Roelandt's page

39 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




In a game I have planned, I'm going to have the badguy cast dominate monster on the character's mount. I figured there would be some rules for a suddenly hostile mount but couldn't find any.

What would the ride check be? I see no rules on "bucking" to get a rider off, or details if the mount suddenly wants to bite you.

Any directions as to where I can look?


I know this questions will sound odd, and the answer seems self evident (at least to me), but bear with me.

One player in our group is creating a character who fights with alchemical items. He is convinced that the rules allow him, even at 1st level, to "tie multiple flasks to a stick and throw the stick," enabling him to multiply the damage. For example, he claims that the rules allow him to tie 8 Acid flasks/bombs (which do 1d6, range increment 10', 2x crit) to a stick and throw the stick, doing 8d6 damage.

I see nothing in any Pathfinder or D&D rule to support this claim. Ultimately his approach will likely involve a "leap of logic" in the absence of expressly stating he cannot. We are playing an "arena game" next Saturday, the rules of which include "No DM" so rules interpretation or concerns will be left to the group concensus.

Anyone have any insight as to the validity of this claim, and/or where in the rules I can direct him for clarification (other than the links I've included below which, of course, do not support such an interpretation)?

Alchemy Weapons List
Throw Splash Weapons Rules


I'm with a new group, and most are either rules lawyers or people who try to resolve Adventure Conflicts by arguing with the DM.

I've got enough experience as a GM in various systems to deal with such things but, as I'm fairly new to Pathfinder rules, and I know my people--I know what's going to happen Saturday.

They are going to fight a wizard with greater invisibility. No problem. Should be fun and challenging since they don't have see invisibility yet (but have Glitterdust and all of them have pouches of flour...cool).

However, there are two archers in the party and I promise you, as soon as one of them hits the Wizard with a successful pinpoint and concealment check, this is what they are going to say:

"Okay...so we are going to keep our eyes on the visible arrows that are now sticking out of the invisible Wizard to target him."

I see nothing in the Pathfinder rules that addresses this. I'm fully prepared to inform them, "No" and move on, but it's easier with these guys to say, "Pull it up in the SRD." That usually ends it.

In the Invisibility rules (LINK HERE) I see nothing about "visible arrows" pinpointing invisible opponents.

Is there any validity to this pending argument? If not, I'll just use my DM powers.


I have a question. I after the game session last night, one of my players, who is playing a soulknife made a comment that has me confused.

We were talking about the boss fight that the players won. The boss had a special ability that he didn't get a chance to use. He could use his shield as a missile weapon at a 30' range with Return feature (ala Cpt America). I mentioned that I was disappointed that he didn't get a chance to use this.

The soulknife player said if he had done that then the shield would have stuck to his character and the shield would not be able to return.

What was he talking about? I can find no such power available to the soulknife in the SRD, nor have I ever given or approved such a power.


I couldn't find any ruling on this, so I might be out of luck.

I'm going to be fighting in a No Magic, arena type tournament against other players with a bunch of weak trash mobs around.

Since I don't want to "tip my hand" and reveal to the other contestants my mass of muscley uberness, I want to "hold back my damage" on the trash mobs until I hit one of the contestants, then Whamo!

If I have a longsword and a 20 Str doing 1d8+5 damage, can I choose to NOT use my +5 Str damage, doing just 1d8+0? Or better yet...roll 7 damage and choose to reduce that damage to...say...4?

The reason I ask is one of the rules of the tournament is that Rules will be STRICTLY adhered to. Anything not expressly indicated in the rules will be disallowed (no spot DM rulings...if its in print, yes...if not...no).

I BELIEVE that this rule will include all published 3.5 or Pathfinder materials, with Pathfinder getting final ruling in the event of 3.5/Pathfinder conflict. Since I can find nothing in the rules addressing this "pull my punch" tactic, it will not be allowed unless someone can tell me where I might find it.

Thoughts? Bear in mind, Opinions or House Rulings are fine, will have no bearing on this matter, I'm afraid.

Thanks


Okay, lets say I'm using two weapon fighting with a rapier and dagger.

I've got a total of 4 attacks (3 + 1 for my off hand).

While doing my attacks, my opponent drops on Attack Number 2.

"Dude...I killed 'im! That was easy!"

I now have two attacks left, one with my sword and one with my dagger.

There's another badguy 15 feet away. I made a full round action so I can't take a move action to get there.

Can I use one of my two remaining attacks to throw my dagger at the other badguy?


I have a rule question.

The gunslinger chart confuses me after reading the text in Deeds.

On the chart, Deeds pop up at irregular intervals in the Special column of the chart. Once at 1st, then 3rd, then less frequently thereafter. Though there is no indication of this that I can find, do these "deeds" entries mean that the Gunslinger gets to pick one of the available deeds for use like a Sorcerer choosing a known spell, or can he...as the text seems to suggest...use any available deed as long as he has sufficient grit? For example at level 3, can he use any of the first six deeds (all level 1 or 3 abilities)?

Simply put, is he like a Druid who has the entire spell list available for use, or are they like Oracles who are limited to selecting which specific spells he is able to cast from then on?

I can find nothing in the class details to clarify this.

Thanks in advance.


Okay...this one has me puzzled. I'm working out a tactically challenging battle for the Players in an upcoming mythic encounter with the Mythic Boss (a Bard Trickster) and his buddies. One of the numerous "tricks" he is going to use is I am giving him a Mirroring Belt (Found Here) to give him mirror images that increase in number if he takes damage. He is going to attempt a suggestion, or other spell effect to cause one of the party members (the oracle, wizard, or bard) to "not attack him, and just buff (or heal) him with spells."

What's got me split is, assuming the character fails his save vs. the enchantment and starts casting Heroism, Haste, Cures, etc. on the badguy, how does mirror image affect them if they (essentially an ally) tries to touch him with a beneficial spell effect?

MIRROR IMAGE.

This spell creates a number of illusory doubles of you that inhabit your square. These doubles make it difficult for enemies to precisely locate and attack you.

On one hand, the rules as written seem to suggest that an ally would still need to randomly roll which "image/enemy" he hits, and if he hits an image, it would discharge the spell effect but would not destroy an image since it's not a harmful spell.

On the other hand, one might argue that since the text says, "target of a spell that requires an attack roll," and since most DMs (including myself) don't require the cleric to make an attack roll to hit the injured fighter with a Cure spell, then the "enchanted player" would be able to touch him with a beneficial spell circumventing the mirror images.

I'm fine either way since if the later is the case, worse case scenario it puts an enemy Player "out of commission" for a while and even has a small chance of actually buffing him if he gets lucky (and causing some serious havoc among the party in reacting to an ally aiding the enemy).

What do you think? I'm leaning toward Mirror Image works the same for friendly or enemy effects, but the fight would be even more challenging if the buffs aren't affected by the mirror image.


Just yesterday I found a spell that allows you to cast a spell on a willing companion or (I think) familiar, turning them into a tiny stone statue small enough to fit in your pouch.

I can't, for the life of me, find the spell again. Anyone have any idea what this spell might be and where to find it?

I'm looking for a safe means to store both my familiar in dangerous situations, and Simulacrums I create.

Your help is appreciated.