Hi,
Ok i know this get's intense to put it mildly, but I just need to know how close I am to understanding this ability set that has vexed me since DnD 3.0.
Situation: PC falls into a underground lake wherein he is attacked by an anaconda (or a constrictor as per the Bestiary). The snake wishes to kill and eat the poor guy. It has grab and constrict. Assuming the dice go perfectly for the snake (and therefore badly for the poor PC), and the snake wants to do nothing but damage the PC as much as possible, no moving or pinning or anything, here is how the combat would go acording to my reading of the rules...
Round 1
Snake bites, gets to start a grapple as a free action (+4 bonus due to GRAB), no AoO, the Pc takes Bite damage, and constrict damage (he does NOT take the free damage from grab, nor can the snake choose the "damage" grapple action). Assume PC fails his escape attempt this round.
Round 2
Snake succesfully maintains the grapple as a STANDARD action, not free anymore (he gets a +9 on the roll to do this btw +5 from page 200 crb, and an additional +4 from GRAB ability bestiary 1 301). Therefore the PC takes: 1. Damage as a grapple action (bite natural attack, page 200 CRB), 2. Bite damage again (not from the bite per se, but from the Grab EX ability, page 301, Best 1), and 3. Constrict damage again since the snake made a successful grapple check (Best 1, 301). as a MOVE action the snake takes the PC under water and so the PC is subject to drowning rules (which I will not go into here).
Round 3
Same as round 2, this poor PC is screwed!
The rules on 300 say that you may choose to deal damage equal to a natural attack (a summary), so that would be the snakes bite attack in this case, as part of the standard action of maintaining the grapple.
The rules for grab and constrict say that the damage from these abilities is applied whenever a successful grapple is maintained (constrict adds the language of INITIATING a grapple, that's why it applies to round 1).
There is nothing that says these abilities are separate or that you have to choose one or the other. So to me it seems that in subsequent rounds, as a standard action you can apply bite damage (200 crb) apply grab damage (same as a bite)(best 1, 301), AND constrict damage (best 1, 301).
----------------------or----------------------
Does the word HOLD mean something different than maintain a grapple?
On 301 of the bestiary 1, it speaks of conducting the grapple normally or using the part of the body that intiated the grapple to HOLD the target. If you do this you get a -20 on the check to start and maintain the grapple.
If you succeed the target is held apparently. A held target is not subject to grab damage on the initial round but can still be constricted, on subsequent rounds the HELD target gets the grab damage AND constrict damage, but NOT the grapple action damage as per pg. 200 cause it is held, and not grappled.
Also if being held is NOT the same as being grappled, then my above reading is wrong, and a grappled target does not take the grab damage, because being grappled isn't the same as being held. So therefore a grappled target would take bite damage, and constrict damage on round 1, and on round two, it would take grapple action damage, and constrict damage, but NOT grab damage.
-----------------------------------------------------------
The sticky widget here is the 301 bestiary 1 entry about GRAB. About halfway down it says...
"The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply (ha thats a laugh) use the part of its body it used in the grab to hold the opponent."
Does everything after this sentence in this paragraph apply ONLY to the special situation where the monster is HOLDING a target in one hand (or tentacle, claw, mouth ect.), or does the sentece after the next one pick up talking about regular grappled creatures AND "held" creatures again...?
"A successful hold does not deal any extra damage..."(ect ect until the end of the paragraph)
---------------------------------------------------------------
TL:DR
Is Hold the same as grapple?
If yes...
Round 1. Snake bites and intiates grapple, does bite and constrict damage.
Round 2. Snake mantains grapple as standard action, does grapple action, grab, and constrict damage.
If no...
Round 1. Snake bites and intiates grapple, does bite and constrict damage.
Round 2. Snake maintains grapple as standard action, does grapple action and constrict damage only.
(BTW if no, then what possible reason is there to choose to grab instead of grapple? Either way you are spending a standard action to maintain, so you couldn't make other attacks, so why would you give yourself the -20? What am i missing here?)
Thanks a LOT for any help.