Rocky Williams 530's page

408 posts. 2 reviews. No lists. No wishlists.



1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

I know what happens when you mix a bag of hold, and a portable hole. But what happens if you put a bag in a bag. Or, a bag in a handy haversack (which functions like a bag)? I haven't found anything to say something bad happens. So, I'd think it just stores the bag. Now, it seems reasonable that you'd have to pull the second bag out to access anything in it but, am I missing anything that says this won't work?


37 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think the term 'Arcane Spellcaster Level' deserves a FAQ entry since it is undefined. With the new guidelines, I thought I'd post a FAQ that I hope will be answered.

For the feat Improved Familiar, the table refers to an 'Arcane Spellcaster Level'. Seeing as some familiar abilities are based off class level, some off character level, and the fact that 'Arcane Spellcaster Level' isn't an explained term, I'd like to request that the developers define the term. Is it just an odd way of saying class level? Is it arcane caster level? Is it something different?

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/feats.html#_improved-familiar


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'd call it a trap. Would you call a pit with spikes with a cover over it a trap? Not something triggered, just a dug hole with maybe a camouflaged cloth cover that would give way when someone walked on it? That's no more or less active than what you described, but most people would call that a pit trap. It's a PC ability. Why NOT let it be used for this?

If you don't let this count as a trap you will, most likely, have a frustrated player. Now, not saying he's gonna melt down and quit, but he'll be bummed out I'm sure, and probably feel messed over. I know I would. I wouldn't throw a fit over it, but it would definitely push me towards thinking the DM's out to get me by fair or foul means, rather than us all having fun together. If he's just about guaranteed to make it due to high perception well... It's his ability. He's sunk levels, ranks, whatever, into being able to do it.

If you designed this, I will admit neat, idea for the kobolds knowing you had a trap spotting guru, well you should just accept the fact you picked a poor choice for a challenge. If you designed it before they picked characters well, they lucked out. They picked something, unknowingly, that will help them greatly for an adventure. The next adventure might have no traps at all, and therefore his ability is completely useless.

This is just my opinion though. It's your game and, as always, you should run it as you see fit. Seeing as how you came here for advice, I thought I'd shoot mine out there with everyone else's. I hope your game goes well whatever you choose!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The black raven wrote:


If you have some means of channelling positive (Versatile Channeler for example), Turn Undead could be quite useful to get rid of Undead you cannot control, either because of their HD or because your buckets are full. In the latter case, you first order them to fail their Will save against the Turn.

Why would you want to turn the undead? If you can command them to fail the save, they're still under your control. You'll have to take up a couple of feats, use one of your channel energies, and make sure none of your other undead are close enough to be affected, just to make the unwanted undead run away for 1 minute. If you're not in combat, just tell it to run away and not stop. Wait a minute, then do whatever you were going to do that would release it from your control. Or, order it not to defend itself, and either have your undead minions destroy it, or pound it down yourself.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Howdy! I'm part of a group playing an evilish (kinda up for debate on some characters) campaign where we're all worshipers of the god of the undead. Not really relevant why, but we're currently creating a monastery dedicated to the god, where undeath can be researched, and his monks can reside and contemplate the perfection of undeath.

I'm trying to create an archetype of monk to go with this theme. Hungry ghost is neat and all, but I'm looking for something that's MORE undead themed. Maybe even replacing the 20th level ability with one that turns him into either one of the intelligent undead, or possibly a unique intelligent undead. Anyone have any advice? Tips? Possibly a whole archetype waiting in the wings to be delivered into my lap??? I'll post mine up here once I'm past the initial brainstorming and hmm stages.

Thanks for anything you can give!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I don't have any real rules to back this up but, I'd have to go with Option 3. Definitely not option 1, there's no reason why the spells wouldn't work somehow. I choose option 3 because it seems to me it's more like the spell has to make it through the protection before it affects the creature, and is subject to the increase. That's just my way though, unless someone has an official answer.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

I've always thought just using whatever you rolled worked pretty darn well.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A couple thousand beings, some large in size, in a fortress taking up the space of three blocks? Isn't that pretty packed in there, or are we thinking of different sized "blocks"?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This is, I think, a holdover from Forgotten Realms. In THAT campaign setting, if you do not have a god, you do not get raised. But it's never been a rule for general D&D, or Pathfinder.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Weaponbreaker wrote:
Bobson wrote:


... doesn't have the silver DR unless he's shifted, and he loses control of the character when he does...

Why would you assume this. The only time a character looses control is when the full moon appears and then only until he overcomes that DC 20 will save.

"A creature that catches lycanthropy becomes an afflicted lycanthrope, but shows no symptoms (and does not gain any of the template's adjustments or abilities) until the night of the next full moon, when the victim involuntarily assumes animal form and forgets his or her own identity. The character remains in animal form until the next dawn and remembers nothing about the entire episode (or subsequent episodes) unless he makes a DC 20 Will save, in which case he becomes aware of his condition."

I take that to mean he becomes aware of his condition and remembers what happens if he makes the save. But he doesn't gain control. He just remembers all the bad stuff he did.