someweirdguy's page

132 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




So, my players are reaching the end of book 2 soon, and I'm try to prepare for book 3. I know the book says that most people in their position choose to set up offices in the Heron Archives, but my players have fallen in love with the Tree Stump Library from book 1, and they've already started using it for certain things (they like to collect pets).

Has anyone done a version of the Tree Stump Library map without the debris from the library being in disuse? Ideally, I'd love to find a version of the map where the library had been rebuilt, but even one without the trash all over the floor would be awesome to find.

Thanks in advance for any help.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There's a debate going on in a Starfinder Facebook group about the Technomancer Hack Empowered Weapon and Starship weapons. I'm going to copy/paste the original question, and I'll save my commentary for after others have answered.

Original question wrote:

Dumb Technomancer question. For their powers that affect weapons, such as the Empowered Weapon magic hack, can these be used to affect/modify starship weapons?

EDIT: This would be for Starfinder Society play so if you could cite a source or forum post by a developer or someone in authority, that would be helpful. Thanks!


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Over on Reddit, there's a thread going on about Bracers of Falcon's Aim and how it interacts with crossbows and increased threat range.

My stance on it is as follows:

Quote:

The spell states "the critical multiplier for your bows and crossbows becomes 19-20/x3. This effect does not stack with any other effect that expands the threat range of a weapon, such as the Improved Critical feat or a keen weapon."

As such, it doesn't matter that it does not increase the threat range of a heavy crossbow, you cannot benefit from the spell and Improved Critical at the same time. You either have 17-20/x2 or 19-20/x3, but you cannot get 17-20/x3.

The opposing side argues:

Quote:
Threat range is not the same as a critical multiplier. Threat range is the first part the 19-20 or 17-20. A critical multiplier is the second part, x2, x3 or whatever. Those two are separate game mechanics. So when something calls out and says it doesn't stack with other threat range increases then it doesn't mean you can't effect the critical multiplier with an other effect, just that you can't use another source to increase the threat range again.

What are people's thoughts?


So, I'm prefacing this with an apology that the following is probably one of the silliest rules arguments I've ever seen, let alone been involved in.

I'm currently involved in a lively discussion about Ranged Attacks and how they do (or do not) provoke attacks of opportunity. The person I'm talking with is under the impression that because of how things are listed in the Table "Actions in Combat", making a Full Attack with a Ranged Weapon does not provoke attacks of opportunity. His argument is that because the Full Attack option says it does not provoke an attack of opportunity, then any ranged attacks made during such an action would therefore not provoke attacks.

I've directed him towards feats such as Snap Shot, Improved Snap Shot, and Point Blank Master which explicitly state "Normal: Making a ranged attack provokes attacks of opportunity", but he went on to state "In any case, it does not state a specific type of action, and therefore only modifies actions that would provoke an attack of opportunity, like a standard action ranged attack."

I know the answer is "Making a ranged attack provokes attacks of opportunity", but can anyone point me to an unequivocal place in the rules where that is stated? Or even better, can a Paizo employee come and do a facepalm and state it so I can just link to someone official saying his argument is ridiculous? ;)


Alright everyone, I'd like some help settling a debate that a friend and I have been having lately.

It involves Knowledge skills and what things characters would and wouldn't know.

I contend that unless a character has personal experience with a creature with DR/(special material), has a knowledge skill that pertains to such a creature, or has talked to someone who has such knowledge or experience, they would have no in character reason for buying special ammunition or weapons to bypass such DR.

He contends that any knowledge of DR and materials bypassing it is common knowledge, and as such such a character would have every reason to do so.

The specific example in question is regarding an archer who had fought a total of 1 creature with DR/Adamantine, which she did not ask about or question afterwards, but then went on to buy silver and cold iron arrows despite not having any knowledge of creatures with DR that was bypassed by those materials.

Now, I, as the DM allowed it because I knew it would start a long argument if I said anything about it, and such things are usually moot as the archer could just ask the resident knowledge expert "Why weren't my arrows doing anything to that beast?" and get a lecture on the nature of DR and what bypasses it. I just contend that if none of that is done, the character would have no reason to buy the special arrows.

My reasoning for this is that I can't find a creature common enough to meet the Goblin style DC 5+CR standard for Knowledge checks, so technically the weaknesses of every creature with DR/(special material) isn't common knowledge.

Thoughts? Opinions?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

An interesting concept came up in my group last week. At no point in the magic item creation area that we found did it explicitly state that a crafter has to be of a sufficient caster level to create an item. This led to a disagreement with some claiming that logically a crafter has to be at least X level to create an item that functions as if cast at that level, and others claiming that because it was not stated as such in the rules, as long as a crafter can make the requisite skill check at the end of the crafting, his own caster level is meaningless.

Opinions? Official ruling? Text from the rules we might have missed?