
Ubertron_X |

While doing some after action strategizing after a fight with a Clay Golem I was wondering if our Wizard could have dealt with the Golems Quicken (divine, transmutation) ability using Dispel Magic. And this is where I got myself somewhat confused as the spell is not doing a good job in describing what it can actually do.
Targets 1 spell effect or unattended magic item
No mention of (magical) effects other than spell effects. So far so good.
You unravel the magic behind a spell or effect...
Aha! The "descriptive text" tells us that dealing with both spells and (magical) effects still seems possible.
...Attempt a counteract check against the target (page 458). If you succeed against a spell effect, you counteract it. If you succeed against a magic item, the item becomes a mundane item of its type for 10 minutes...
Again and as per the target entry the "rules crunch" only mentions spell effects and items and does not provide a direct statement for magical effects (the page reference is pointing to the Counteracting general rules which indeed do mention "...or other effects." but in a very general way of describing what Counteracting is good for).
So what is the concensus here? Can Dispel Magic still deal with magical non-spell effects or not?
P.S.: My money is on yes, but I also want to hear your opinions, because I got really perplexed when I just read the target entry.