kroarty's page
Organized Play Member. 93 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.
|


Summary: Add illusions to primal summoner archetype repertoire with fey gift spells, then add to primal main class repertoire because they're primal spells. Legit?
Sorcerer--Spell Repertoire: "At 1st level, you learn two 1st-level spells of your choice and four cantrips of your choice, as well as an additional spell and cantrip from your bloodline. You choose these from the common spells from the tradition corresponding to your bloodline, or from other spells from that tradition to which you have access."
Fey Eidolon--Fey Gift Spells: "When you add spells to your repertoire, you can choose from the primal list as well as from enchantment and illusion spells that appear on the arcane spell list. As usual for when you add spells of a different tradition to your spell list, you're still a primal spellcaster, so all of your spells are primal spells."
So: Make a primal sorcerer. Take summoner archetype dedication, fey eidolon, initial eidolon ability feat and basic summoner spellcasting feat. Add invisibility and illusory object to summoner repertoire. Now, since you know the primal invisibility and illusory object spells, does that make them "spells from that tradition to which you have access"?
Question can apply to any innate spell, but Otherworldly Acumen is the hilarious example, since you can change it by spending a downtime day.
If you have an innate spell, do you count as someone who "knows" the spell for purposes of YOU using the Learn a Spell action? It seems Learn a Spell is supposed to represent the process of converting the information into your storage device (spellbook/familiar) more than simply wrapping your head around it.
Even if the answer's no, you can still craft a scroll of it and learn it from the scroll, just curious if I can skip the absurd middle-man step.

Here follows a build. Its not tweaked with an exact-o-knife, but it remains purely a build exercise. Fair warning.
Human Conjurer9/Fighter1/Eldritch Knight10
str: 14
dex: 13
con: 20
int: 13
wis: 7
cha: 7
Skills:
Max: Spellcraft
Max: Knowledge: Arcana
Max: Ride
Max: Fly
Traits:
Magical Knack
Jaded
Feat Plan:
1: (Wiz BONUS) Scribe Scroll
1: Acadamae Graduate
1: (Human BONUS): Toughness
2: (Ftr BONUS): Arcane Armor Training
3: Arcane Armor Mastery
5: Improved Familiar
6: (Wiz BONUS): Spell Focus: Conjuration
7: Improved Share Spells
9: Augment Summoning
11 (ElK BONUS): Shield Focus: Heavy Shield
11: Arcane Strike
13: Boon Companion
15: Greater Shield Focus: Heavy Shield
15: (ElK BONUS): Mounted Combat
17: Mounted Shield
19: (ElK BONUS) Trick Riding
19: Mounted Skirmisher
Spellbook Neccesities:
Summon Monster spells
Polymorph spells
Buff Spells
-Shield
-Mage Armor
-Haste
-Bull's Strength
-Cat's Grace
-Transformation
-Greater Magic Weapon
-Heroism
-Greater Heroism
-False Life
-Stoneskin
-etc.
Eventual Planned Purchases:
+5 Mithril Breastplate
+5 Heavy Steel Shield
+5 Amulet of Natural Armor
+5 Ring of Protection
+5 Cloak of Resistance
+6 Headband of Intellect
-Knowledge: The Planes
-Knowledge: Dungeoneering
-Knolwedge: History
+6 Belt of Constitution
+1 Holy Gauntlet Spikes
Manual of Constitution +5
Familiar:
+5 Ring of Protection
+5 Amulet of Mighty Fists
Notes:
Put all stat bumps into con.
Familiar should probably be a mephit (small earth ele would be better, if not for -4 atk/dmg while airborne)
Build was inspired by the familiar's "Share Spells" ability.
I'm hesitant to simply gush about what I like about this build, and to some extent I like the feel of leaving the capabilities of a character with this build as a thought exercise to the reader; but of course, if anybody can think of something this guy could use that I haven't (such as a feat, obviously, or a particularly synergistic spell from the APG, which I haven't read), it'd be much appreciated.

Polymorph spells cause you to take on the form of another creature. Animal Growth says "Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack."
Note: I am aware Polymorph spells cannot overlap; Animal Growth is not Polymorph subschool.
1: Confirm that the polymorph spells do indeed count as a "size increase", for purposes of stacking with Animal growth (Obviously, I'm not referring to "Enlarge" spells for this purpose).
2: Confirm that if Animal Growth does not increase your size, you thus do not gain any of the other bonuses it confers.
3: If so, could I polymorph into something larger, then use Animal Growth to *supercede*, though not stack with, the ability score bonuses from polymorph?
3: Confirm that I *can* use a polymorph spell that sets me at a size equal or lower than my usual, then stack it with animal growth completely.
I'm trying to turn a Transmuter Wizard into a pet class. Imp. Familiar to get a small earth ele with base 16 str; give it a belt for more, turn it into a dragon, turn yourself into a dragon, and eat faces (Gets kinda wonky, because you need to have MAX con for the familiar to have enough HP.) Point is, the "personal as touch" rule for familiars opens up all kinds of possibilities-and with them, weird questions.
Everyone asked about Greatsword/Armor Spike two-weapon fighting, claiming it was an old question from 3.5. I have a different question:
Armor spikes claims "You can also make a regular melee attack (or off-hand attack) with the spikes, and they count as a light weapon in this case." My question is, can I do both? Could I make my main hand AND off-hand attacks with the armor spikes?
The effect is that it saves me having to buy two weapons. Kinda like that feat in the beta, except without the -2 on the offhand attacks (and not costing a feat, unless you need the martial prof). The disadvantage is that it's a low quality weapon; deals 1d6, 20 x2 crit range/multiplier. This would be a good idea for, say, a combat maneuver/wrestler fighter who got it into his head to diversify with some two-weapon fighting.
Ring of spell storing specifies that metamagicking up your spells makes them take up more room.
Pearl of power says the spell it allows you to recall must be "of a particular level, depending on the pearl." This refers to the level of the spell, not the level of the slot required to cast it. Or so I assume.
And if I am correct, would the metamagic effect be preserved when the spell is recalled? The only convention I have to guide me one way or another on this point is the fact that wands/potions/scrolls of a given metamagicked spell are named "(item) of (metamagicked) (spell name)," a format indicating to me that the metamagic effect is considered part of the spell. But the fact that it doesn't increase the level of the spell seems contradictory to that, and it does feel a bit like having my cake and eating it too.
Comments/questions/rulings?

It seems pretty straightforward, but considering how big a change this is, I would think SOMEONE would have already asked; however, try as I might, I can find no thread asking for this clarification. So:
"Subjects resist this control, and any subject forced to take actions against its nature receives a new saving throw with a +2 bonus"
New saving throw...to throw off the effect ENTIRELY, as opposed to in the past, where it was just to ignore that particular order? That's how it reads to me...
And while this is editorialism, not straight clarification...isn't that leaving a lot of power up to interpretation, giving the "actions against its nature clause" the power to outright BREAK a dominate?
It was fine when it could make it disobey an order, because no amount of disagreement between player and dm could rob the dominator of his thrull; but there REALLY ought to be a bit more clarification on what actions go against a creature's nature, if it's to be such a significant part of gameplay.
Correct me if/where I make a mistake. I want to create a staff that can cast a 4th-level spell by expending one charge. The cost is:
400 for primary ability
x 4 for spell level
x 8 for minimum caster level
/ 1 for charges/use
___
12,800 total
Instead, I create a staff that can cast 2 4th-level spells. I designate one to be the primary, and then make that one cost TEN charges/use. The other is secondary, and still only costs 1 charge/use.
400
x 4
x 8
/10
+
300
x 4
x 8
/ 1
___
10,880 total
The spells are the same level, so I designate which one is "primary", "secondary", etc. Do I have all that right?
Obviously, this is a horrendous exploit, but I just wanted to know whether it actually NEEDS a band-aid, or if I just missed something and this doesn't actually work.
|