Samuel Penn's page

16 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist.

A Prismatic Wall/Sphere is destroyed by a Mage's Disjunction. However, is a person behind/within the Prismatic defence protected from the Disjunction?

Disjunction states that it has a chance to take down Anti-magic field, and if it doesn't then items within are not disjoined. Which implies that if does take it down, then items within are disjoined.

So does the same apply to a Prismatic Sphere? If a disjunction is targeted outside the sphere (I would say it can't be targeted inside the sphere, from the outside), then the sphere will go down. But what happens to things inside the sphere? The behaviour of Anti-magic field would suggest to me that things within/behind the Prismatic Sphere/Wall will not be protected.

At a lower level, what would a Wall of Force? Does that block the effects of a Disjunction, even though it itself is destroyed?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Does anyone have any examples for Social Stat Blocks for the individual influence system described in Ultimate Intrigue? The only example I can find is the one on page 108 of that book for "The Spy".

I'd like to see some more examples of Discovery and Influence options for some sample NPCs before I really start using them myself in anger.

Has anyone used these rules in a way that they could share examples, or are there any published adventures which use them?


From what I can gather, Asmodeus is openly worshipped in Cheliax. However, how is worship of this deity treated in other countries? Is he simply viewed as a somewhat harsh and uncaring god of law and order, but nonetheless acceptable in polite society, or is worship of him considered socially (or legally) unacceptable, and forced underground (or at least not paraded in public)?

I'm particularly interested in Varisia (specifically Magnimar), since I have in mind some NPC nobles who worship him. My thought is that as long as the obey the law, it won't be considered an issue by the city (though good aligned people will probably have their suspicions about them).

For spells which affect multiple specific targets, such as 'Slow' or 'Mass Inflict Light Wounds', does the caster have to be able to see all the targets? Since it's specific targets, my assumption is that the caster must be able to see all targets.

e.g., if there is one target visible, and two more targets are round the corner (maybe 5-10ft away) and out of sight, then only the first target can be affected.

If the above is correct, then what if a spell such as clairvoyance is used to allow sight of the 'hidden' targets? The second spell is not being cast 'through' the clairvoyance, the divination is just being used to be able to see the targets round the corner which are otherwise in range of the spell.

Would this be a valid use of clairvoyance (or a similar spell)?