Ziki

Rob C's page

21 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.



1 person marked this as a favorite.

Have any Pathfinder monsters been named or given characteristics of any specific Paizo staff members? That is, a kind of honorary acknowledgement to them.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oh wise and wondrous Creative Director, I call on thy wisdom :)

Overrun, Trip and Bull Rush all make mention that you can't make the maneuver against anyone "who is no more than one size category larger than you."

Grapple used to have such a rule in 3E ("You automatically lose an attempt to hold if the target is two or more size categories larger than you are.") but that rule has gone walkabout.

Can tiny creatures grapple huge creatures in Pathfinder, giving them all the penalties that the grapple condition bestows?


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can a person who casts Gaseous Form on themselves choose to dismiss it early?

From the PRD:
"(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with "(D)," you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture."

Gaseous Form is listed as a Dismissible spell. And since it has no verbal component, you arguably need to make a gesture to dismiss it.

But once you are under the effect of Gaseous Form, are you able to make gestures? Gaseous Form notes that you "can't attack or cast spells with verbal, somatic, material, or focus components while in gaseous form." So if you can't make somatic actions, can you gesture?

"You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture."

So to dismiss a verbal spell, the words you speak are a modified form of the verbal component. So to dismiss a somatic spell, the gestures you make would likely be a modified form of the somatic component. And since you can't make somatic actions at all in gaseous form, you can't make modified versions of them either.

The shape of your form isn't mentioned in Pathfinder, however, 3.5e noted: "A gaseous creature can move about and do the things that a cloud of gas can conceivably do". I don't see a cloud of gas being able to make gestures.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Apologies for the necro, but seems my question is well suited to this thread on reverting back from Gaseous Form.

Can a person who casts Gaseous Form on themselves choose to dismiss it early?

From the PRD:
"(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with "(D)," you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture."

Gaseous Form is listed as a Dismissible spell. And since it has no verbal component, you arguably need to make a gesture to dismiss it.

But once you are under the effect of Gaseous Form, are you able to make gestures? Gaseous Form notes that you "can't attack or cast spells with verbal, somatic, material, or focus components while in gaseous form." So if you can't make somatic actions, can you gesture?

The shape of your form isn't mentioned in Pathfinder, however, 3.5e noted: "A gaseous creature can move about and do the things that a cloud of gas can conceivably do". I don't see a cloud of gas being able to make gestures.