
StilleStadhouder |
The Examplar Root Epithet The Deft has the following text:
Speed, subtlety, and precision. Your feet rush as fast as a gale, but your fingers touch as lightly as a breeze. You are trained in Thievery. After you Spark Transcendence, you can attempt to Steal or Palm an Object. When you Spark Transcendence, you can Interact as a free action to reload or draw a weapon ikon, either directly before or directly after your transcendence action. The weapon ikon must be a ranged weapon with the reload trait or a one-handed melee weapon with the thrown trait.
Regarding drawing a weapon the text is clear, but the part about stealing or palming an object puzzles me: you can already take the Steal or Palm an Object actions in combat normally, so why is this bit of text here?
Surely they cannot mean that Exemplars with The Deft can only do those actions after transcending, compared to all other characters being able to do them at any point.
Ordinarily I would assume that these actions are also intended to be free, but every other action in this and other Epithets are explicitly mentioned to be free actions, whereas this one is not.
Personally, the most simple way of interpreting this to me is to assume they forgot to print as a free action for the Steal and Palm an Object part, as any other alternative seems like an even bigger headache.
What is the way you rule/interpret this at your table?