
stacktdeck |

(I promised I searched the forums before posting this, so if there's am existing thread you want to point me to, I appreciate it).
The text for Critical success states: "If you succeed AND rolled a 20 on the die...[comma] OR if your result is equal to or greater than the DC plus 10[comma] you critically succeed." p.292
Now folks, I'm an English teacher, and this is already a huge RAW vs RAI problem. The two commas setting up a separate clause implies this interpretation:
The 2 conditions for getting a crit are as follows
1) You succeeded on your roll by rolling a nat 20+your modifier to beat the AC/DC.
2) You just rolled 10 higher than the AC/DC.
Now the problem with the structure of the original sentence is that it could also be interpreted this way:
In order to crit you must succeed at your roll, either by adding your mod to a nat 20 or getting a total result that is 10 above the AC/DC.
Now you can have your opinion on which interpretation is correct, but because of the comma usage, you cannot say 100% that the other interpretation is wrong unless you're a dev and would like to hand down a final ruling from on high. (Which I would greatly appreciate)
I promise this all comes from a place of wanting to do right by my players, so any and all responses that can help me understand what does and does not count as a crit for my players and I are greatly appreciated.
UPDATE
I found this sentence that answers another question:
"Armor Class (AC) is a special type of DC..." p.292