Search Posts
One of my players asked me the following: "When you increase ability scores, is everything retroactive? I know CON increases become retroactive in terms of hit point gain for all levels.
The rules for constitution say:
I never considered this affecting previous levels before, but now he's got me confused. I figured if your CON mod increased by +1 at lvl 4, then that would only affect lvl 4 and up. Does it actually give you 3 extra hp for lvls 1-3 as well? Thanks.
Hi, Sorry if this information is really obviously shown somewhere, but I can't seem to find it. Is there a release date for the RotR Pawn Collection? I see the PDF version is set for Sep 26, but what about the print edition? I am always bugging the guys at my local store asking my order came in yet. All they can tell me is it's supposed to come in this month. Thanks.
Everyone leveled up in my group, and I seem to have missed something on all of their skill ranks. For example, let's take the Wizard. CRB says they get 2 + Int mod ranks at level up. Her mod is +4 so she gets 6 ranks. I leveled her up in Hero Lab to see if I had it right, and it said she gets 7 ranks. This would make sense if I chose the extra skill rank from her favoured class, but we went with the extra hit point instead. If I select the extra skill rank instead, then the Skills tab says I have 8 ranks to allot. So where is that extra skill rank coming from? What does Hero Lab see that I don't? It was the same with the Cleric. 2 + int mod, and the Cleric has int mod of 0, yet Hero Lab says he gets 3 skill ranks. For the fighter, again they should get 2 + int mod. His int mod is +1 so he should get 3 per level, yet at 2nd level he now has 8 skill ranks (4 per level) in Hero Lab. The rogue is the only one that makes sense to me. CRB says 8 + int mod. His int mod is 0, so he gets 8 per level. At level 2, he now has 16 skill ranks in Hero Lab. Thanks.
When you have the Two Weapon Fighting feat, and you want to attack with both weapons (main hand & off hand), do you get to do both as a standard action (because of the feat), or does that still require a full round action (like without the feat)? Is the feat just to reduce the penalties on your attack rolls?
I am learning to GM, and am running some friends through Crypt of the Everflame so we can all get the hang of things before jumping into an Adventure Path. The below contains spoilers, so don't read if you don't want to know what happens. I got problems:
Last night, we reached the part early in the crypt (room 2) where there are pit traps throughout the room.
Type mechanical; Perception DC 15; Disable Device DC 20
Each trap takes up a full 5-ft. square. The text says, "Probing for the pits with a pole or weapon grants a +4 circumstance bonus on the Reflex save to avoid falling into a pit." I am trying to figure out how this probing works. I understand the trap as being set off when a PC stands on it; the weight of their body is enough for the floor to open and send them falling to the pillows. If that's the case, then I don't get how holding a pole or weapon helps you not fall. If the +4 circumstance bonus is helping you detect the traps, then that seems like you are successfully detecting it from an adjacent square, meaning you wouldn't fall in anyway. And why would the trap even go off if you're just detecting it by probing? I just don't get this at all, and would really appreciate if someone could help me understand how this is supposed to work. Thanks!
If a spell has a casting time of 1 round, does it get cast the next time the caster comes up in the initiative order? How many actions does it take? For example: Wizard uses a move action, then starts casting a spell with 1 round casting time. On his next turn, when the spell hits its target, does that count as his/her standard action for that turn, or is it free since he/she used a standard on it the last turn? Thanks.
Hello, Someone in my group is creating a new Sorcerer, and was mentioning the archetypes he was going to choose. Most of our group is new, and I didn't even know archetypes existed for Sorcerers until he mentioned this. He wants to be crossblooded, and he wants one of his 2 bloodlines to be Wildblooded. I don't see any info on Sorcerer archetypes in the Core Rules Book or Advanced Player's Guide. In the Ultimate Magic book, however, it lists both of the above mentioned archetypes (but no others), on page 66, and says the following: "The following section introduces new sorcerer bloodlines, as well as two new sorcerer archetypes..." The way it flows, I get the feeling that other archetypes have been mentioned somewhere before the Ultimate Magic book was released. Starting on page 69, the book then goes over the 2 archetypes, but doesn't give any general rules for selecting them. With bloodlines, it gives a short summary of what a bloodline is before going into a detailed description of each one. The problem with this is I am trying to figure out if the guy in my group can actually select both archetypes, and if there would be any penalties for that. He has more knowledge about this stuff from when he used to play D&D 2.0 a long time ago (says he was bad for minmaxing), and I just want to make sure his character is balanced with the rest of the party so they don't feel secondary. I want it to be about fun and roleplay, not about taking advantage of the mechanics to be overpowered in a numbers game. Thanks in advance for all your help.
This is actually about something that came up in one of the Beginner Box Bash demos ("Relics"), but I see myself needing to know how to handle this once my groups gets beyond the Beginner Box, so I thought I should ask here. One of the players rolled Chaotic Neutral Sorcerer named Jack. In the demo adventure, they had to go into a trapped crypt to retrieve a shepherd's crosier from a hidden cache. Once the crosier is retrieved, they are jumped by the Bloody Knuckles gang who will spare their lives if they hand over the crosier. In this room, there is a large 40 foot pit with columns reaching up to the normal floor level. They can walk across these columns, but if they step on them too many times, the columns will fall. So one of the gang members tries to get across to the players, but he steps on a column that has already taken a couple steps, and it falls down 20 feet. He fails the reflex save to keep his balance, so he falls off and lands another 20 feet below. He's not doing so well. At this point, the thug is done. If he tries to climb up 40 feet, he's either going to fall and die or get shot and die. Once his next turn comes around, he surrenders, and asks if they can just put him in jail instead of killing him. The players all laugh at him (fair enough, he was just trying to kill them). Jack asks if he can throw his flask of alchemists fire on top of him. I say he's welcome to try, but the thug might catch it before it smashes. So on Jack's turn, rather than go for one of the guys up top who are more threatening, he decides to fire his light crossbow at the thug from atop one of the columns. He misses. On the thug's next turn, he again begs for his life. He says the only reason he was doing this was because of the power his boss has over him. He kneels and begins praying to his god. Jack again shoots and misses. On the thug's next turn, he is still praying, and says nothing further to the players. The party's oracle appreciates this, and starts to question Jack. Jack, after missing twice already and now getting disapproval from the oracle, is agitated. He fires a third time and puts the thug below 0 hp. You would think that would be the end of it, but no... Once the other gang members are dealt with, Jack says he could definitely hit with that flask of alchemists fire now. The oracle really doesn't think that is necessary. Jack says, "Oh, now I'm gonna do it just because you said not to!" And he throws the flask down at the unconscious thug, setting him ablaze and completely killing him. So I guess my question is: Does that fall into Chaotic Neutral, or is Jack evil? If he is actually evil, what happens? Does it actually affect anything? Does anyone care?
I am new, and am GMing for some new players. A situation came up last night that I wasn't sure how to handle since I can't find any rules for it. Our sorcerer was behind a pillar that took up a full square. He wanted to lean out from behind it and fire his wand of magic missile, then stop leaning so that he was behind the pillar again. The way I looked at it is he is using a move action to lean, then a standard to fire, then would need another move to stop leaning (making this impossible with the actions available to him), but this was just a guess. If he was still technically standing behind the pillar, and occupying that square, how could he attack from the square adjacent? I told the player he couldn't do it, and it felt bad. I want them to be able to try anything. How would you have handled it? No extra move action, but some sort of DEX check to pull off the tricky leaning move? No DEX check at all, but a penalty on the attack roll? Both? If a penalty on the attack roll, I wasn't sure how this would work with magic missile since it hits automatically (there is no roll). How would you handle it with a bow or crossbow instead of magic missile? Also about wands, do they need a free/empty hand to use (like when casting a spell), or can you use a wand while you have a staff or crossbow in your other hand? Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
Range Increments: On the Rogue pre-gen sheet, it shows the range on the dagger as only 10 feet, yet the Cleric's sling has a range of 50 feet. On page 56 of the Hero's Handbook, under "Ranged Attack", it says the following: "The maximum range for a thrown weapon is 5 times the range increment listed in the weapon description. For example, a dagger has a range increment of 10 feet, so you can throw it a maximum of 50 feet." Okay, fair enough, that makes sense so far. However, it then says: "The max range for bows, crossbows, and slings is 10 times the range increment listed in the weapon description." Well, the sling on the cleric's sheet says range increment of 50 feet, so does that mean she can actually throw it 500 feet? If it's actually just 50 feet, why doesn't it say "5 feet" for the range increment? How are you supposed to know when to multiply and when to leave it? Reloading Crossbows: On page 56 of the Hero's Handbook, it says "drawing arrows, crossbow bolts, or sling bullets isn't an action at all--you can do it as part of using your standard action to attack with a bow, crossbow or sling." Then below, it says "Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action. This includes opening or closing a door, getting something out of your backpack, reloading a light crossbow, knocking over a table or chair, and so on." So first it says drawing crossbow bolts doesn't count as an action, then it says reloading a crossbow is a move action. What is the difference between these 2 things? Thanks! |