but I don’t see a thread specific to the Mummy’s Mask Base Set so I have to ask. I pretty much have pawns for all the characters for the other base sets between Inner Sea and the NPC Codex Box.

I was wondering if there are any plans to have another pawn collection that might include the likes of Simoun, Yoon, Amotep, Estra, Channa Ti, Drelm and Mavaro? They are not absolutely necessary to play the game but it is fun to have the pawns at the different locations. I could certainly just use a proxy from the collections I have but it would be cool to have official ones.

The current $20 Mummy’s Mask pawn collection does not seem to have any of the characters listed above. I would love the small character play mats too but one thing at a time :)


As the original poster said I usually play solo. This is mainly because its hard to get everyone together. I am also going to go with Channa Ti, Simoun, and Amhotep to start. With all this talk of Mavaro I am going to have to try him out at some point. Estra seems interesting as well.

Anyways, my base game showed up yesterday but still waiting on the character add-on deck! If it does not come in the next day or two I will have to change up my party. In that case I would probably go Zadim, Alahazra and Simoun to start. I don't have any character class decks yet.

skizzerz wrote:
vectordream wrote:
Hey all I just setup a subscription for Mummy's Mask and started it off with the base set. However I don't see this character deck listed in my upcoming shipments subscription list. Do I need to order this separate?

If you started with the base set, one of the following will be true:

  • If you said to ship immediately, you should get both the base set and the character add-on deck in one shipment soon
  • If you said to wait until the next shipment, you should get the base set, the character add-on deck, and adventure 2 in one shipment sometime next month

If it doesn't appear that way on your account, contact Customer Service to make sure that the pugwampis weren't messing with your account.

Thanks skizzerz, it turns out that the pugwampis were in fact messing with my account haha. For some reason the new sub that I setup did not trigger the character add-on deck to be included like it was supposed to. Called customer service, they were awesome and got it all sorted out for me. Can't wait to play this game!! S&S was good but I think MM will be even better.

Hey all I just setup a subscription for Mummy's Mask and started it off with the base set. However I don't see this character deck listed in my upcoming shipments subscription list. Do I need to order this separate?

Calthaer wrote:
You should imagine it as if you had that skill printed under the "Skills" section of the card. But also imagine that it magically appears only when you're playing or encountering a "Finesse" weapon card.

Thanks! I think I was ignoring the Dexterity part of it all and just concentrating on that +2 for Melee. Thanks for all the replies, I hesitated on making this thread but figured it was a halfway decent question. Love this game and all the little nuances! Simple on the surface but deceptively more complex as you play :)

It really seams like the way Jirelle's power is worded is confusing. I just did not pickup on the "you gain the skill Melee: Dexterity +2" as instructing me to change my Melee skill into a Dex skill for the check. I thought of it more as you are gaing the Melee skill that when used will get a +2. Thanks for the clarification I just over thought it a bit.

Ahhhhhhh. So what the power on Jirelle's card is saying is to change your Melee skill in to a Dex skill so you can use your Dex +2. Makes more sense.

I think what threw me off is the syntax on the card of Melee: Dexterity +2. The other skills on these cards use the same syntax so it confused me. For example under wisdom for Jirelle:

Wisdom d8
Survival: Wisdom +3

In the the above example I know that I only get that d8 +3 if I am making a Survival check. If I am just making a widsom check I only get the d8.

Correct me if I am wrong on that.


Hey All,

New to the Pathfinder Card game. I bought Skull & Shackles as my first set and am loving it. I learned much from reading these message boards here so thank you for that. I can’t find the exact answer to my question for this one.

My question is about Jirelle’s base card power. “For your check that has or is against a card that has the Finesse trait, you gain the skill Melee: Dexterity +2.” I think the question could be answered by making sure I am doing her checks correctly.

So for example, say I am up against a monster that has a combat check. At this point I need to determine which skill to use and I am allowed to play 1 card or 1 power that could change that skill. I decide to reveal the Rapier card that gives me +2d4 for Jirelle’s Strength or Melee skill. Her Strength skill is a d6 but since Jirelle does not have a Melee skill her die for a Melee check would be a d4.

So with the Rapier card I declare I am using strength for the check since I would rather have a d6. Since The Rapier has the Finesse trait I also gain the skill Melee: Dexterity +2 for her power. This references the Melee skill but I am using Strength. I still get this +2 anyways because the Rapier I am using added the Melee trait to the check.

In addition, since I have gained the Melee trait I decided to play my Master-At-Arms ally as well. I recharge that card to get 1d4 since I am not on a ship as stated on the card.

In summary my roll would be:

1d6 for my Strength skill that I declared in the “Determine the Skill You’re Using “ step
2d4 for the Rapier weapon reveal. I gained traits from the Rapier that included the Finesse and Melee traits at this point.
+2 for the power Melee: Dexterity +2 from her card power
1d4 for Master-At-Arms ally

All total: 1d6 + 3d4 +2

Alternatively, if I had declared the Melee skill instead of Strength in the “Determine the Skill You’re Using “ step this would be 4d4 + 2?

This look correct? Sorry for the long post.