| ShizukaMagnifico |
I would like to preface the following scenario with I am currently looking for the RAW answer to the situation in question.
I was running A House on Hook Street on Saturday, and without giving away the specifics of the situation, the party got trapped on the pier with an angry mob (appearing as a Troop unit) bearing down on them. Within the first round of combat, the party used a Glitter Dust spell and the Troop failed it's save to resist the blind. When the Troop's turn arrived and they overlapped the party, I rolled damage as normal per swarm/troop rules.
My party's Swashbuckler was displeased with the fact that concealment rules did not apply from the blindness, but per RAW my understanding concealment only occurs on an "attack" (melee or ranged) which involves having to perform an attack roll prior to dealing with the concealment in the first place.
In terms of game rules, I continued to follow all other blindness rules (could not move more than half its speed, -2 AC, -2 on skill checks, flat footed for purposes of sneak attack) but did not feel that the concealment applied.
In terms of narrative, I ruled that while the glitterdust was effective to deterring the crowd, they are essentially a roving moshpit charging in the direction of their quarry, while some may be blinded/left behind, some might have fallen into the water below the pier, and some of them might have been fighting eachother, it did not translate into game rules as "concealment."
Am I off base (in terms of RAW rules) or is this correct?
I would like to note, that I am asking for RAW specifically because I have already determined how I will handle this issue when/if troops are encountered again.