draconswan's page

Organized Play Member. 19 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Please Cancel my Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscription.


Thanks All! Yes, this character will take the Mythic Vital Strike. The character I'm test-building would be a Marshal army leader, with a combo of Vital Strike crits and Intimidation/Dazzling Display. He took Divine Fighting Technique (Iomedae). I see Dazzling Display as a Move action, Vital Strike against a flat-footed enemy (due to Dazzling Display and a feat that improves it), all the damage to their face. Should be a fun and interesting build.


@blahpers can you explain that progression please?


I'm going to be starting the Wrath of the Righteous campaign shortly, and in building out a Heritor Knight character, I found a potential combo that I'm not 100% sure about.

Using the Mighty Strike ability from the Heritor Knight means I can use the Vital Strike feat chain on any attack action made as part of a standard action.

The Perfect Strike Mythic Abilty says:
You can expend one use of mythic power as a standard action to deliver a perfect strike. A perfect strike attack is made using your full base attack bonus. If the attack hits, it deals double the normal amount of damage, and this damage bypasses all damage reduction and hardness. If the perfect strike is a critical hit, increase the critical multiplier for the attack by 1 (so a x2 weapon deals x3 damage). Damage that isn't multiplied on a critical hit isn't multiplied on a perfect strike. Perfect strike can be used in conjunction with any champion's strike if you expend uses of mythic power for each ability separately.

I read this as an attack action made as a part of the standard action to activate the ability. If this is true, then how would the damage work out?

Sample:
STR bonus of +4

Say I'm using a longsword:
1d8 + 4

Perfect Strike would double the damage (which I read as doubling the dice and STR bonuses) leading to 2d8 + 8

Vital Strike would turn the base damage to:
2d8 + 4
Improved Vital Strike would instead be:
3d8 + 4
Greater Vital Strike would instead be:
4d8 + 4

If Perfect Strike does instead stack with Vital Strike (and it's successors), what would that damage be?
4d8+8/6d8+8/8d8+8?


@Java Man, yes that is my main question. As Dave worded it, a monster could teleport into a space within the 30 ft of the wizard without being block if the effect originated outside of that range. I read is as Dave says, where if the effect originates outside of the 30 ft range, it's not effected.


One of my players is a wizard with the Steward of the Great Beyond discovery. Throughout the campaign, he has used this discovery to great benefit of the party. My question is, does this ability trigger only when the ability is being activated, or if any part of the ability effects an area within he's AOE? For instance, if a monster uses a teleportation ability to teleport themselves next to him, but the teleportation starts outside of the wizard's AOE, does he still get his check to block the teleportation?

I'm of the opinion that he wouldn't, since the teleportation effect originated outside of his range (and therefor the magic used to generate the effect was already spent and not counterable). I haven't seen an official ruling on this, and the rules around this discovery don't seem to explain this situation very well.


Hello,

I have a player wanting to play a more divinely focused ranger. He has come to me asking if we could play an Inquisitor, swapping out the Judgement class feature for the Ranger Favored Enemy (and the Second Judgement, Third Judgement, and True Judgement for Quarry, Improved Quarry, and Master Hunter). While on the surface, that seems like an equal swap, I wanted to get the community's input on it. This character would be for Wrath of the Righteous as well, so thematically, it would fit well (albeit a bit min/maxed for the likely encounters of the campaign).


Ok, I wasn't certain and I couldn't find any posts talking about this issue. I guess treating Unarmed Strikes as natural weapons is limited to only Brawler and Monk atm. Thanks all :)


I know a monk's and a brawler's unarmed strike are considered natural attacks, but the Sacred Fist doesn't make mention to it. It feels as though they should, as they treat their monk level as their warpriest level for determining damage. Is this just a rule overside on Paizo's behalf, or do warpriests not get to treat their unarmed strikes as natural weapons (for the purposes of spells like Strong Jaw, etc...)?


My main reason for trying to accomplish this is to use my dex as my attack stat for a katana. I know I can do it with a 1 level splash in to swashbuckler, just trying to avoid that.


So is there another way for me to gain that feature?


Hello,

I am building a Kensai Magus Crit machine. I took the Martial Focus feat, and I am planning on taking the Advanced Weapon Training feat to get the Fighter's Finesse feature, but I wasn't sure if that was 100% legal. Am I correct in interpretation of Martial Focus in that it grants me the ability to take the Advanced Weapon Training feat, and that in doing so, I can choose the Fighter's Finesse advanced weapon training?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Sorry to necro an old post, but I can't get these links to download anymore. The site just keeps saying sorry. Does anyone have the catacombs of wrath somewhere I can download?

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2i3wa&page=14?Community-Created-Stuff#667


This thread is awesome. Starting my first RotR campaign as GM this Friday, looking forward to using some of these games!


One of my players is asking if they can apply the archer archetype to a fighter that uses firearms. I know the book specifically says bows, but I wanted to get some others opinions. It could also apply to crossbows, as they are a type of "bow". I'm inclined to say no myself on firearms however.


I've been looking over this forum and I still haven't found an answer for my question, so I figured I would post it.

The slot in the Efficient Quiver that holds spears, does that mean short spears, normal spears, long spears, or some combination thereof? I have yet to find a clear definition. I could see short spears fitting in the javelin slot, so I would think normal spears would fit in the other slot, but I wanted to ask and find out.


I'm building a Bloodrager (Blood Conduit Archetype) with a draconic bloodline. This gives me claw attacks starting at 1st level. If I take Feral Combat Training, does this cause the Spell Conduit feature I get at level 5 to trigger on natural attacks?

Feral Combat Training:

Prerequisite: Improved Unarmed Strike, Weapon Focus with selected natural weapon.

Benefit: Choose one of your natural weapons. While using the selected natural weapon, you can apply the effects of feats that have Improved Unarmed Strike as a prerequisite.

Special: If you are a monk, you can use the selected natural weapon with your flurry of blows class feature.

Spell Conduit (Su):

At 5th level, as long as a blood conduit is wearing light or no armor, he can deliver bloodrager spells with a range of touch through bodily contact. When he succeeds at a combat maneuver check to bull rush, grapple, pin, reposition, or trip an opponent, or makes an unarmed strike against an enemy, he can as a swift action cast a touch spell on the creature that he affected with the combat maneuver, requiring no further touch attack roll. If this spell would usually require a successful touch attack, his successful combat maneuver check counts as this attack.

To me, it sounds like it should, but I'm not 100% sure.


That is what I was thinking as well, just 1x Str for two handed sling, but a few of my fellow players thought otherwise. I wanted to check on here with people who may have more knowledge than I.

Thank you all!


I have a custom weapon created for a pathfinder campaign.
It's effectively a greatclub with a two-handed sling attached. I know damage of this weapon applies the 1.5x strength bonus on attacks, but would the ranged portion, since it requires two hands to use, also have the 1.5x strength bonus?