![]() ![]()
![]() I wanted o get a community opinion about capturing the souls of unded. Create Soul Gem needs to be used on a recently dead creature, but an undead creature (for the purposes of argument an intelligent undead) has essentially been dead for as long as it's been animate. When it hits 0 hp it's destroyed, not dead. There's no dying, nothing. Create Soul Gem specifically targets dead or dying creatures. My ruling, no creating Soul Gems. Trap the soul, while they're animate, sure.
What happens to undead souls in Golorion? ![]()
![]() I know this was a while ago, But I just wanted to say I followed a lot of your advice and really changed book 4 and in my opinion made a much more interesting game. I also looked him straight in the eye and asked... if he lied, that's on him, but he said he didn't spoil the game for himself. Either way, I am going to be changing QUITE a bit of all adventure paths from here on out! (thanks herolab!). ![]()
![]() So a character is blasted with a fireball. He has a wand in one hand, a sword in the other, is wearing armor and has various magical geegaws hanging on her person. She fails her save. Do all of her things need to make a save, too? What if she makes her save, what about things in her backpack, or her bag of holding? Should armor need to save, that just seems silly. Just wondering here. ![]()
![]() My characters have the Craft Wondrous Item feat and are desperate for more things to make. Our main crafter is very intent on going to 3.5 sources, and finding new toys. I'm interested in creating a game that's fun for everyone, but I don't want to overpower the PCs, they are already tearing through all my encounters. How do you deal with the craft wondrous item feat? It seems that if one gets their spellcraft up high enough, they can craft any item, regardless of if they have the spell or meet the caster level requirement. I'm just about ready to say no custom magic items at all. ![]()
![]() "When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack. Even at your mount's full speed, you don't take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted." would you interpret that to mean that if a mount moves more than 5 feet a character only gets a standard action? ![]()
![]() True. I've just had one of my players really fighting my initial ruling on this and I've grown frustrated. And it's not a mystery, but rather one of the revelations. I think of these on par with a rogue talent or witch hex. This particular set of rules just seems way out powered. I don't think the oracle single revelation should be exactly as powerful as the druid's animal companion in every way. Especially if for the druid, the animal companion feature is as powerful as a domain. ![]()
![]() I think it's just that mounted combat and animal companions seems breaky to me. PCs normally get a move and a standard. Usually a move of 20'-30'. Druids, and rangers direct animal for free. Animal moves 50' and attacks, no penalty of action for the rider. Then the PC gets to take their whole action. Anyone who's rode an animal or tried to get an actual animal to do anything knows this is crazy. But I guess I'll just sick some ranger orcs on worgs on my party. ![]()
![]() If a oracle is mounted, they can control (via handle animal) as a free action, and can guide a mount from the saddle as a free action with a dc 5 ride check (via ride). So essentially, they can do a full action themselves and command a wolf (or whatever) to do a full round action without it costing them anything as far as actions. And this is the cost of one oracle mystery? Am I the only one that sees this as broken? ![]()
![]() So the rules state that Druids and Rangers can direct an animal companion as a free action. It also says that an Oracle's (and a cleric with the Animal Domain) bonded mount behaves like a druid's animal companion, only it has a minimum intelligence of 6. But an oracle is not a druid or ranger... Normally, if you're not a druid or ranger handling animal is a move action. Should my oracle have to use a move action to get his mount to do stuff? Because right now it seems like a character can direct a mount with his legs as a free action, have his mount act anytime in their turn and still be able to do a full attack or move action and standard from the back of a fast moving, attacking and tripping wolf. Am I missing something here in the mounted combat and animal companion. It just seems broken to me. |